January 31, 2015 | 1326 users online

Foundations - Meow Cosmetics - Pampered Puss Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 4.1(115 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2013 2:28:00 PM More reviews by TranquilTurtle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I really like this stuff, this is the only mineral makeup I've tried and I don't plan on buying any others. it has layer able coverage and works well with the concealer to hide any blemishes or redness if needed. it looks very natural and is light weight, can't even feel it on my skin like when I was using liquid foundations. They have a shade that will match any skin tone, though it does take some trial and error to find the perfect one. One of the main reasons I tried this is because it's a lot cheaper then getting mineral makeup from MAC or Micabella, definitely recommend this if you are looking for a natural look with light to medium coverage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2013 1:29:00 PM More reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this stuff! I have tried Bare Minerals, Everyday Minerals, Signature Minerals, Lucy Minerals, and Lumiere. This is my favorite by far.

Pros - does not break me out, looks very natural, feels like you're not wearing anything, LOTS of shade options, they sell samples, it does not settle in fine lines, lasts throughout the day

Cons - shipping takes forever, products have cutesy cat names which is just annoying, no locking feature on foundation jars so not travel friendly, so many color options it may be overwhelming at first

If you want full coverage, this is probably not the one for you.
Personally, I prefer light to medium coverage and this fits the bill. I have and will continue to repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/17/2013 9:00:00 PM More reviews by bixbailey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

After having used full coverage loose mineral for years, I accidentally purchased the Pampered formulation–but am glad I did. This really does not offer great coverage and I end up using a lot of product to build it up...that said, it has a much more natural appearance than the Flawless and wears better throughout the day. It can be a bit chalky in texture–would be nice if it was smoother–but the color selection is excellent and I've never had any problems with breakouts from Meow products. Docking points for the super slow shipping, coverage (should be a taaaad better), and texture. Otherwise, I've repurchased and will use until I find something better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/4/2013 2:23:00 PM More reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm looking for a mattifying full coverage loose foundation for my acne-prone skin that also has a lot of hyperpigmentation and redness along with scars...


My shades are; NC/NW 15, in Everyday minerals I wear Linen and Fairly light neutral, in Lily Lolo I wear Blondie. Mad minerals: Fairly light. In meow's I think that Frisky Abyssinian and Frisky Siamese seemed to be good matches (but I can also wear the sleek shades on some areas).



Coverage is really, really poor and hard to build up! This ( and the flawless feline) also contains small GLITTERY particles - you can't see them with the eye on the face, but they make the whole impression less matte!! And my extremely oily acne skin...glitter is the last thing I need... So when it comes to foundations with very, very light coverage I'd rather go for Lily Lolo instead of this, cause it's completely matte and makes the pores look smaller. (Unless you have normal or dry skin of course).



No, I really need much, much more full coverage and to be able to put it on quite quick in the morning... Until now Mad minerals have the heaviest coverage and the most matte result for my skin (along with my old EDM).

But really good shade options and really, really nice costumer service!! I still like this company... Next to review is the flawless feline. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/23/2013 8:40:00 PM More reviews by exxxotic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skin is combination, and I am prone to breakouts....All of my facial cleansing products, moisturizers, etc. were switched to Organic, and BOOM, clear skin! Literally within a week! I haven't had any breakouts in months, just minor clogging. The only part of my beauty regimen that I knew needed changing was my makeup. The one I was using previously was not working, it was store bought, and let's face it, everything is loaded with chemicals, and fillers. I seem to be allergic to EVERYTHING!!! Most mineral powder foundations give me hives, and liquid, or cream break me out. Also, I can NEVER find a color to match my complexion. So I went on a search for something that would work on my reactive skin, cover my scars from previous breakouts, and not break me out with pimples, or give me hives! I'm obsessed, OBSESSED, with this foundation! At first I ordered samples, but I was still hesitant on the coverage, and wondering if it would be worth it. My skin reacted well to the samples (hence didn't react! ahah), so I figured, why not. The color that matched me was Naughty Korat, so I ordered the full size, along with the Naughty Korat concealer. Together they are perfect!!! Once my unsightly scars go away...(probably another three months...it literally takes half a year!) I wont even need the concealer. I'm impressed to the point I want to cry. Finally I can feel beautiful again! Thank you Meow Cosmetics <3 Some people might think it's a pain to go through ordering samples and finding your perfect match, but to me it was worth it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/15/2013 11:02:00 PM More reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

