Cover Girl Exact Eyelights

3.1

321 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/7/2013 10:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Oh my, this mascara turned out to be everything that I loath and try to avoid in a mascara.

It is dry, it makes my lashes look like creepy spider legs, and it made my lashes hard, stiff, and crunchy. Trying to take it off was awful - it was like I had dried egg on my lashes. The only thing I don't know is if it migrates to the skin under my eyes - another loathsome mascara hate - because I didn't wear it longer than a hour.

I was looking for an everyday mascara - no fuss. Wanted to get another Full and Soft but Shopper's didn't carry it any more. Bought this one on sale because I've used the CG Professional before so I thought this one might be fun to try. I bought the Black Gold for my Hazel eyes (I have gold flecks in my eye colour so I couldn't wait to see the effect- there was none).

I loath when mascara makes my lashes all different lengths, coats them in a creepy spider leg look, and blunts them at the end. I want glossy, soft, tapered points and I want my lashes to maintain their relative length - not have one or two lashes stick out longer than any of the others - ugh!!!

I couldn't comb out or brush out the dry clumpy coating. Even EVOO had a hard time getting it off my lashes. Forget it. I'm going back to Bourjois mascaras.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've bought this product off & on for the last 5 years. I love the way it makes my eyes look, as the rest of the reviewers what they say is true. BUT the last couple of months I have not had luck with this product. The mascara flakes/clumps, breaks off into my eye, & I wear contacts. Very painful. I've even started losing lashes. Plus I get racoon eyes & it started staining making me look like I haven't slept in months. So I changed. I will miss this product, but I'm sure I'll find something else.


on 12/18/2012 5:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Best mascara i've used in my life. Like seriously... I freaking love this mascara. Its volumizes lashes, makes them thicker and it is water proof! Can't get any better than that!!


on 11/16/2012 5:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best mascara I have used by far. I have experimented with other drugstore mascaras and I mean all of which claim to be "waterproof, smudge-proof" etc. However, those other mascara's would be watery and heavy and pull my curled eyelashes back to its naturally straight position. I have been looking for this mascara's even better version in any other brand, but I haven't found anything comparable. And in addition to it's waterproof and smudge-proof effectiveness, I need a mascara will a small brush but long bristles because I have small Asian eyes. This mascara provides most of what I look for in a mascara however, I wish it was just a little more smudge-proof. I get some dark shadow but not as much as the other mascaras I've tried in the drugstore and department stores.

UPDATE: 3/7/13 After I wrote this review I purchased a new mascara which works better therefore I'm changing this overall rating from 5 to 4.


on 11/2/2012 7:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am surprised at the low rating of this product. I have short, delicate, easily clumpable lashes and this is great for me. If you hate products like lash blast, give this a try.I am not personally a big volume seeker, just lengthening and separating. the wand is small and easy to use. It is very water proof and the only mascara I have found that will not end up in a dark ring under my eyes.


on 10/7/2012 5:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I actually really like this mascara. It goes on very smoothly and removes easily as well. There's no clumping, and it really adds a lot of length and volume. I have it in black gold and it really brightens my eyes, and I like how it enhances your lashes but doesn't do so to the effect of looking like you're trying too hard. My friends all ask what mascara I use and I get tons of compliments... definitely will use again.


on 7/6/2012 1:30:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been a CoverGirl mascara wearer for years. The brand seems to work the best for me. I wore Professional (regular) for years, then I went to the Volume kind in the fat orange tube. It flaked alot and I wasn't very happy with it. I just got contacts and needed to go to Waterproof, so I bought several different brands and began trying them. Waterproof Exact Eyelights for Hazel eyes was the third and final trial mascara. I love this mascara. It doesn't irritate my contacts and doesn't flake. It builds volume for me and the color is subtle. It works very well for me. Thanks!


on 5/25/2012 9:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Average mascara..I'm just using it because I don't want to waste it. I can't even really tell the difference it supposedly makes for each eye colour.

It doesn't do much in terms of lengthening, volume, etc.


on 5/20/2012 9:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Oh my. Me and exact eyelights... we've had a time. This used to be my hg, you see. Back when I was so naive, so young.

I used this for years. I for some reason loved it. But I went through my own horrible mascara stages, of when I would wear TONS and it looked like spider legs... yeah. I've obviously had my own mascara issues.

But coming back to this product now after using Maybelline's Full n Soft mascara for a while, I realize how cruddy this stuff is. Honestly, it's better than a lot of mascaras, but it's not as good as full n soft (my new hg). It's ok. My favorite thing about this mascara is (for the waterproof one) its waterproofing qualities. Man, I've never seen a more waterproof mascara. I could go swimming and it'll still be there, basically the same.

Also, this stuff flakes a little. Eh. It's just so meh. And kinda expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was my first mascara. I got it when I was very young, so I didn't know it was that bad back then. But now when I look at pictures, it added no oomph what-so-ever. No volume, no length, just blackening. Plus, the gold specks in the hazel one were all over my face! I decided to go back to the store and buy it again and see if it was just because i was terrible at wearing mascara, but NOPE! Waste of my money. It did the same thing. When i tried to curl it, it just made an obvious like sending the lashes in many weird directions. I would not recommend this, because you can get better mascaras like the covergirl lengthening or volumising, or even faslies mascara for the same price. Covergirl, what were you thinking?




Back to Top