October 2, 2014 | 1865 users online

Makeup Brushes - Sigma - F80 Flat Top Synthetic Kabuki (was SS197)

rated 4.6(343 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 88% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/19/2014 10:01:00 PM More reviews by nicoleisabel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like, used to love, this brush. It makes applying liquid foundation very easy, whether you use it in a buffing motion or in a stippling motion. It's a pretty good price considering how beautifully it applies foundation.

However, this brush is evil when it comes to washing it. I wash it probably once every two weeks, depending on how much I've used it. The F80 takes FOREVER to dry (up to two days for it to be completely dry). And, after months of using, washing, and drying this brush, it started to shed today while I was washing it.

Bottom line: I like this brush but I hate washing/drying it. I would repurchase this brush, and actually plan to because it started shedding. Hopefully, it's just a bad brush and that the next one won't shed as much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2014 10:53:00 AM More reviews by Tabatta

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got this brush recently and since then I've been using it every morning to apply my foundation. First it's super soft, and it really applies the product seamlessly. I use it to buff the product into my skin, then I do some circular motions to make sure that everything is well blended, and it just gives the perfect finish. It's made of synthetic bristles so it doesn't hold your product.
The only thing is it's so dense that it takes quite a long time to dry, but if you use a brush guard or the dry'n'shape by Sigma, it's ok.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2014 3:42:00 AM More reviews by carlablack

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Don't get fooled by the reviews here, cause THIS BRUSH IS JUST AS GOOD FOR LOOSE POWDER FOUNDATION :))

I don't understand why people only talk about applying liquid & cream foundation with this brush when it works amazingly awesome buffing mineral powder into the skin. It gave such an amazing finish to the skin, my mineral foundation works x100000 better now :) I actually bought it for this purpose only cause i don't use liquid on a daily basis. And I'm glad i did, even on my nose (my most problematic area) it looks like second skin. No matter how much product you apply it never looked chalky.

Its size is also perfect for small faces like mine, it might not be usable for bigger faces though, would take longer time. The brush is actually smaller than i imagined.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/7/2014 1:41:00 PM More reviews by maye8384

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Say hello to my holy grail foundation brush! Nothing will ever compare to Sigma's Synthetic Kabuki brushes for me. Prior to purchasing this brush I was using a MAC 187 with my liquid foundation, which worked quite well, but the 187 is nothing compared to this. I love this brush so much! It is so soft, it feels like a dream on my face. The Sigmax bristles are really nice because they feel as soft as real hair, but don't absorb foundation into the brush itself. To apply my foundation, I pick up some on the brush, pat it on to my face, then swirl in circular motions to buff and blend. My foundation looks flawless every single time. Never streaky or patchy, Sigma brushes really live up to their reputation. The price is great, and my brush has never shed even one hair. The only minor thing I could complain about is that the brush is packed so dense (that's what helps to give the airbrushed finish) it can be hard to clean at times. I use solid Blendercleanser and the Sigma Spa Glove to clean it, but it takes a bit of extra work compared to my other brushes. I will definitely repurchase this brush if it ever wears out, and I would reccomend it to anyone who uses liquid foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2014 1:43:00 PM More reviews by SkyAlternative

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

A miracle brush. The only brush that makes my Kat Von D Lockit Foundation look flawless on my dry skin. Don't be fooled by any similar ones you see with the same design on amazon/ebay. Trust me I learned my lesson- get the real thing!! A bit pricey but worth it IMO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2014 10:47:00 AM More reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Meh. Provides a very nice finish, and is top quality, but I really disliked the flat top. It felt unnatural trying to apply with the flat top. I tried the Sigma F82 rounded top foundation brush, and I like that one much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/25/2014 6:28:00 AM More reviews by Mhrn10

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

MY HG FOUNDATION!!! Oh my god I cant express you with words how this brush saves me from a very bad foundation product that cant gives you even light coverage. It gives me an airbrush look, and THERE'S NOT A SINGLE FINE LINES on my skin! Usually I use my beauty blender to apply foundation but it takes foreverrrrr. Since i use F80, i never experience any coverage problems. This is just the best best best product for my liquid and even my powder foundation. I have never use MAC's foundation brushes so I can't say how this brush can be a suitable dupe for MAC's, I dont know why people wants to buy MAC when they can get cheaper product with the same quality. Been using this product for 2 years, and i never ever saw any of my bristle fell out. Yeah it tooks forever to dry, but i think it's worth the wait

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/22/2014 8:24:00 PM More reviews by lollycat99

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brush is AMAZING!!! At first I didn't think much of it but so many ppl raved about it and I just went ahead and bought it. I'm so glad I did!!! I read a review not too long ago that said that the elf powder brush was a dupe for the sigma f80, and tbh I don't like the elf powder brush that much cuz it's too big for blending around my nose and it left streaks if I buffed it. So that's why I was hesitant to buy the sigma one! But NOOO the sigma one is WAY better it's smaller and denser and much easier to blend around the crevices of your face with. It gives a nice airbrushed finish and the bristles are so soft!!! Love it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/19/2014 3:29:00 PM More reviews by sm92soel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I heard this is a great brush for applying liquid foundation but when I tried it it only worked ok. It blends the foundation pretty evenly and can provide quite full coverage if you stipple it. Itīs a really dense brush, almost too dense. I feel it might do a better job if it had just a little more give to it. Then it could really buff the foundation into your skin in stead of just placing it on top. Personally I prefer the sigma f84 angled top kabuki for liquid foundation, but I still get some fair use out of this one. I use it to blend out my blush and bronzer and for that purpuse the density of it really comes in handy. So I guess it worked out after all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/17/2014 8:24:00 AM More reviews by Heyheytaytay

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

IF YOU WEAR FOUNDATION I RECOMMEND YOU APPLY WITH THIS TOOL. It really does flip your base world upside down. It blends and melts the foundation seamlessly into the skin and eliminates harsh lines your foundation can cause. This brush is beautifully dense and will smooth your foundation out like butter. Worth every penny. I find that I use less product because the coverage you get is generous

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No