at last a make up that doesnt irritate or clog my pores! i have searched and wasted so much time and money with other make up brands and finally my search is over! I do have to admit that it is quite a journey finding the right shade for yourself because there are so many choices.....all my live i thought i was a yellow skin type because it was always pink or yellow undertones....with this foundation i was able to find out i am a yellow neutral peachy kind of tone....haha! it took some mixing and matching and i finally found the combination for me is frisky siamese and naughty manx or ambyssian! the cat named foundation colors does get overwhelming at first but it is all worth it for clear skin! the only negative i would say is that if you apply this all crazy a huge powder cloud will have you all choked up....be careful not to constantly inhale this stuff...anyways...i wuld suggest for a mixture between the flawless feline and pampered puss for the perfect consistancy because the flawless feline alone might get a bit too powdery if not applyed just right.....and let me jsut say that all mineral make up is not the same!!! this was the only one that didnt break me out one bit....Everyday Minerals broke me out like crazy! All in all i really like this company and i hope they never go out of business because i dont want to ever have to look for make up good enough for my skin ever again

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2013 4:09:00 AM More reviews by betriix

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Update: I just wanted to add something. If you are a true Mac NC or C, none of Meow's shades are going to come close. Most of Meow's yellow based shades are unnatural. Abyssinian, Manx, and Angora are ridiculously yellow, and Chartreuse is extremely peachy. Korat will work well for some, but it has a lot of olive, so if you're not olivey, you may be out of luck finding a truly natural shade.

Many of Meow's shades in general are unnatural. I have a friend with peach skin, for example, who is fair but very rosy. Naughty Persian is a good shade for her, but there is simply no way anyone could be, say, an Independent Persian (the deepest version of Persian) without looking like their face is bleeding. There's just only so dark that peach gets on human skin. So even though they have a million shades, there are not that many that will work on real skin.

So if you're going for something as close as possible to Mac NC or C, you will need to mix. Mixes that have worked well for me are:

Manx and Siamese (or Mau)
Chartreux and Abyssinian

If you think of Meow makeup as a paintbox of mixing colors (as I do), it can be really fun, and you can adjust your look regularly with the weather or mood. Just realize you might have a hard time finding one perfect color.


Previous Review:
I have spent the past year trying to find the perfect shade and formula of mineral foundation. I tried just about everything and was largely unsatisfied. I started thinking it was just me, and either my skin was too messed up to ever look nice, even in foundation, OR i was just neurotic and needed to move on to more important matters in life. Well, I have to say that I'm very glad I stuck it through, because I've finally found the most exquisite mineral makeup. I should mention that I tried Meow a few months back, but I couldn't get the shade down, so I gave up. Something inside said I needed to give it another go, and I'm so glad I did. My perfect match is half Frisky Siamese and half Naughty Manx. And for me what works best is a mix of Pampered and Flawless formulas. Pampered is lovely, but it really is pretty light on coverage. Mixing the two gives me an amazingly natural, radiant coverage. Finding the right color is so, so important, but you may have to work at it for a while. It's time consuming and somewhat expensive to keep ordering more samples, but once you nail your shade, it feels like a miracle. I know this sounds ridiculous, but it's literally changed my life and increased my overall sense of well-being. Every time I apply this, I am simply in awe. I never thought my skin could look like that. Now my biggest fear is that Meow will someday go out of business, and I'll be stuck without this!

There is one minor thing that bugs me about this line... The difference between the Frisky and Naughty shade depth is enormous. Other people have noted this too. I really wish they would remedy this, because I fall right between the two (as I'm sure many people do) and am unwilling to buy a third jar. Once you start mixing colors and formulations, and then need different depths for summer and winter, it can get really out of hand. There are ways to manage it though, and the payoff of having PERFECT foundation for your skin is worth the trouble to me. A good way to fix a too-light shade is to buy samples of the darkest shade (Independent), and add in small amounts. That way you're using almost pure pigment. You can do this with the same color, or you can add in other colors. You can even purposely buy a color in a slightly too light shade, so that you can alter the color with a second shade in Independent. I'm not doing this with my Siamese/Manx blend, because I also want the Pampered/Flawless blend, so I have to buy two jars anyway.

Anyway, this stuff is amazing... !!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/10/2012 12:07:00 AM More reviews by Klervie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Frist off, I love these products! My skin actually looks much nicer, more even and no more blackheads or congestion (even using only a cleansing milk to remove all of my makeup). I have very dry, dehydrated skin so I was concerned using a powder foundation, but I also have very fair sensitive skin that is uneven in tone with slight redness; so, I needed something that wouldn't irritate my skin.

