August 30, 2014 | 956 users online

Blush - NARS - Lovejoy

rated 4.4(337 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/29/2011 5:19:00 PM More reviews by shel21282

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I am nc45 for reference. This is a brown blush with red undertones. I use it to contour my cheeks and then use a brighter coral/pink blush on the apples of my cheeks. It does have fine gold shimmer/glitter but its hardly noticable. It is a beautiful color but for me it would be better as a matte blush. It is a bit expensive ($24) and you can probably find another similar color at mac for a little less. I don't care for MAC blush as much because its not as pigmented and settles into pores & lines more. I have had my LoveJoy blush now for over 2 years and still haven't hit pan. Lasts a long time and I would repurchase when its all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/4/2011 7:36:00 PM More reviews by auraborialis

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

For reference, I am MAC NC20 so very fair and yellow.

A couple weeks ago I splurged on a Guerlain lipstick in B03 (called Bridget). It is a lovely, natural rosy color on me, I need very little of this to achieve that nice "polished" professional look with some mascara. The problem was that all of my blushes are a very light pink, because I normally don't wear lipstick, usually some nude colored gloss or even just a little aquaphor. So I put on the Guerlain lipstick and went to the MAC counter to look for a match. I tried Pinch Me, Ambering Rose, and Blush Baby. They all looked super orange/muddy, and Blush Baby looked like a dirty, dusty rose and didn't compliment the lips at all. The sales girl with bright pink lips and horrible orange bronzer told me that I shouldn't ever match my lips to my cheeks. I told her that I didn't like looking like a drag queen.

So I strolled over a few makeup counters away to the Nars girl, who was much friendlier and her makeup looked slightly better. She muted out my cheeks with some of their face powder and tried Zen on my right cheek and Lovejoy on my left. Zen looks beautiful in the pan, but because I'm so yellow it makes the orange/coral aspect of this blush really pop out and that's exactly what I didn't want. I was skeptical about Lovejoy because it looks REALLY dark in the pan, and the sales girl made me look like a clown with it. But once I got home and did my entire face over again, I applied Lovejoy with a very light hand and low and behold, it matches the B03 lipstick perfectly. It gives just the right amount of pop on the apples and if you blend up, it looks really healthy. Others who have reviews this are right - you must use a very light hand or it will look muddy. I use a super cheap Sonia Kashuk brush because the bristles aren't so tightly packed together like more expensive brushes and it works really well. No streaking or fading or oxidizing with this color at all! I am upset that I had to pay 27 dollars for this and I will be looking for a cheaper dupe of it, but I gave this blush 5 lippies all around because it does exactly what you need it to, and with the small amount used each time, I doubt I will ever run out of this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2011 11:35:00 PM More reviews by BohemianMartini

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

For reference - MUFE F&B 34. This was recommended to me by an SA at Sephora this past summer. I popped in to pick up a new MUFE Duo Mat Foundation and I couldn't remember my shade - tossed the box and the sticker writing was rubbed off. The SA applied a full face and offered to put some blush on to keep me from looking washed out with only foundation on. He quickly applied Lovejoy to the apples of my cheeks and handed me a mirror. Wow! It gave me this wonderful, healthy glow. I was in a bit of a matte blush rut so this was a great change of pace. I picked up my foundation and Lovejoy. When I got home many hours later - I still had that great, healthy glow. My SO - who rarely notices my make-up - complimented me and told me I had a pretty glow on my face. I was impressed. I will note that I do have to be careful when applying this - it can be easy to over-apply. But with the right touch, it looks freaking awesome. One of my favorites!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/5/2011 1:25:00 AM More reviews by macgirlxoxo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

I love this blush. It is one of my favourite NARS blushes. It is so pigmented and it looks really pretty and natural. It looks very dark in the pan, but when I put it on it is just a perfect corally-bronzy colour. It also has lots of shimmer but again when I apply it it isn't too sparkly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2011 7:39:00 PM More reviews by LNSklnjr

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I cannot believe it took me so long to review this. I have very, very few HG products that I actually re-purchase. Since this blush is so pigmented I have not yet had to repurchase, but best believe I will be if I ever run out. Yes, it is expensive but the color payoff and quality is exceptional.

I see many warm-toned ladies raving about this and I would just like to say that I am NW 25ish and I find this very flattering with my dark eyes and hair. My trick is to apply with a skunk brush to avoid the "muddy" look that some complain about. I have actually received compliments from complete strangers while at work that comment on my "healthy glow." I mean what more could you want in a product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/24/2011 2:39:00 AM More reviews by nygrlnca

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is my HG of blushes...It looks fabulous on NC 42-NC44 skin! It looks dark in the compact by blends beautifully..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/17/2011 10:03:00 PM More reviews by sh0ewh0re

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really love this blush! I went to sephora on the look out for a new Nars blush and I was hoping to get torrid or deep throat. For some reason, when I got the MUA to try them on me, both ended up making my face look a bit orange.. I asked to try Dolce Vita which looked great but then she suggested that I try this out too. It really did not catch my eye but I am so glad she tried it out on me! The colour makes my cheeks look nice and rosy in a natural way with a slight glitter. Its fantastic! would definitely buy again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/4/2011 1:03:00 AM More reviews by DiniBlini

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This blush is great. The color is this lovely dusty rose brown, and if you're tanned or olive it should look great. There is glitter on it but it doesn't overly emphasize pores or anything. I apply it with a MAC116, and I generally have to do so with a light hand because otherwise it can be super streaky. It's not a low maintenance blush but its very pretty and lives up to its Nars name.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/29/2011 1:01:00 AM More reviews by lehzheng

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

my gosh! It's like a glitter bomb in a blush packaguing. It's purple in the pan, but it doesnt look purple in your skin. It just looks sheer white. Not for me, but it is pretty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 6:19:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

this stuff was horrible left my skin blotchy after a few hours of wear. maybe it is because i have oily skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No