August 1, 2014 | 1245 users online

Cleansers - MD Forte - Facial Cleanser III



image 0

rated 4.5(81 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 88% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2010 10:27:00 AM More reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've been using this for about a month every ther day as a mask, I leave it on clean skin for about 20 minutes and have had no irritation. So far I've had little purging and my skin has started to look clearer and brighter - even my mum noticed! I'm really pleased so far and am about to add retinA to my routine. I'll edit in several moths to see if m skin continues to improve. Although the packaging is not 'pretty' I would rather have good quality in the package than spend money o fancy packaging. Being in the UK I had to order it for the USA - in total it cost about $55/30(ish) incl. p&P so I don't need it to be any more expensive!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/18/2010 1:19:00 PM More reviews by piggy1015

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I usually don't write reviews unless I despise something that I feel I need to beware other potential buyers from. I bought this item after reading all the rave reviews from here and basically every other site with reviews on this. Everyone said that it was their miracle skin care that basically cleared up their skin. Well that was just the opposite for me! I have oily and very acne-prone skin. Before using this, I was using cleanser with Benzoyl Peroxide and it was satisfying but not satisfying enough. So I thought this Glycolic acid based cleanser would be the solution. I got the Cleanser III without using I or II because my skin is not really sensitive at all, and I've used pretty harsh things on my skin for years now (however, never Glycolic Acid before). This might be the reason I had issues with this, but I doubt it since using this, it did not irritate my skin at all and I didn't feel any sensitivity or uncomfortableness. Anyway, on with the review. So just one day after using it, I noticed many tiny pimples along my cheeks (which was the only part of my face that does not have acne). I didn't mind it that much since I get about on average 1 cystic pimple every day, and tiny pimples are really nothing to me. After each use, I also noticed that I had all these white sebum things coming out from my pores in the corners of my nose (I am guessing they are whiteheads?). Anyway, as I started using it more the 1 cystic acne per day increased to 2 or 3 a day, and the previous ones showed no signs of healing. Btw, I used it how I read everyone else uses it- first wash their face and dry it then apply this for about 2-5 min then rinse off. I thought this could just be the initial purging, but after using it for nearly 2 weeks, my horrible breakouts showed no signs of getting better, only worse- and mind you most of the reviews I read, most of them one, experienced no breaking out from this, and two, 2 weeks was the length of time that it took for them to see the best results! I was so disappointed and overwhelmed, because I had such high hopes for this, but it just did not work for me AND just made my already bad skin worse. First of all, I didn't like the method of using it (drying then applying), which I thought was too much of a hassle (I mean if this product actually worked, of course I wouldn't mind one bit, but since it didn't...), and second, of course the fact that it caused these horrendous breakouts. The only things I could say that I did like about this product was that it did seem to lighten my hyperpigmentation marks and smooth out (not improve the appearance obviously!) the overall texture of my skin (as in the wrinkles on my forehead). I read that this helps with signs of aging, but I am only 20 so I don't actually have any signs of aging yet. However, although it did those things, it also did cause more big, red, under the skin pimples, so helping the old hyperpigmentation and texture of my skin (where there were no acne) was pretty pointless considering it was essentially causing new ones just the same. Also it did nothing for my pores, blackheads, whiteheads, or redness. I initially purchased this for clearing my blemishes, but I have just been going back to my trusty Benzoyl Peroxide based cleansers.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/19/2010 2:20:00 AM More reviews by clearady

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Amazing product. I read all the reviews here :)
I wanted to love it a lot, and I do.
I have combination skin, and as a young teenager, I could never quite keep it clear.
Since I've been using two organic products from Whole Foods (Suki scrub, Mychelle scrub), I've had fantastic results.
I needed a cleanser though. This fits the bill in every way.