To combat the dryness, I gently exfoliate 2-3 times per week with a 6% probiotic yogurt and crushed oats, and layer moisturizers/oils before makeup, then set the mineral foundation with a couple spritz' of water. Honestly, Meow cosmetics doesn't exacerbate my dryness as much as every other foundation has (liquid, bb creme, mousse, etc.)

Anyway, the colours are really forgiving as long as you are are around the correct level. I am approx. MAC NC15 (approx tone); my skin is more yellow/golden undertone, and fair. I can match to Frisky and Sleek Abyssinian, Korat and Siamese (Update: Manx and Abyssinian match me much better than Siamese [Siamese is the darkest in the Frisky shades and I find it too on the pink side]) so far. I may try Manx in Frisky next (confirmed: matches NC15 yellow/gold undertone, it is more yellow than pink). Their blushes are amazing as well, super nice and vibrant colours, but that is for another review.

The only thing I dislike about Meow is the shipping! IT SUCKS! SO SLOW! I ordered on November 15th, received notification that my shipment was processed and shipped on the 19th and a tracking number. I just checked the tracking and it wasn't even received by the post office in PA until November 29th!!! So I am still going to have to wait 2-3 more weeks for it to reach me in Western Canada. :'( That is in EXCESS OF A MONTH worth of shipping time! And faster shipping options cost SO MUCH MORE!

All the other times my orders have taken over a month to arrive as well (about 35-41 days). I still love Meow but I am looking for other companies that may have faster shipping or I can purchase in stores.

I WOULD repurchase this, but if I can find something similar in stores or with faster shipping I won't.

**UPDATE** Ended up repurchasing because other brands just can't compete with Meow quality. My skin has been going haywire (painful cystic acne, nose and cheek congestion and jawline blackheads) since I stopped using Meow. I am back on Meow and my skin is clearing up again :) Plus, using Meow foundations I never had oily t-zone problems. I actually forgot that this was ever a problem for me until I switched to Bourjois H.M. Serum & Bourjois H.M. Powder.

I have been applying these foundations with different brushes, and I find a soft powder brush does the best job, but I am going to try a fluffy powder puff as well (since it will fit inside and is more travel friendly).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/21/2012 4:12:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Color: I ordered a tone of the $1 samples in order to find a match in this foundation. I ended up getting a full size of the Frisky Abyssinian (which is the #2 in a gentle yellow tone) but later on, I feel like this is too yellow. I have cool toned skin, but my neck and chest are very neutral and pale (yay sunscreen lol). I have found I really like to use this like a setting powder with my big fluffy brush ontop of concealer, which neutralized my facial redness and matches my neck perfectly. As others have noted, the shades run very light, and there are so many tones, and 3 finishes, so I really recommend this foundation to those who are having trouble finding a true match elsewhere.
Notes: #2 Frisky Siamese is too peach and too dark. #1 Sleek Siamese is still too peach, but seems about the same depth as #2 Frisky Abyssinian. When I mix these 2, I get a neutral foundation with the depth I need.

Formula: I like the coverage of the Pampered formula because it is a buildable powder that is so finely milled and looks so natural on. It is not as chalky, heavy, or as drying as EDM, Lucy, or Alima. This is the one mineral foundation I would recommend to people with dry or normal skin, whereas the other mineral foundations I tried were too drying over time and seem better suited for oily skin. There is a real light-diffusing quality which hides imperfections without caking them over. Really a very beautiful finish. I would use concealer underneath this though, if you are looking for perfection. This is similar coverage to MAC Skin finish natural pressed powders, which can be applied very sheer or very opaque, depending on if you wet it and which brush you use.

Longevity: It seems to last about 6-8 hours if applied sheerly. It does not gather oil and become cakey. But it can rub off, even with a primer. Touch ups seem to be necessary if you are going to wear from AM to PM.

Packaging: The packaging is annoying. It looks childish, and it it a loose powder with a sifter. As much as I wish it was pressed, I think that would ruin the powder formula. I wish there was a way to twist and grind into a powder so you don't run the risk of spilling the product all over yourself if trying to re apply while out.

Bottom Line: this is a great product at a great price. I recommend this to anyone, especially if you are just trying to figure out your skin's undertones and move on to other foundations. I would say oily skinned people need to wear a primer with this, however. I will continue to use and re order, although I carry the MAC SFN in my purse for convenience.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/19/2012 8:21:00 AM More reviews by windy1365

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this foundation for over two years now. It is absolutely the best foundation ever. It goes on smooth and matches absolutely perfect. It lasts all day and looks natural.

Is this review helpful? Yes No