August 20, 2014 | 2027 users online

Pressed Powders - Cover Girl - Clean Fragrance Free Pressed Powder



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.6(56 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 53% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2010 8:01:00 PM More reviews by Nekura

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I actually am reviewing the new Clean pressed powder for sensitive skin in the clear + teal packaging. I'm not sure what the old ingredients to this power was as it never intrigued me for years but the new packaging is quite modern and eye appealing. However the ingredient list seems pretty minimal with the add of oat powder which is a bit unusual (but I assume logically this might help sensitive skin stay calm?)


As for the powder, I'm quite surprised with the quality. Keep in mind this is sheer. It can even out minor discoloration but I don't see how this can be used as a foundation unless you just need a subtle tint. For keeping the oilies away, covergirl has always done a great job with this in powders from what I have noticed but I only have steered away because a lot of their face powders contain a high level of bismuth and irritates my skin. This senstive skin powder however seems to be bismuth free, fragrance free, controls the tzone nicely, leaves my skin soft AND non-itchy unlike their other products.


The overall texture of this reminds me a lot of MAC Blot. It does come off a bit chalky (just like the MAC) so if you have super dry skin I wouldn't suggest using this (try Maybelline Dream Matte instead). The only difference between this and MAC blot is that this cakes less, has a bit more color to it, but overall works just as great. A $7-8 price tag for a Covergirl powder seems a bit steep (weren't these like $5 before?) however it works so well I don't regret buying it at retail. Will definitely buy a few extras next time I see a BOGO sale.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2010 6:28:00 PM More reviews by erijica

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I am quite sad that this is being discontinued. I recently found it stashed away in a random makeup bag, and I decided to try it out again. I love it. I use it to set my foundation and it works wonderfully. It doesn't look cakey or sink into my pores, like some other powders I've tried. Plus, the lightest shade is perfect for my super pale skin. AND, it looks very nice on it's own, if you just want to even out your skin tone and take away oilies.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2010 8:44:00 PM More reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I can't believe CG has discontinued this product! The new "Sensitive Skin" powder has totally different ingredients and is nothing like this frag. free version! I'm so freakin upset, so ladies stock up while you can, if you loved this powder!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/8/2010 11:12:00 PM More reviews by samanthakisses

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this powder, it gives me good coverage, especially if I use the little blot puff they give you. However, it can sometimes make my face look too matte, which I fix with Fix+. Also, it's very drying, so I suppose it'd be a perfect product for oily skin. Overall, it's quite good, and the it's super cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/5/2009 4:32:00 PM More reviews by chi27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

cakey on my face and has no spf. it's orangey for my complexion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/12/2009 12:14:00 AM More reviews by mimi10113

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is very sheer, so if your looking for like a full coverage powder this will not do the job. It is great for when your in middle school and you want to start wearing makeup. It is good blotting the t-zone. But overall there are way better powders.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/4/2009 8:44:00 AM More reviews by Beautyxxxrox

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Great product! Its perfect to set my liquid foundation, because by itself it doesn't have great coverage. I picked this up at target on sale for 2 dollars. it is such a great product so I will definitley repurchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/2/2009 7:48:00 PM More reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Let me explain my harsh score. This isn't a matter of cosmetics(the color is decent for price), but overall long term skin care. If this was just marketed as a pressed powder for normal skin, I might score it as a three. People with sensitive skin tend to focus on the fragrance part, and after using even harsher face powders, this will seem nicer and you won't notice the problem with it because the problem will creep up on you cumulatively and you won't necessarily realize that the powder is causing a problem. The problem is that this product has talc in it, which can be very drying cumulatively and irritate sensitive/acne skin over time. You won't necessarily notice the drying effect if you tend to wear makeup every day, because you're so used to the drying effects of makeup, you don't spot it. (That's one of the problems w/sensitive skin, there are so many different factors and ingredients playing into your condition that it can be hard to isolate the problem products. Also, when you're young and desperate to hide blemishes, you tend to underestimate the problems of drying out your skin.) But not using makeup daily for a while now, when I apply some, as I did just now, oh yeah, feel the drying, tightening thing. To be fair, it isn't as drying or harsh as some talc products on the skin, but if you're going to market a product for a sensitive skin crowd, don't put talc in it. (I suspect it seems less drying compared to other talc products because of the oat ingredients.) The color is actually a decent one--Ivory for me. I find it's less likely to be cakey if you apply it once before you go out and then do touch ups with blotting papers throughout the day, so you don't build up powder as much. However, when it's a case of an emergency and choosing between lesser evils, this will work in short term, way better choice for sensitive skin than a Coty Airspun because of fragrance in Coty, also suspect higher talc content in Coty(though, actually like the natural coverage of Coty better as a natural looking light foundation, which is why I give Coty a higher score, plus Coty doesn't try to market their product for sensitive skin, appreciate the honesty there). Am really sorry to score it so low because a)the packaging is pretty nice for a cheap product, even when powder is gone, you still have a purse mirror and b)major nostalgia factor for me--remember as a little girl when all the mamas had a brown C G compact in their purses and a C G compact was one of the first cosmetics I ever owned.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/29/2009 6:19:00 PM More reviews by shaebrixton

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

First off, the packaging is perfect. It's so basic and not fancy that it's the easiest to use. Other make-up brands should learn from this and stop trying to come out with new, complicated, annoying packaging. It even fits in the pocket of my jeans. Also, Covergirl puffs are higher quality then most of the other drugstore brands. I still prefer to apply it with a powder brush, but the puff is nice if I don't want to carry around as much or when I'm washing my brushes. As for the powder itself, it's decent, but it's so cheap that I always repurchase. It can be cakey if you don't apply it properly, which is why a brush helps a lot. I'm kind of skeptical about it having mineral oil, but it doesn't seem to break me out so I should be ok.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/23/2009 12:31:00 PM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I use to wear this powder way back in the day and recently picked this up due to forgetting my m/u bag at home.
I purchased this up for less then $5 on sale in the colour 'classic ivory.' The colour is great at matching my foundation (MAC NC15, L'Oreal N1, Rimmel 100). I use this only as my blotting / powdering powder through out the day. Keeps my m/u looking fresh without caking or looking too matte and/or dry. Love that it is fragrance free too. Recommend this powder for the price and good results I have achieved with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No