1. Non-drying (which is very important to me) - leaves your skin so soft
2. Effective - not a trace of makeup, very clean
3. No overpowering smell

Only bummers are that you have to buy it online (or at least, i do), and the cover is rounded so it rolls off the sink sometimes haha it's a medium priced product, but quality is important when it comes to face products.

I use this every time I wear makeup (three or so times a week), and it's perfection.
I really am satisfied with this. You need to try it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/2/2010 12:52:00 PM More reviews by Klonophunk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Ugly bottle, on the expensive side, but when used as many people do (as a mask on dry skin) it is worth all the negatives. I've been using this product for three weeks, once a day and it gradually brought to the surface deep down clogs (not pimples, just trapped, hardened sebum). It does not produce instant results but in three weeks it's already faded some of my treatment resistant hyperpigmentation (freckles) that is mostly genetic. I won't be without this product, it's my one indulgence for my face. I might try the lotion next. In terms of irritation, I put it all over my face without irritation. Once in a while, carefully, I apply it to my eye area. It makes my eye area skin smoother. I also use a OTC retinol after using this.
EDIT: It's been a good 4 or 5 months since I started using this product and I'm half done with the bottle. I say it's a good deal for the money. I can't say my skin's been perfect, in fact it's breaking out pretty bad right now but overall, I would buy this product again and consider it essential until I am convinced otherwise. I really like how soft my skin is and I believe it's faded some hyperpigmentation that nothing was helping before and I'm still satisfied with how I'm aging. I turned my fiancee onto this product and he likes how soft his skin is. Also, I think this product makes pimples heal faster and heals acne scarring also. I don't recommend putting it on open pustules because it hurts but I think it makes the closed, swollen ones clear up faster. The marks from zits seem to go away faster now. Also, near my mouth I have blackheads that used to be difficult to extract. Now they are much more easy to remove. Paradoxically, I've developed a much harder time removing whiteheads from my skin. I'm not sure if it's the product or me but it's an observation. Anyone else have the same thing happen?
EDIT: I use this as a face wash when I want a nonfoaming cleanser (when I don't have much stuff on my face to wash off). I use the Lotion from this line now, every other night, which is good stuff. I prefer to use this product as intended, as a face wash, and the lotion to leave on my skin overnight for more intense therapy. My skin is really clear now: haven't had a pimple in a month and that one went away quickly and the scar faded very quickly. The weird hard to remove whitehead bumps that I mentioned earlier in this review are gone, also. I should mention that I went on Lessina (BCP) about 6 months ago. That might also explain the acne changes in my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2010 12:32:00 AM More reviews by girlsaidwhat

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Wow, wow, WOW!! This product is saving my skin. I have oily, hormonal skin with enlarged/congested pores, some post inflammatory hyperpigmentation, lots of blackheads. I started using this 2 1/2 weeks ago, and have seen an amazing and remarkable difference. I use this as a mask, as many others on here. I do it every other day, for 20 minutes at a time. My skin is lighter, more even, pores extremely diminished and cleared out, as well as tighter. Milia is on it's way out too! I was using Dr. Brandt's Vacuum Cleaner (mask) but this is much more cost effective...heck, it's just much more effective altogether! I'm hard to impress, but this cleanser has done it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2010 2:03:00 AM More reviews by ucdgrl2007

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

wow the best cleanser ever!! kid you not, this is the only thing that leaves my face pimplefree. ive used so many diff. cleanser and this is gonna to be the only one for now on!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2010 6:18:00 PM More reviews by lbgreeley

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I truly love the results I've had since I started using this product 3 weeks ago. The surface of my skin is smoother, hyperpigmentation is fading, my pores seem to have vanished, and breakouts have been very minor and healed almost overnight. I don't use this as a cleanser per se. I follow the suggestions of other MUAers who apply to clean, dry skin and leave it on for a few minutes before rinsing it off. i wash my face with Ponds cleanser before I use MD Forte III.

