Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

775 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 2/22/2015 9:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think this is a great foundation, but not perfect for me. It is a nice level of coverage, medium I'd say, it doesn't totally cover my redness or hyper pigmentation, but it definitely helps to camouflage. And it lasts so well! my days are long and this is the only foundation I've tried so far that really holds up all day. I have quite an oily t zone in the warmer months, and I don't get as shiney with this either.

However, I find it to have a very matte finish, and look a bit dry and makeup-y. I have large pores, and I really feel like this enhances them. Because it's so matte on me, it just doesn't have a very pretty look. I've tried layering it and mixing it with other products, but I have had only minimal success.

It's also too drying in the winter months. today it is feeling sort of itchy and bothersome on my face, but I'm really hoping it'd just that my winter skin is a little dry and sensitive, and not that I'm reacting to the product!

I'm actually still trying it, and holding on to it hoping I can make it work a little better come summer. Because I just don't want to give up on such a nice, long wear that keeps summer greasiness in check.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/16/2015 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this after looking through the reviews and thought it sounded like the product for me. But alas it was not. The first day i tried the product it made my skin feel tight and dry, making any dryness and imperfections stand out. I thought it was just my skin at the time as it had been slightly dry. I used it for around a week and noticed my skin break out terribly as well as becoming increasingly dry. Another downside for me was that it also oxadised, making my face look an odd shade of orange.....not a good look when your as white as me. I went back to using my previous foundation, and occasionally tried using the double wear light again to see if it was any different. My skin would break out instantly. Safe to say i was dissapointed. But each their own, you never know unless you try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Breaks me out every time I wear it. I'm not acne-prone and don't usually have issues with face products. I didn't catch up with it right away, and a week after wearing it daily I had to deal with the worst skin I've had since my early teen years. A month later I attempted again - same result. I remove makeup with oil and double cleanse, so it's really just something that's causing havoc during hours it's on. It's killing me because I really like it otherwise and being in EU I can't return it.


on 2/13/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

HG MATERIAL!!! I love this stuff SO much. They finally have a shade that works for my superpale skin, 0.5. It's pretty close to a perfect match.

Why I love it:
- perfect colormatch (0.5 leans warm, about NC15)
- apply with fingers for sheer but buildable coverage, evens out my ruddy skintone beautifully (note: when built up to med-full coverage, this can look a bit mask-like/obviously makeupy)
- finish is not too matte, not too shiny -- just perfectly skinlike
- coverage lasts all day with minimal fading, even when I forget to set with powder
- causes no irritation or breakouts (I have VERY reactive rosacean skin)
- does not oxidize or separate
- does not highlight flakes
- easily found at Sephora and all major department stores in the US

There aren't many negatives with this stuff but if I had to nitpick:
- cost: it's just a bit steep for what feels like a tinted moisturizer/BB cream
- the tube packaging format: I wish it had a little airtight pump to be more hygienic
- packaging design/branding: I feel like this brand needs a facelift -- it still seems to target old ladies with that classic gold and blue. EL has several products that young makeup junkies love to use -- can't they make it look more hip/cool? No young person wants to be seen with the current packaging/branding.

Overall, a rave review for a product that I already can't live without. LOVELOVELOVE IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 6:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have very oily skin so have lost all hope of finding a foundation that stays put but also isn't too thick on the skin. I used to use classic double wear but I tried going back to this foundation recently after my skin became oilier and it looked so heavy for daytime wear I decided to try the light version. This foundation is worlds apart from classic double wear. It blends beautifully, looks quite natural in daylight and is really buildable although looks best used sparingly. Coverage is good, I would say when used with a decent concealer and a light setting powder you can achieve the same coverage as doublewear classic but with a much nicer natural finish. Granted this doesn't look perfect on my skin all day long however when applied at 6am and not taken off until 8pm I can't expect any foundation to!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation.

I bought it as the Mac F&B I was using was a bit too dark as I bought it in the summertime, and also I wanted a little bit more coverage (without having to layer it). This is fab.

The EL MUA gave me a full makeover so I was properly colour matched - the colour is perfect. The formula just suits my skin so well - it blends well, covers well (although I use the Doublewear concealer under my eyes and on redness), doesn't transfer - even without powdering! - and doesn't wear off my face on my oily T zone. This for me is unimaginable - every other foundation will wear off a bit, or sort of 'clump' sometimes. Not this one, which surprised me as I am normally a sheer foundation sort of girl. I also love the packaging - simple and effective - no glass bottle and therefore no wastage!

I think this has surpassed Clinique's CC Cream as my favourite. I will probably buy this again, even though it is pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2015 8:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful disaster.
I wanted to love this foundation but unfortunately it breaks me out. This clogs my pores just like the Double Wear foundation. I originally switched to this in hopes that it wouldn't break me out like the original DW but it does so just a warning for any ladies with extremely acne-prone skin like me!

