October 23, 2014 | 923 users online

Foundations - Besame - Souffle Foundation



image 0

rated 4.2(38 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2007 12:44:00 PM More reviews by princessami

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

BEAUTIFUL product! The texture of this foundation is like butter. It melts right on your skin and for a full coverage formula, looks amazingly natural. Wears well, too! I would say it's closest competitor is KA SSE, in terms of coverage. But Besame's texture and useability blows SSE out of the water. The only drawback is the very limited shade range. I'm NC15 and the lightest shade, Bisque, was too dark and slightly too cool for me. Would better suit an NW20-25. If you can find a shade match, BUY THIS! :-p

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2007 8:16:00 PM More reviews by goldendoll

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I first found Besame when a friend told me how much she loved the red lipsticks. (and since then, I'm hooked..) I have to tell you that I feel very happy that I found this product! It's amazing coverage, and it seems to last forever! After endless foundations, and mineral makeups, and products that didn't live up to my expectations, I am in love!!! Doesn't oxidize, and it leaves my skin so very soft... I would say it has helped my skin clear up, and stay clear, as it's sort of moisturizing. I wear this in the bisque, but have a sample of the yellow cameo, and I have to say that these are to two fairest shades and there is a slight gap between these two colors ... If you are anywhere in the middle, you are out of luck... Bisque is Perfectly lovely for my coloring. Although the website states that this is a pink color, I find that it's very neutral. Not too yellow, and not too pink. If you are fair skinned, you will love this color. However, the yellow cameo is more of a medium fair tone, and super yellow/peach. As far as the product and it's quality, I LOVE it! It comes in a small jar, and it's actually only a little over 1/2 oz. Where most foundations are around 1oz.. Although this sounds small, only a touch is needed. The consistency is like that of a cream concealer. If you moisturize well and then apply, it's super easy, and covers like a dream! I use the rose lotion from Besame, and the feather light powder, and I love the look... so soft, and my skin feels very healthy and smooth. I can't say enough nice things about this company, and about this product. I really do think the $34 is a steal of a deal as this will last me forever, and I can't be happier!!! Way to go Besame!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/20/2007 4:31:00 PM More reviews by anovelplan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I first heard about the Besame Cosmetic line on a board discussing vintage style make-up products. I decided to give it a try after using mineral foundation for quite some time, but finding it too drying in the winter. The Souffle foundation is excellent. I am fair skinned and found Bisque to be a perfect match. Cameo is indeed, too yellow. This is definitely not for anyone with overly oily skin as it is very thick and creamy and the consistency doesn't change once applied. A little goes a long way. Shipping was fast and best of all, you can sample all their products before you buy them. If you sign up for their mailing list they often run BOGOF specials. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in a high coverage cream foundation with very classy packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/17/2007 9:02:00 PM More reviews by KrakMonkE9

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have tried both the Souffle foundation as well as Kevyn Aucoin's Sensual Skin Enahncer. I have to say that I like the Besame better as a foundation where the SSE works better as a concealer. I consider myself a no-fuss type of girl who doesn't want to spend time mixing something with moisturizer or primer to get it to go on smoothly. Unlike the SSE, Besame's foundation goes on smoothly without having to mix with anything. Also, their color match is much better for me. I am have tan Asian skin and I matched with the Golden Beige, which online looks like it has warm/pink tones in it, where in reality, it has far more yellow/neutral tones in it. The coverage is excellent and only a small amount is necessary to cover blemishes. This results in less overall makeup on the face leaving a nice, un-makeupy feel. The Souffle foundation also lasts quite a bit throughout the day. I touch my face a lot and even with the rubbing, the foundation will generally make to to the afternoon, which is unheard of for me. I have tried quite a few products from Besame and must say that their overall quality is sensational. Give them a try immediately.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/7/2007 9:45:00 AM More reviews by livviilee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved the sample so much that I ordered the full size jar, never mind the outrageous international postage costs ($28AUD) - although the delivery was VERY prompt. I find my colouring to be between Yellow Cameo and Medium Beige and have noticed that it oxidises to a slightly darker colour as the day progresses. It IS very thick however I'm able to spread this well using a foundation brush and my fingers. Covers the dark circles under my eyes and red spots very well, and stays on where I don't fiddle with it. I will take of a smidgen of a lippie as it has emphasised my laugh lines - although I must learn to apply it with a very light hand. However this is far superior to many concealers and foundation I have tried and well worth the extra postage cost.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/29/2007 8:33:00 PM More reviews by goddessintraining

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

Overall this is a very good product. You can use it as a concealer, wear it as a heavier cream type foundation or thin it out for a more sheer look. Pretty fabulous really.