I had been using Peter Thomas Roth peel pads prior to using this so I dove right in and started with III. It doesn't seem harsh to me but may be too strong for glycolic acid newbies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/20/2010 12:35:00 PM More reviews by juujuu

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Ok, I am day 5 of using the cleanser III and the Lotion III. I have used glygolic acids & peels in the past so I started at level III with no peeling. I am not seeing much of a difference in my skin. I am having some breakouts on my chin which I assume is the initial purging. My skin does seem a little less oily but at this point I am a little discouraged considering the great reviews on this board. Maybe I was expecting a miracle? I will give it some more time and update in a week or so. I do like the creamy cleanser and have been leaving it on for 5-10 min. as many of you suggested. I do feel the tingling & burning for the first few seconds. I am hoping I start to see a difference.

Update: 2 months of using this stuff and it works well for oily skin and keeps the oil away but I have been getting some more breakouts and the little pimples under my skin on my forehead have not gone away. This is not good at taking makeup off you must cleanse before using this and then leave this on for about 5 minutes. It does help w/oil control & large pores. If you are expecting a miracle try something else. I have used this religously w/the lotion for over 2 months my skin tone is no better, no difference indiscoloration or scars.I have oily acne prone skin. My acne is not bad. I have occasional hormonal breakouts and a few pimples on my forehead under my skin and this has made no real difference since day 1 except for the oil control. The first month I used it my pores looked better and now it seems like the product has stopped working on my pores.
I guess for the price I thought this would be better! I am off to find a new product! BOTTOM LINE: NO REAL DIFFERENCE IN MY SKIN.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/17/2010 9:52:00 PM More reviews by MsFernandez

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I have been using this cleanser since I was in highschool (at my dermatologist's recommendation) and absolutely adore it. They sell it in their office but I find it much cheaper to buy off eBay. I never had acne as a teen, in fact my skin was perfect, I didn't start having to wear foundation to cover flaws until I was in my twenties. I feel that I owe most of that to the md forte products I grew up using (cuz I sure didn't get good skin genes, let me tell you.) I have very thin, papery, pale skin (my husband calls my coloring "translucent" instead of white lol) so any little pimple leaves a red mark regardless of how well I take care of it, and this cleanser, along with the lotion and the perfecting gel make those marks fade very very fast. About a year ago i started getting serious breakouts and thought I needed to change something in my routine (I've heard your skin can actually become resistant to glycolic acid over time, and I'd used this for about 10 yrs straight) so I tried some other products... Just about everything you can imagine actually. Turns out I have PCOS, which almost every woman in my family also has, hence the bad skin genes lol, and once I started taking meds for it (spiro) and my skin cleared, I went back to my trusty md forte. I know it will take a little time but I have a lot of trust in this line. I use OCM to remove my makeup (20% castor oil, 80% avocado oil) and remove with a clean warm washcloth, then dry my skin and apply the cleanser. I leave it on for about 5-10 mins then rinse. Oh and if you're interested, this has a ph of 3.2. I called and asked the company :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2010 4:34:00 AM More reviews by smileycirus999

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG product hands down! I've tried so many product and nothing gives me the result that I have with cleanser. Before this product my go to product is the Chanel face wash, but it did nothing for me. I continue to use it anyway because I needed a cleanser, and it didn't break me out. Then after trying smashbox primer, my face broke out like crazy( worst product ever! All those bad silicone). My Chanel face wash just does not cut it for me, and didn't help at all. After readinr all the great review on this MD Forte product I was convince that this my be my HG. After one week of using this product night and day my face has cleared up. I can really see a dramatic difference in my skin, my face has improved so much. There really is no other product like this! Great recommendation on how to use the product by many of the reviewers, which is to apply on dry skin and massage face for 1min, then leave it on and let the product do its magic for about 15-20 mins. Wash face with warm water and using a wash cloth really helps too, then pat dry. I have never used the product before and I still started with the highest level of gycolic acid, which is level lll and I have no problems with it at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No