April 19, 2014 | 1661 users online

Makeup Brushes - Sigma - E25 Blending (was SS217)



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(33 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/17/2011 7:59:00 PM More reviews by bernb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

The E25 is the Sigma equivalent of the MAC 217.
I have both, and I love both.
The E25 is about as close to identical to the MAC 217 as you will probably find. The bristles are almost the same width and length extending out of the ferrule.
There are some differences, albeit minor.
For starters, the E25 is slightly less dense. You can’t tell just by looking at it – you have to bend the hairs to feel the difference in density.
It doesn’t have the perfectly cut and slightly domed end that the MAC 217 has either. It has a very similar shape, but is a little more squared off. It also fluffs out a little more around the edges as well – it doesn’t sit as tightly and neatly packed as the MAC 217.
Regardless of the differences, I find them almost equal in performance.
The only time I pick up my MAC 217 in absolute preference of my E25 is when I need to be very precise with my blending.
Other than that, the E25 does a fantastic job at blending and applying both powder and cream products.
I highly recommend this brush for anyone seeking a dupe or alternative to the MAC 217.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2011 1:49:00 PM More reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

I wish there was a "maybe" button for would I buy this again... Because that's my answer for this. I MAY repurchase this. Not sure. I do like the brush. I find that it blends well without picking up too much color, like other blending blushes I've used. I do wish it was a little more precise, but maybe that's not the brush's purpose... I don't know.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/10/2011 12:39:00 PM More reviews by rshim09

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

At first this brush was great. I loved to use it to blend and I used a brush guard to make sure it stays great. After using it for about few months it started to lose it's shape. I tried drying it without the brush guard and then with it and tried to shape it again to it's round shape but nothing worked. Now, it's not as round as it once was and the brush is getting too prickly for me to use around my eye area. I prefer my ELF blending brush over this and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Prior to getting this brush as a bonus gift, I've raved and been obsessed with the MAC 217. When I unwrapped this little baby I noticed the striking resemblance between these two brushes. I didn't notice the paint smell as a previous reviewer mentioned or scratchy bristles. Mine was soft and a little bit more widely spread out dome shape. This brush is very similar to the 217, but not it exactly. I would purchase this brush if the MAC 217 was not available to me. It is a good brush and worth your money, I just prefer the 217 because of its dome shape. Happy shopping!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/19/2011 2:26:00 PM More reviews by GinSengTea

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Just wanted to add my two cents about this brush, especially since there's all the raving about this brand of brushes on YouTube. The only full size Mac brush I own is the 217. I also own a Mac holiday set. The rest of my brushes are from Sonia Kashuk, the regular line with white handle and the ergo line with curvy black handle; some Essence Of Beauty brushes and Real Technique brushes.
I was so excited when I received this brush since it's suppose to be a 217 dupe. The first thing I did was wash it along with my other dirty brushes including the Mac 217. While washing, I notice that the Mac 217 seems more densely packed. It seems like the Sigma one was cut similar and shape like the Mac one. When I use the Sigma brush to blend in my crease color, I discover that it's very scratchy, and it took longer to blend. I was shocked how scratchy it was, even my drugstore brands like Sonia Kashuk and EOB brushes are not scratchy.
In short, if you are looking for a Mac 217 dupe, this is not it. If you are looking for a crease brush at a reasonable cost, I would suggest the Sonia Kashuk crease brush or EOB crease duo or ELF blending brush. This was a waste of $9 plus shipping.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2011 5:01:00 PM More reviews by summrgirl720

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This and the E35 have been my first Sigma brush purchases. I bought the E25 to use it as a dupe for my MAC 217 - and it is! I LOVE it! I was able to use this one brush for 4 shadows today - all over wash of Brule, All that Glitters on my lid, Patina as a transitional color and Espresso in the outer corner - all with the E25! So awesome. Yes, I washed it first and a few stray hairs fell out, but I had no problem with it during use today. Also, they do smell of paint a little... but it's not so overwhelming - just new out of the factory, I'm sure. I hope it fades - but if it doesn't... i don't usually try to get high off my brushes by sniffing them, so this isn't a problem for me lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2011 12:57:00 AM More reviews by sanchita777

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this brush so much that I bought a couple. I bought the small travel size one a while ago. I also have the MAC 217 and I would say that they are very close in comparison. They both get the job done. I like the Sigma 217 a lot because it cost me less than $10 and it is wonderful. It is slightly less dense but i dont think it makes too much of a difference.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2011 11:06:00 AM More reviews by restes11

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have both the Sigma SS217 and the MAC 217. I will say that there is a difference between the brushes hence only giving it 4 lippies. The brush head on the Sigma is a bit more bushy and therefore doesn't give as precise as an application as the MAC 217 brush. Really though, with the price difference, I would buy more SS217 brushes and I'd only get another MAC 217 if it were a gift. This is the one eye shadow brush I feel like I can't have too many of.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2010 5:05:00 AM More reviews by uzbekchick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I agree with all positive reviews. This brush is soft and dense enough for blending, really nice quality. It maintains its shape and does the job! 100% recommended!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/26/2010 3:47:00 PM More reviews by millenababy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

My absolute favourite brush! So soft, perfect density, blends colours like no other! Does not shed at all. I use it every single day!

Is this review helpful? Yes No