September 19, 2014 | 1890 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Smashbox - Photo Finish Light

rated 3.4(413 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/8/2014 2:14:00 PM More reviews by zerotic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I've been using this primer for.... I think almost a year now, if not longer! I really do like it, but I don't think it does what it promises. This is supposed to be a good primer for those with oily skin, but for me, it does nothing for my oily skin. My skin still gets quite shiny after a couple of hours. The reason why I give it four lippies, is because it's a REALLY good base for your foundation and concealer. Everything glides on smoothly, no matter how dry the foundation or concealer are - this primer makes everything possible to work with. My skin gets suuuuper smooth when using this primer. Other than that, I won't say that this is the perfect primer for those with oily skin... But it's good as a base. I'm not sure if I will repurchase it, I'm about to run out of it, so time will show. Good primer - but not the best.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2014 9:27:00 AM More reviews by JenDrGreen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have combination skin, oily in the T - zone, and I absolutely LOVE this primer! It gives my skin a nice matte base to build foundation on top of. I got a steal of a deal on this at my local Winners store (TJ Maxx in the US) I payed just $15.99 for a one ounce bottle!!! For those who don't know, check the beauty department there. Amazing deals on Smashbox, Stila, Shiseido and so much more!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2014 2:06:00 PM More reviews by bbarfield12

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this primer for over 3 months. I have tried several primers and this one is by far the best I have tried! I try to buy products that aren't extremely toxic, this one comes in at a 2 on EWGs skin deep database- a non profit company that rates personal care products on a scale of 0 (best or least toxic) to 10 (worst or most toxic). I was pleased with that score so I gave it a try. It is pricey for a primer, however, I did not let that affect my rating for it because I love that it comes in smaller sizes for cheaper to fit your budget! I don't wear makeup everyday, so the $10 size lasts me a good bit of time! I love that it is a cream based primer, couldn't stand the silicon based ones at all! Yuck! My foundation looks better and lasts longer with this product! Works perfectly with my oily problematic skin, doesn't break me out at all! It's a beauty must for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/13/2014 2:02:00 AM More reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this as a 100 point beauty insider gift from Sephora. I didn't like this primer. It is oil-free, but it's also silicone based, and it made me break out. Also, it didn't help my makeup stay on any longer, or fill in lines and pores. I gave the rest to my mom, and she said it didn't make a difference either. I won't repurchase. I love my HG oil-free, water based primer from Laura Mercier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/5/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by lingre

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this but it's just okay. It doesnt really do anything for my skin. It helps with oil control but thats it, it doesnt make my makeup look better or last longer or anything. I still need to use a mattifying finishing powder too, so I dont really find anything impressive about this primer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/4/2014 2:35:00 PM More reviews by carcar44324

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Hazel

This primer doesn't seem to do much. I use this after cleansing and moisturizing and before I put on my foundation (Bare Essentials Original foundation). My foundation doesn't usually move out of place, but I bought this hoping for a smoother, pore less appearance. For the cost, it seems that this primer doesn't do much. My skin is very oily skin and while this didn't break me out, it didn't do much to give me that "airbrushed" look. I have not tried this with a tinted moisturizer or liquid foundation, so I cannot speak to what that would do to the lasting power with that. What I noticed about the product:

PROS
-Seamless application. Very smooth and feels nice on the skin
-Didn't break me out
-Slightly took down the shine and kept oil at bay
-Layers well under makeup
-Photographs well, doesn't leave a white cast

CONS
-Didn't notice a big difference in lasting power with mineral foundation
-Didn't make my skin "pore less" or "airbrushed," for the most part it looked the same
-Takes up a lot of space in your makeup bag and adds unnecessary steps to the routine
-Very expensive

Overall, I am not very impressed with this product for the price that I paid. It seems like there would be other, cheaper products on the market like other primers, bb creams or certain foundations that would provide better effects. While this didn't irritate my skin, it didn't do enough to remain a staple in my beauty routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/2/2014 11:44:00 AM More reviews by BettyBoop2011

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have tried smashbox photo finish before. I was finding my face was super oily during the day....I have oily skin anyway, but it was getting so oily I literally looked like someone threw oil at my face (grosse, I know, sorry!). I stopped using this product and the oil stopped.]

I threw the regular photofinish product into my stuff that's never used make up bag. I then came across a sample of photo finish light primer, and it seemed to be amazing. That day my make up stayed perfect, flawless, with no shine. I was so excited I ordered the full size straight away. However, after using it I realised it must have just been a fluke when using the sample. This stuff is, for me, pointless. It's thin, it doesn't give a smooth, matte finish, it doesn't conceal pores, and it doesn't make my make up last longer. Total waste of money. I found in the end my clinique city block which I wore as SPF made the best primer. Now I use that as a moisturizer primer and sunscreen in one, saves time in the morning and stops me wasting money on more useless products like this one. Def. try before you buy ladies

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/27/2013 6:55:00 PM More reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

fortunately I bought the travel size, so glad I didn't buy the full one. This primer doesn't do anything, it's just the same as N. 7 airbrush away primer...but the n7 one costs much less..
they have the same consistency, color, etc and they do the same thing...NOTHING

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/23/2013 12:22:00 AM More reviews by jjquan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have repurchased this item 4-5 times now and it has always worked really well for me - until a bunch of new primers came out on the market. I found that this one always made my skin a little finicky and sometimes broke me out. I really like the finish on it, it goes on a little sticky, but dries really nicely and silky. It doesn't accentuate my pores and holds my make up in place for at least 10 hours, but I just found that the price seems to be a little more (if not the same) but the product is a lot less, so it was time for me to move on and find another primer that would be easier on my skin and wallet. Overall, it did what it was supposed to, but wasn't a fantastic product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/16/2013 3:53:00 PM More reviews by rebeccarkane

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

ALL HAIL.

This is expensive, I'll give you that, but it mattifies even the oiliest of faces. It helps my tinted moisturizer stick, as well as blush, but my bronzer is gone by midday. I do lie down on my side while reading or sitting on the couch, so I won't knock off a lippy until I determine what the cause of it is.

I find it STINKS. But I am willing to put up with it because it is so good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No