December 19, 2014 | 1809 users online

Makeup Brushes - Sigma - E25 Blending (was SS217)



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.3(37 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2012 10:52:00 PM More reviews by Victoiresecret

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

i love this brush! i was going to purchase the mac 217 but at the last minute decided on this instead. i'm so happy i did. This works amazing for blending! the best brush i've tried for blending definatly! i have to say, i purchased the full sized from sigma but was send a free mini e25 as a gift for buying more than $30 of brushes. The mini travel one is NOT the same. It looks the same but it's not as soft (kind of prickly actually) and doesn't blend as well. So if you do want this, purchase the full sized instead of expecting thhe mini sized to be the same quality.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/22/2011 7:26:00 PM More reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love how Sigma gives these brushes as freebies when you make a purchase with them.
Are these brushes to die for? No, but I find they do a fine job at packing and blending my simply eyeshadow looks.
If I'm ever just applying 1 single eyeshadow on my eyes and blending it out, this brush does the job effortlessly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2011 11:29:00 PM More reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I hate to rain on these other reviews but I didn't like it.. just don't find this brush that sturdy after 2 uses the bristles on the outside were already starting to bend though this doesn't affect usage.I just find that this just doesn't blend as well as my 1 $ e.l.f. brush.I just feel that dome brushes blend better for me
It is really soft just as promised so that good
WARNING
The packaging I must say is really bad! It has a small thin sheath whose lid folds over the brush and back into there packaging but nothing to keep it closed. This allows the brush to come out and bounce around in the envelope .It was in such bad shape when it arrived that it had to be returned to get another one.So if you are getting individual brushes just be aware that this can happen..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2011 3:07:00 AM More reviews by channingto

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Black

I love this brush! It's the perfect blend of fluffy and density. Dense enough to pack on a good amount of color and fluffy enough to blend out shadows. I use this always for my crease and it's great for that. I'm not good at blending so this makes my life so much easier. I don't know how it is compared to the MAC blending brush but I don't care because as a standalone product it is a great brush (for me). Sigma brushes are not meant to be exact dupes, similar, but wiht their own spin on it, probably in their opinion for the better. It works for me and I'd probably like the MAC one too but I don't see how them being similar is relevant to the rating/review of this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/17/2011 7:59:00 PM More reviews by bernb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

The E25 is the Sigma equivalent of the MAC 217.
I have both, and I love both.
The E25 is about as close to identical to the MAC 217 as you will probably find. The bristles are almost the same width and length extending out of the ferrule.
There are some differences, albeit minor.
For starters, the E25 is slightly less dense. You can’t tell just by looking at it – you have to bend the hairs to feel the difference in density.
It doesn’t have the perfectly cut and slightly domed end that the MAC 217 has either. It has a very similar shape, but is a little more squared off. It also fluffs out a little more around the edges as well – it doesn’t sit as tightly and neatly packed as the MAC 217.
Regardless of the differences, I find them almost equal in performance.
The only time I pick up my MAC 217 in absolute preference of my E25 is when I need to be very precise with my blending.
Other than that, the E25 does a fantastic job at blending and applying both powder and cream products.
I highly recommend this brush for anyone seeking a dupe or alternative to the MAC 217.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2011 1:49:00 PM More reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

I wish there was a "maybe" button for would I buy this again... Because that's my answer for this. I MAY repurchase this. Not sure. I do like the brush. I find that it blends well without picking up too much color, like other blending blushes I've used. I do wish it was a little more precise, but maybe that's not the brush's purpose... I don't know.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/10/2011 12:39:00 PM More reviews by rshim09

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

At first this brush was great. I loved to use it to blend and I used a brush guard to make sure it stays great. After using it for about few months it started to lose it's shape. I tried drying it without the brush guard and then with it and tried to shape it again to it's round shape but nothing worked. Now, it's not as round as it once was and the brush is getting too prickly for me to use around my eye area. I prefer my ELF blending brush over this and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Prior to getting this brush as a bonus gift, I've raved and been obsessed with the MAC 217. When I unwrapped this little baby I noticed the striking resemblance between these two brushes. I didn't notice the paint smell as a previous reviewer mentioned or scratchy bristles. Mine was soft and a little bit more widely spread out dome shape. This brush is very similar to the 217, but not it exactly. I would purchase this brush if the MAC 217 was not available to me. It is a good brush and worth your money, I just prefer the 217 because of its dome shape. Happy shopping!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/19/2011 2:26:00 PM More reviews by GinSengTea

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Just wanted to add my two cents about this brush, especially since there's all the raving about this brand of brushes on YouTube. The only full size Mac brush I own is the 217. I also own a Mac holiday set. The rest of my brushes are from Sonia Kashuk, the regular line with white handle and the ergo line with curvy black handle; some Essence Of Beauty brushes and Real Technique brushes.
I was so excited when I received this brush since it's suppose to be a 217 dupe. The first thing I did was wash it along with my other dirty brushes including the Mac 217. While washing, I notice that the Mac 217 seems more densely packed. It seems like the Sigma one was cut similar and shape like the Mac one. When I use the Sigma brush to blend in my crease color, I discover that it's very scratchy, and it took longer to blend. I was shocked how scratchy it was, even my drugstore brands like Sonia Kashuk and EOB brushes are not scratchy.
In short, if you are looking for a Mac 217 dupe, this is not it. If you are looking for a crease brush at a reasonable cost, I would suggest the Sonia Kashuk crease brush or EOB crease duo or ELF blending brush. This was a waste of $9 plus shipping.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2011 5:01:00 PM More reviews by summrgirl720

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This and the E35 have been my first Sigma brush purchases. I bought the E25 to use it as a dupe for my MAC 217 - and it is! I LOVE it! I was able to use this one brush for 4 shadows today - all over wash of Brule, All that Glitters on my lid, Patina as a transitional color and Espresso in the outer corner - all with the E25! So awesome. Yes, I washed it first and a few stray hairs fell out, but I had no problem with it during use today. Also, they do smell of paint a little... but it's not so overwhelming - just new out of the factory, I'm sure. I hope it fades - but if it doesn't... i don't usually try to get high off my brushes by sniffing them, so this isn't a problem for me lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No