October 31, 2014 | 1577 users online

Powder - Bare Escentuals - Bare Minerals ALL

rated 2.9(3023 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 43% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 7/6/2014 2:43:00 PM More reviews by Lexxx458

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product simply because I thought during the summer I would definitely wear a light mineral foundation opposed to my heavier Estée Lauder double wear foundation. However, this foundation is horrible. I applied it with a buffing brush and noticed my skin looked luminous and glowing at first but after and hour I looked super cakey. And at that point I didn't even look oily, I looked straight up greasy.. The only reason I gave this two lippies is because I put on my regular foundation and applied the lightest amount over it for more of a glow. I didn't apply it to set my foundation, I used it as a highlight almost. Over all, I would never buy this again. It cakes up and makes me super oily after a short amount of time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/4/2014 6:25:00 AM More reviews by sandylost

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used the matte version for my oily skin and it looked good and I only needed to apply a little so I wasn't wearing to much makeup. The problem I had with it is that it looked dry in my skin when the weather was hot my face felt itchy and stung a little. You defiantly need a moisturizer underneath or it can dry your skin out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/3/2014 5:08:00 PM More reviews by NatachaXoxo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Years ago I used to use bare minerals and absolutely loved it. I found that it had more coverage than Sheer Cover and it never made me look cakey as long as I didn't go overboard with the application. I'm not sure if they changed they formulation on it because I can no longer wear it. I'm a tanned olive complexion and I cannot seem to get or mix any shades that are in my range without it either looking orangey or too pink. It's unfortunate because I did love the foundation. If you can match your skin to a shade then I recommend you try it. It covers well for mineral makeup and it lets your skin breath so much better then a liquid foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/27/2014 5:51:00 PM More reviews by foxkid

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Review for the Bare minerals original foundation powder. I never thought much about it until my mum bought this and I got to (sneakily) try it out. It applies like a dream if you buff it in with a kabuki brush. I use a Bodyshop kabuki, not sure if it's the synthetic or natural hair one they discontinued as it was bought a couple of years ago. I don't have much fine lines yet, but my mum does and it looks good on her. She usually wears it with either a bb cream of a little bit of foundation. She recently bought another container of this so I'm assuming she likes this product too, I'm thinking about purchasing one for myself!

I make sure my face is moisturised before applying this because it can stick to rough patches and not look so great. It also depends on the formula of your moisturiser as I've noticed that with some moisturisers can make the powder look quite patchy on the skin/ball up! If you own this powder and have a problem with that change your moisturiser and see if it makes a difference.

You don't need a lot of product as a little bit goes a long way and if you do use a lot make sure to blend it in with a suitable brush.

I wear this without foundation and it gives me just the right amount of coverage to conceal most of the redness if i go a bit red during the day, and also gives a glow! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/24/2014 2:03:00 AM More reviews by makeupenthusiast1994

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've used this product on and off again for a couple of years, and during the times I used it I always seemed to have frequent breakouts + these zits on my forehead that were tiny bumps under my skin that ever went away....ANYWAYS
I recently decided to switch from my Tarte back to bare minerals, and after having MINIMAL to NO breakouts on Tartes foundation, a week after using bare minerals, lo and behold I start breaking out with those tiny flesh colored bumps on my forehead all over again.
G-R-E-A-T.
This DEFINITELY caused my breakouts, and honestly im pretty sure they caused my past breakouts as well. Its a shame bc this actually made my skin look pretty flawless!
If you have sensitive skin, honestly I would sample this before committing-and if you do, you HAVE HAVE HAVE to wash the brushes almost every other day-at the least 2 times a week.
All in all, I would not recommend this. Go check out Tarte.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/11/2014 10:11:00 AM More reviews by newslang

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I tried this after receiving it as a gift.
Yuck.

It smells sort of strange, almost like chalky vitamins or something. It also applies kind of like chalky vitamins. It looks cakey, waxy, and magnified the look of my pores.
After wearing it for about 3 hours, my face looked like an oil covered orange.

Honestly, this was one of the worst foundations I've ever tried. The packaging was difficult to use, the application was difficult (hard to blend evenly), it smelled bad, and it didn't wear well.

Just no.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/11/2014 3:34:00 AM More reviews by mellouise

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Had to review this when I saw I could be number 3000! Anyway. I love this stuff. This and the matte version have helped clear my skin. It provides more coverage than the matte, and gives a healthy, glowy effect. I like that you get a third more than the matte for the same price. The ingredients are as natural as they come, but I have to admit the bismuth makes me itchy in hot weather. You must use a primer underneath or it won't be any good. I don't find it necessary to blend much on my face. I follow with the max coverage concealer brush dipped in the fdn to give extra coverage around eyes/nose/blemishes. I then follow with MAC concealers and put mv on top. As soon as I started using these fdns I started getting ID'd which is ridiculous, but that's what it does for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/1/2014 3:11:00 AM More reviews by NiccosMommy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HATE THIS STUFF!!! First of all, I have NO IDEA why people who wear this stuff think that they look flawless! This stuff makes your face look NASTY and like it's covered in foundation! I got a few samples of this at Sephora when I used to work there, applied it, and took it right off. A really good friend of mine jumps on the bandwagon for new products, and she used this stuff all the time. She always looked "caked" up and like she had on a ton of makeup! But she swore she looked great, all because of what it promises to do! Well after a while, she ended up w/a bacterial infection on her face and it was because of this stuff and the brush that came with it! LOL Not to laugh, but I told her it looked like crap and she didn't listen...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/22/2014 1:25:00 AM More reviews by abbyyys18

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I was very excited to try out this product, but then when I got it then applied it the right way (trust me I've watched tons of videos on how to apply it), I HATED IT -_- At first, I thought I was going to love this, but I tried several times, it just didn't work for my oily skin. I don't know why lots of people love this product, I mean come on. After buffering it onto my skin for about 5 minutes, nothing showed up!!!! It looks so natural that it looks like nothing happened to my skin. Hate their brushes, especially the concealer brush. It doesn't work! It doesn't go on smoothly to my skin and it deposits NO PRODUCT at all. This is not a go-to product, like you only have 5 minutes, I suggest not using this one. Doesn't show up, really. And my hatest thing about this is it itches my face like crazy!!!! I'm not even exaggerating at all. It didn't give me any coverage, but when I removed it with my facial wipes, it is like I put tons of makeup to my face. Not good. Never going to purchase anything from BareMinerals again. Sorry

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/21/2014 5:54:00 AM More reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Green

As a teen I never struggled with bad acne or uneven skintone, but I had(and still have)problems when it comes to my pores. They are huge and clog easily. Then I discovered Bare Minerals and their mineral foundation. I used it for years and years, and it made my skin look flawless and I NEVER had any blemishes. But somewhere along the way I stopped using it and tried out other foundations. Then I decided I was going to use Bare Minerals again, because it was better than anything else I've tried. Nope, it broke me out like crazy and made me look oily throughout the day. It seems like my skin reacts badly to any mineral products these days, so I've decided to stay away from them for the better of my skin. But I'm generally more prone to breaking out now then I was as a young teen.

I give Bare Minerals Foundation three lippies because it's a blast from the past, back then I would have given it five.

Is this review helpful? Yes No