October 25, 2014 | 1884 users online

Powder - New York Color - Smooth Skin Pressed Powder



image 0

rated 3.5(74 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/2/2012 8:51:00 AM More reviews by Sallamanda

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

For what I need from a pressed powder, this is just fine. The limited range in colours does not affect me, as my skin is very pale, and so the translucent shade is ideal. I especially love how it lightens my foundation, as I find it extremely difficult to find a good foundation in the right shade. It is definitely an essential item for me.
The only downside is the packaging, which is quite cheap looking... The applicator which comes with it isn't particularly good, either, but when you can buy a whole bag of make up sponges for a pound, that isn't particularly important.
I really like this; packaging aside, the product itself is great, and I will definitely repurchase when I run out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/9/2012 2:56:00 PM More reviews by christinarose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

For being DIRT CHEAP, this powder isn't THAT bad. The colour selection is horrible, I think there is like.. 3 shades to chose from. I bought Warm Beige, and it is WAY too light... not even beige at all. But I seem to make it work. It is pretty sheer, but it leaves a nice matte finish, which I love. Sometimes it looks a little chalky, and when using a powder brush, it almost turns into dust and gets everywhere. However, I would purchase again if I needed something cheap and quick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2012 7:06:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

I love how this product does not add color (Translucent shade), which is crucial for me and my pale foundations. Also, it adds a diffused light look and helps hide imperfections and give me that porcelain doll skin look. However, this does not get a "5" because it does very little to control oil :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2012 7:23:00 AM More reviews by emmamulligan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

There's nothing remarkable about this product other than the price, considering how little variation in quality there is in pressed powder. I like it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2012 8:11:00 PM More reviews by MAKEUPMAAM

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Dupe for MAC Blot Powder? Not really. But this product is pretty darn good. No fall out, unlike my Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Correcting Powder (the one with the pink, green, and yellow swirls). I use this powder to set my concealer (Essence Forget it!, which is also a great product). Amazingly, when applied with a light hand, the coverage is just as good as the powder foundation I had been using. The difference is that I look less cakey now. It really sops up the excess oil well. So, needless to say, this is my daily makeup now. No more correcting powder and loose powder for this middle-aged lady. This stuff is unbelievable. I will repurchase when I run out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2012 3:24:00 PM More reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this because the loose powder variation was too risky to travel with (crap packaging). I have dark skin (NW 43), and this will leave a slight white cast, even tho its touted as 'translucent'. Its good in a pinch, if you have something to set it with (I always have Fix+ handy), but Ive found more than one touch up during the day using this, will result in an absolute mess. I keep it in my gym bag as a back up after a morning work out, but I have no real intention of using this on the regular. Its good over my tinted moisturizer (which is really greasy), but otherwise, meh. I wouldnt recommend using the puff that comes with it, definitely needs a brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/19/2012 3:23:00 PM More reviews by eqqusole

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Bought this in 'Translucent' and it turned my face white. Applicator and case are very cheap and chintzy. You get what you pay for!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/1/2012 12:27:00 PM More reviews by karissajean

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Let me start by saying that the first couple of days I used this powder, I absolutely loved it. Now though, it's okay-good but not great. I like the packaging quite a bit, it's lightweight and easy to travel with. And so far I have had no problems with the pressed powder breaking off, like almost all of my other pressed powders do so that is a plus.
While it does brighten up my face a bit and gives me some added color while "mattifying" my liquid foundation... it's results don't last long before I'm oily again. So I started using this powder and then finishing it with Palladio translucent rice powder on my T-zone. The combo of those two costs me less than $10 which I love :) :) :)
That has so far been pretty successful, and I will finish with that powder routine until this product is gone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/29/2011 10:25:00 PM More reviews by haleyanna19

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this powder!! Such a nice, basic powder. I'm a hair lighter than NC15, and I buy Translucent and it looks natural on me. Packaging is cheap as hell but whatever, it's only 3 bucks! GO BUY IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/28/2011 1:22:00 PM More reviews by mlq490

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

When it comes to powder, I don't have many needs. I want something to set my foundation to give it a matte finish, make it longer lasting, and be my skin tone (I have Warm Beige) to slightly enhance coverage. This worked and is the cheapest powder in my nearest CVS, but it's not like it has amazing coverage or has sturdy packaging or a silky feel. This product is just average, portable and affordable, so I like it, but it's not outstanding in any way.
UPDATE: this is rather chalky... but i still use it, because it does the job. I don't think I would repurchase because I want more coverage in a powder, and this has sheer coverage that isn't too buildable without caking.

Is this review helpful? Yes No