September 2, 2014 | 1798 users online

Eye Shadow - NARS - Kalahari Duo

rated 4.2(70 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/18/2011 11:43:00 AM More reviews by AndreaReneeXO

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I agree with the previous poster, I am not 100% impressed by the colour pay-off.
I think the texture is amazing and super blendable, but the pigment isn't as intense as I thought it would be. I recommend applying it wet as well.
It still looks great and I am happy with my purchase.
I just wish I got a different eyeshadow duo as my first from NARS though! I played it safe with this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/5/2011 2:44:00 AM More reviews by yajuwen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I love this but not amazed. The right color gives a smoky looks and I love it. Blending with the left one, it's really my perfect everyday look. (w/ alhambra left applied first) However, I found the payoff is far from expected. Applied wet, they are gorgeous, but otherwise I need to re-apply about 3 or 4 times with really dense brush to get the intensity I love. For the color, it's 5 definitely. But for the texture, really, it's only a 2 or 3.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/22/2011 2:20:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This was my first Nars shadow and I was surprised by how much I liked it. I was never impressed by the testers at Sephora so I didn't expect much when I got this in a swap. My only regret now is not having tried Nars shadows sooner. I love this duo. The color itself is nothing that can't be duped but the quality of product just can't be beat. It went on smooth, blended easily and had almost no fall out. It wasn't chalky or overly shimmery. It's just perfect. I also love the packaging. It's sturdy and can take a beating without damaging the product inside and I love the fact that they give you a decent size mirror to work with. With all my shadows I doubt I'll ever hit pan on this but if I did I would definitely buy it again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/21/2011 4:32:00 PM More reviews by oliviaspeaks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

NARS Eyeshadow Duo in : KALAHARI Purchased for: $32.00
This is my first NARS shadow I have ever owned, and I must say the quality is fantastic. This particular shadow duo caught my eye, not only for the beautiful neutral shades, but because they come off as almost metallic. Or better yet they look like they are glowing, if you can understand what I'm saying.
One color is a soft daker brown, but looks almost plum. This the color that looks like it's glowing. I don't know how to descibe it, but yes, it looks like it glows.
The other color is a dirty golden bronze, and it does have the same glow effect as the brown shade, but not as vibrant.
Quality-wise, these colors provide an easy application. Smooth, vivid, and very blendable. They fade only slightly throughout the day, but the impact of the color still remains gorgeous.
I hear that NARS shadows, when traveled with, are very fragile, so that seems to be the only flaw with this product. I have not had any problems with it, but I do make sure to handle it with care.

Overall, I love the modern sleek packaging, the fantastic color payoff, and of course the unique neutral shades of the duo. This has become my favorite palette.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2011 5:58:00 PM More reviews by Gailkey2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love this duo. I found the colors stunning soft and beautiful. It is understated on my MAC NC45 complexion..I put mac sketch in the crease. I was gorgeous. I will definately buy more neutral nars colors. I i put the light color on the lid, and dark in the crease with mac sketch and layered it. Love it!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2011 8:34:00 PM More reviews by painterlyrose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A perfect and pigmented neutral duo. A shimmery golden brown shade and a taupey-purple. Great for everyday.

I don't think you could use both colours because while they aren't the same colour, they are the same tone (medium). There will be a rather subtle difference if you choose to. You'll need a darker colour to deepen your crease, otherwise.

Totally would buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/15/2011 1:03:00 PM More reviews by makeupaholic83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

A nice combination of taupe/purple. Very nice finish quite similar to MAC's frost finish. Long-lasting formula, both colours are very pigmented. A nice combo if you like frosty dirty browns...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/5/2010 10:21:00 PM More reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

For me this was one of those "I have to have it now" products, and I thought it was well worth the wait. Afterall, I don't think you can ever have too many shimmery brown shades in your collection. This duo is a shimmery bronzey-brown and a shimmery purple-taupey brown (I know, quite a description). The left side, the bronzey color is amazing, it's super soft and easy to blend. Goes on smooth and is very pigmented. I use it over indianwood paint pot (which is the same color) and it stays on all day. Now I've read that this color is alot like woodwinked, which is one of the main reasons I wanted it( I had a slight obsession with getting woodwinked and did not want to order only that off the site). Now that I have woodwinked I see a major resemblance; however the kalahari color is more pinky brown, while woodwinked is more golden brown. If you wore kalahari tomorrow and woodwinked the next day.....no one would know :) The taupe side looks great over Groundwork paint pot, it tends to pull more purple. I will def repurchase since I do love Nars products so much.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/7/2010 10:28:00 AM More reviews by jenniandthebets

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was my first Nars eyeshadow. I had often swatched colours in shops and was amazed at the intensity of the colours and how smooth they were. Because of this expectation I didn't bother testing this, I just bought this duo based on the colours. In the pan they each do look quite different however on my skin (NW15 to give an idea) i found both colours to be very similar. I had bought this expecting the lighter to be good for a lid colour and the darker for a crease, however having used them i am finding them both to be more suited for crease colours. They both work fantastically as eyeliner colours aswell, the gold-ier of the two colours brings out blue eyes beautifully. Overall despite this not being perhaps what i had hoped for, I was still more than happy with this purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/27/2010 10:09:00 AM More reviews by jillirific

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was my first NARS anything and I was very excited and initially underwhelmed. I remember seeing it in a youtube tutorial and it looked great so when I couldn't make up my mind on what to buy with a Sephora giftcard, I decided to just go for it and buy this duo.


At first, I was quite disappointed. The colour didn't go on that smoothly, I thought it would be frostier, as it looks pretty frosty in the pan, but it wasn't really (I would maybe classify it as a Satin if it were a MAC shadow, or a crappy Frost like Paradisco) I didn't find it that pigmented. I was very unimpressed and thought, "they charge this much for THIS? THIS is what people rave about? NARS? Really?" However, after giving it a few more chances, it's become one of my easy, neutral looks (best when I want to wear a bright lipstick!) I decided to not let my baseless expectations take over my opinion on a pretty overall decent product.


The shades blend together nicely (and then again with a highlight) but I don't find too much of a difference between the lighter and darker shades. I really like the look these eyeshadows give me: since I don't think it's all that pigmented, it's subtle and very neutral. Great for everyday and as I said above, if you're doing a bold lip and don't want much going on on the eyes.


I really like NARS packaging and when it gets dirty - as it does, pretty often since the rubber casing attracts everything - I just wipe it with a makeup wipe after I've used it on my face. Good as new. I am really against the price, it's way too expensive for what it is to me. I mean, I really like it, but I don't think it's good enough for the price. I said I would buy it again, but I think I may try a different duo instead once I use up this one, to see if other NARS shadows/duo are better in overall quality than this one.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No