September 16, 2014 | 1487 users online

Styling Products - Aveda - Purefume Brilliant Humectant Pomade

no image

rated 4.1(64 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 11/28/2007 9:02:00 PM More reviews by Aucoinophile

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am so surprised that no one has mentioned that this stuff removes nail polish. I bought this after getting a pixie cut and I loved the way it made my hair look, feel, and smell. I thought I had found my HG hair product, but soon after I noticed my polish was gummy and soft, so I removed it and put on clear Sally Hansen Hard as Nails, and soon noticed it was gummy too, right after I touched my hair. I don't know what is in this that makes it do that, because otherwise I love it. It's so much better than American Crew, which is what I switched from. Probably won't repurchase tho...It's sad.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2007 10:58:00 PM More reviews by tchenderson

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favorite pomades, the other one being Water Wax by Redken. However, the price is somewhat high. It does last a long time since you don't need much. I have curly hair and this does a great job of making it shiny and separating out the curls so it doesn't look as frizzy. Love the scent too. I would give it five lippies if it wasn't so costly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2007 9:05:00 PM More reviews by debbism

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

The Aura brand version of this was good but the scent was offensive to my husband and eventually to me so I chucked it, broke down and purchased the Aveda pomade.

First thing I did before forking over the cash was to smell it. The scent was very light and close to being undetectable when applied. Next was the price....$18 for a 2.6 ounce tub....HOLY CRAP! A bit pricey but works so well. The packaging is very pretty with the cobalt blue tub but nothing groundbreaking.

I do like the way the tub goes "boing" when you tap it!!!

The price is the only this that would stop me from buying again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2007 1:59:00 PM More reviews by BebeLush

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Wow! Finally something perfect from Aveda. And a great new addition to my hair styling routine.

I've been "blessed" with long, curly, coarse hair, which, as you all know, can often become a frizzy mess. I put a dollop of this through my hair after running the iron through it, and it leaves the curls silky and wavy. Perfect! And well worth the high price. I'd pay $50.00 for this stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/4/2007 11:58:00 PM More reviews by ventanabluesky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This product is a lifesaver for my dry, very coarse and thick hair. It smoothes flyaways and tames frizzy hair. I used this on a summer trip to Japan and even in the extremely humid weather, my hair didn't frizz as it usually does. It's expensive, but as others have mentioned, a little goes a long way. I can get one bottle to last about 8 months. I imagine if you have fine hair this product might be too heavy or greasy, but with my type of hair, this is definitely an HG product for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/9/2006 10:47:00 AM More reviews by kittenheels911

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have finally found it--a FABULOUS product for my dry, thick, coarse hair! My brow waxer suggested this to me and I bought it, thinking I'd be disappointed. But I LOVE it! It's rather pricey but a little goes a very long way. I use this product during the day, when my hair is dry. (I use Biosilk Silk Therapy and Aveda Brilliant Universal Styling Creme when it's wet.) Just a little on the ends and it really helps. Plus it smells amazing!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/18/2006 6:32:00 PM More reviews by syeung2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

When I had long hair, this was nice to use in dry weather to prevent static flyaway. Now I have short, straight hair, so I don't reach for this anymore.

PROS - Definitely makes my hairstyle look shinier. I like to mix a little of this in my hand with styling gel/hold product to amp the shine a bit, that works nicely.


CONS - Use sparingly! - there is a very fine line between soft shiny effect and greasy icky hair.


Overall - Distinct Aveda aroma. Actually, I'm not sure I really notice a difference between this and the Anti-Humectant version on my hair, but I do prefer the clear jelly texture of the Humectant over the the lumpy white mess of the Anti-Humectant. Looks and feels like a gel, feels cleaner and not oily on my hands like the Anti-Humectant pomade. Nice sturdy packaging, though I would like to see a travel-friendly version as well. Three lippies - nice scent, good shine, good flyaway preventative, but you have to be careful with the amount; I could live without this now that I have short hair.
continued >>

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2006 1:37:00 PM More reviews by sophiegracewalker

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this product and use it by itself, as well as layered with other products, depending on how I want my curly hair to look. It is light-weight and works so well! I love that I can apply it while my hair is still wet and my hair doesn't keep that "I-just-showered-and-my-hair-is-either-still-wet-or-really-gelled" look. A tip- NEVER start with the top of your hair with this; it gets a little greasy-looking. Always start scrunching from the bottom and work up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2006 2:17:00 PM More reviews by DrinkTilliesCute

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

overpriced but it's good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/6/2006 6:24:00 PM More reviews by Redmosaic

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been a consistent user of this delightful product and it has never let me down! The texture, the scent ( the scent!!!!) , the heavy blue jar, the shine, the curl enhancement.... it is incredible. I find it works best for my dry-ish fine curly hair is to use a small dab rubbed between my hands and to scrunch it in my dried hair. I takes away every frizz and fly away and adds such gleam. You do not need a lot, it will make it greasy if you have fine hair. My friend who has thick heavy horse-mane like hair uses a huge glob and that works well for her.
After reading some of the reviews and before writing this one, I had to go use a little... and yep... it's true. I love it! Hope you do too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No