Annick Goutal Eau De Charlotte

3.9

105 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/25/2008 5:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I wasn't crazy about Eau de Charlotte at first, but I have developed a deep, quiet fondness for it lately. What I love about it is that, to me, it smells different than any other perfume I have -- it is in no way generic or common. It goes on with a very tart note of blackberry currant (an homage to Goutal's daughter Charlotte, for whom she created the fragrance), which is at the same time slightly syrupy, but only for a flash. As it dries down it becomes very soft, with a barely detectable note of chocolate and light florals. I like this very much and consider it neither gourmand, fruity, or floral, but its own hybrid creation. It is not heavy and I think it's suitable for any season (except possibly the very hottest days of summer). This is a comfort scent for me, but it is very elegant as well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 2/19/2008 10:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this. It's sweet, but not terribly so. Very light and the combination of notes is simply lovely. This can be worn year round, though I tend to wear it in the spring & summer. It's a unique scent, too, so you won't be smelling like everyone else while wearing this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2007 1:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the berry and cocoa notes. It does remind me of a getting inside after a chilly day, but the sweetness makes me think of summer nights with cherry ice cream and first love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2007 5:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of the EdT and could'n't stop sniffing my wrist. It starts of pretty "herby", camomille, hay, fennel or something. But after about 10min it settles to something oh so very beautiful. I smell vanilla, red fruits and chocolate. I bought the EdP, which is just the same just stronger. I receive so many compliments...crazy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2007 10:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm not an expert on perfume notes, but even I can detect the chocolate in this one. I believe the SA said something about vanilla, but I can't smell it. And I hope I don't, because my husband has vetoed every perfume I've tried with detectable vanilla.

This seems to me more like a cold-weather fragrance; couldn't say why. As I said in my review of Eau d'Hadrien, I might order the EDPs because the staying power of the EDT just isn't great. And I'm fine with that in the summertime, actually. In warm weather, I'd rather have to re-apply than risk overdoing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I did kind of like this but I am beginning to think i am really only a fresh/citrus fragrance type of person (with only the odd foray into florals!), it was just a bit too powdery and sweet for me to want to wear all the time. It did have great staying power and after about 8 hours i really loved the way it smelt on me, but not enough to buy again or to put up with the first hour where i found it a little overpowering!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2007 7:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've sampled this many times over the past year and I have yet to understand it. I'm not quite sure where the berry notes are hiding but perhaps some day that too will dawn on me. My initial thoughts on Eau De Charlotte were not favourable at all - I really didn't like it one bit in fact. But, then again, I suppose I was just expecting to smell real berries (even a hint would be something and fine with me), and cocoa too, but I got none of those notes. What I did get however and still smell here is a fine, dry hey note, and now lately I get a touch of powdery cocoa --- ahhh this is drying into something remarkably beautiful, to me, but those notes just don't make any sense. The longer I wear it, the more I love it... FBW? Not sure just yet! But when I find out, I'll update this reaview.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am not very trained in describing fragrance notes, but I instinctively fell in love with eau de charlotte. I find it very unique. It's very very pretty but not boring (maybe because of cocoa?). For me, it's not too foody, and not too sweet. Perfect for chilly spring days. I purchased the EDT but after reading reviews here, I'm regretting that I didn't get EDP (my perfumery had both). The staying power of EDT is not great at all (almost no sillage, thus -1 lippie) & I'm going through the bottle really fast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2007 10:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a hard time distinguishing the notes, but it's definitely powdery on me vs. gourmand/foody! The lasting power of the edp is WONDERFUL!


on 3/19/2007 9:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Received a sample of this from an e-tailer, and am glad I tried it. I agree with all the other reviewers re the "biscuits and jam" notes. I normally don't like foody scents at all, but this isn't cloying or artificial smelling. Not an everyday fragrance for me, but I could seem myself reaching for this on my way out to a brunch or Saturday morning breakfast at home. Light and lovely...just like the name.


Popular Fragrances


Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews
Si
Si
48 Reviews


Back to Top