I use Shade 3.0 which matches my yellow-toned, tan-medium-light skin. I'm in the shade Tawny for the original DW (which is just a tiny bit orange for my light tan skin). The longevity is also great. It lasts the whole day and doesn't make me oily. I might have to blot at least once in the day but it's not necessary as it just makes you a bit dewy but not that oily look. The coverage is indeed light-medium like the name itself but it evens out the skin well. I don't mind a few spots showing through but if you really want full coverage, you can use a concealer or try building up the foundation. I apply this with a sponge btw as it makes it easier for me. The price is hefty but the packaging itself is so much better than the original DW. It's in a tube container and you just squeeze out how much you need unlike the DW with no pump (a mess).

All in all, it has everything I'd want in a foundation but since it breaks me out, I will not be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased Double-Wear light after seeing a review on YouTube. I am over 50 as well, and have many of the same concerns; foundation on older skin can be very aging. I have an oily T-zone and live in the deep South, and foundation in the summer here is a problem. I was very excited that this foundation truly did not transfer and would last all day.

I did get a perfect color match on this foundation; and it is transfer free. I have never worn anything like it; no more smears on cell phones, towels and so on...a dream come true. It has a very natural finish as well, and it does last all day. I don't have time for a lot of touch ups and was surprised to see how well the finish held up when I went to remove it at night.

The downside of a non-transferring last all day foundation is that it is hard to get off. Estee Lauder makes a cleanser called Perfectly Clean which I was obliged to buy after regular soap and water did not truly remove this from my face. The purchase of their cleanser drives up the net price of the foundation for me - but it is still worth it.

My only other issue with this product is the low SPF. I wear an high SPF moisturizer under this, but it would have been nice to have it all in one.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my first ever review of any make up product! I love this foundation so much that I felt compelled to write this review (especially after I have been asked couple of times recently which one I am wearing)
So here goes..
Creamy, smooth, light, natural looking, buildable, disappers into skin, matte yet dewy, if that makes sense!
I am dry-combination and have this in intensity 2 for reference.
Also, a word for the packaging, I love products in tubes since it's the most hygienic, specially for expensive products that we need to last for long (I have mine for a year now and still just as new)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2014 12:56:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I wanted to like this foundation, I really did. There was a time years ago when the original Double Wear was my HG foundation. But as I aged (I am now 55), I decided that less was more, foundation wise, and tried lighter foundations, BB and CC creams, etc. But the search continues for the foundation that will make my skin younger, fresher, poreless, etc, without looking like spackle. I recently saw a YouTube video review of this foundation by a woman over 50 who raved about it, so I decided to give it a try. I am relatively fair, NW20 with basically neutral undertone with ruddiness across my cheeks. When I went to the counter the SA matched me to color 1.0, which looked too light for me, but the lighting in department stores is so bad that you often can't tell. Well I got home and was horrified, it was waayyy too light, looked cakey and magnified every pore and area of crepiness on my face. I took it back and the next SA matched me to 2.0, which was a much better color match. However, no matter what I did, it magnified every pore and blemish on my face, looked cakey and flat. I tried it on over several different moisturizers, applied with fingers or sponge and it just looked awful. From a distance looking in the mirror, it's not bad because the color match is good, but up close, well, I look 10 years older than what I am. Tonight I scrubbed it off and found an old tube of $4 Wet n Wild Coverall and put it on. It looked ten times better for one tenth the price. It's going back to the store. Two lippies for color match and decent finish for younger skin, especially someone with oily or combo skin. I also liked the tube packaging for travel, but a definite no-no for me.

**Update 5/12/15*** This didn't go back to the store, it sat in my purse waiting to find the receipt. One day my esthetician told me that my skin looked dehydrated from too many anti-aging treatments, so I stopped those temporarily and worked on really hydrating my skin. A few weeks ago when I gave this another try over a rich moisturizer and it worked! I applied it with the RT brush and found out that it looks pretty good. Of course, if you look up close you can still see the fine lines and pores :( but I am 56 now and my skin is pretty good for my age. I was on the fence still but on Mother's Day several people came up to me and complimented me on my skin...of course it was the DWL that made it look better than it is. I do like the matte finish; I don't set it with powder and it stays in place all day. Color match (#2) is good for my NW20ish skin. I think it would be a great foundation for those people with oily or normal skin, mine is pretty dry and this foundation is pretty tempermental when my skin isn't very well moisturized. Upped it to four lippies from two, but probably woudn't repurchase due to the dry dkin issue and also the cost which is close to $40. I still think I can find better foundations for my skin at a much lower price point, but hey it's Estee Lauder so it's expensive.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top