The main issue I have is the colour...I am a cool toned ppp and the lightest colour they carry is *very* yellow...there is no way I can use it. The other issue I would have with it is the container...the product is down in this little tiny jar, it's fine to use when new and up at the top, but you will have to use a brush or a scoop to get this out as a sponge won't really dip in there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/13/2007 9:55:00 AM More reviews by productjunkie76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

FOUNDATION:
Ingredients
o Hydrogenated Polyisobutene
o Octyl Palmitate
o Petrolatum
o Isopropyl Lanolate
o Talc
o Silica
o Dimethicone
o Bees Wax
o Carnauba Wax
o Ozokerite Wax
o Candelila Wax
o Methylparaben
o Propylparaben
o Fragrance
o Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A)
o Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E)
o Ascorbic Palmitate (Vitamin C)
o May Contain (+/-)
o Titanium Dioxide (CI77891)
o Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77499, CI77492)
o Net Weight: 17.00 g (0.59 oz)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/31/2007 6:38:00 PM More reviews by Ainesey822

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I heard about this on the MUA boards, and decided to try samples in Bisque and Yellow Cameo. Yellow Cameo did not work at all on me, but Bisque is wonderful! A perfect match for my skin. I definitely agree with the previous reviewer about it being similar to KA Sensual Skin Enhancer, something that is very pigmented that you want to use sparingly. For that reason, it is great as a heavy coverage foundation, tinted moisturizer, or concealer. I really only need coverage on my cheeks that get very red, so I have being using the same sample jar for almost 2 months now. I am about to finish the sample, and have the full-size product on its way. It is a fantastic product and I would definitely repurchase and recommend to others!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/27/2007 4:54:00 PM More reviews by anniele

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am sooooo glad I found this. I didn't know anything about this line, but chattykathy mentioned it on the boards a couple of times so I read the reviews, went to the site (besamecosmetics.com - don't make my mistake of going to besame.com, which is some sort of Hispanic porn site...? hahaha). ANYWAY, I ordered samples of Golden Beige and Cocoa. Unfortunately, I could tell that Cocoa was way too dark for my NC 35-40 skin, so I haven't even touched it yet. Golden Beige actually seems a little too dark as well, so I'm going to get a sample of Honey next and see if that works out. However, even though Golden Beige is a smidge too dark, I tried it out anyway, and I have to say that I can't really bring myself to slather it on my face as a foundation - it seems sooooo thick (reminds me of Kevyn Aucoin's Sensual Skin Enhancer, actually). It's so thick that even after shipping through warm California weather, the blob of foundation stayed in the exact same shape that it came out in when it was squirted out of whatever tube it came from. So, instead of using it as a foundation, I tried it out as a concealer - and it's a totally amazing concealer. I don't find the thickness appealing in a foundation, but it's the perfect consistency to use as a concealer. I apply it with an small eyeshadow brush that I use in place of a "normal" concealer brush (works even better than both of my old concealer brushes). I apply it over my old acne scars and over my undereye circles and it ACTUALLY does double duty! No creasing under my eyes at all, AND covers up my scars perfectly. I am so happy I found this. And as an added bonus, since I'm just using a tiny bit at a time as a concealer, I bet my sample of this will last me at least two months, and maybe even more! And when I run out, I can simpy go to the website and order another sample - for only $1.50! I'm buying a quality, high end boutique concealer for ONE DOLLAR AND FIFTY CENTS, PEOPLE. *cries tears of joy* Thank you, Besame!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/18/2007 10:23:00 AM More reviews by sahyslop

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got a samples from this line and used the bisque. I am a NW15-20 and it seemed to work just fine. I would rather a foundation be a bit on the light side than too dark. It is a neutral color. I applied this to a well moisturized face and just used 4 very small dots and got very good coverage. I used PureLuxe April's Mix over it. I was really impressed with the results. It is a good foundation for adjustable coverage. Nice natural finish even without a powder over it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No