August 28, 2014 | 1519 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Color Tattoo - Bad to the Bronze / On and On Bronze

rated 4.5(353 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2012 3:51:00 PM More reviews by Delilahcakes

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Waited ages for this to come out in the UK, and I'm not disappointed. This applies and wears beautifully, in a neutral but shimmery bronze. The wear is amazing, with or without primer, and it blends well with fingertips.
The packaging is a nice, chunky glass, looks more expensive than it is.
I layer this with powder shadows, inner corner and a crease, and have had several compliments on it since I started wearing it. It lasts and lasts, and holds shadows like glue. Just wish it wasn't sold out in nearly every colour, and I'd like to find the white somewhere. Wicked product that I'll repurchase in several colours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2012 5:06:00 AM More reviews by xoMissJessLee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Amazing product, stays on the whole day and doesn't make eyeshadow crease if you use it as a base..can also be worn alone. Better than the MAC paint pots I think..much more creamier and only a fraction of the price. Don't think i will ever purchase another paint pot again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/21/2012 9:34:00 PM More reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This has to be one of the best drugstore products of all time. I deposit the shadow on the back of my hand and apply it with a brush to my lids. I apply a sheer layer on the inner corner, and then a thicker layer on the lid, and a second layer on the outer corner and crease. This gives me the look of wearing more than one color, sort of, and shades my eyes nicely without having to apply other shades. It's very quick and easy. This formula does not budge on me at all, even though I have allergies and I've been moisturizing my face with Aquafor lately. I have slept for short periods in this eyeshadow, and upon waking it still looked freshly applied. As for the color, I would not call it bronze. For reference, on me this looks exactly like CoverGirl Tapestry Taupe and WnW Nutty. The shimmer is not over the top, and it builds easily and does not cake. I can't find any cons with this product. I just purchased another shade in this line, and I can't wait to try it out. I definitely recommend this. ($6.99 at drugstores.)

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2012 7:41:00 AM More reviews by bubblegumpoo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Don't let this name fool you, the color of this is more of a cool-toned taupey bronze than a true bronze. I'm NC20, and this color gives an almost nude shimmery look to my eyes that I absolutely adore. This has definitely become a part of my daily routine, and it's so easy to just slap on and go. No creasing, not too drying, not flakey, and just perfect! I've never purchased cream shadows since my Bobbi Brown fiasco, but these are fabulous.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2012 7:20:00 AM More reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Great and versatile colour to use as a base for other shadows or on its own for a quick and really pretty look. Fortunately for me, at least, this isn't as "bronzey" as the name would suggest - it's more of a glittery taupe. And, fortunately again, the glitter isn't large or chunky so it imparts more of a sheen than it does outright glitter. These shadows were on sale when I got mine, so the already reasonable price was even less, which is always nice.

I tried the flatter side of the 2-sided Naked 2 Good Karma brush to apply this but I honestly think it goes on better just with a finger. The packaging is not unlike MAC Paint Pots or Benefit's cream shadows, though I do wish they'd printed the colour names on the BOTTOM, rather than just on the lid because if you're using 2 shades, it can be easy to get the lids mixed up! Oh, and I have to add that the lasting power on these is excellent - no creasing and no fading all day (since I don't sleep in makeup, I can't really say if they last the full 24 hours) and I plan to put this shadow (or Tough as Taupe, which I also have) to the ultimate test by wearing it when I work out at the gym, which happens to be really warm right now as the a/c for the facility hasn't been turned on yet! An absolutely first rate product at a reasonable price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2012 8:25:00 PM More reviews by browneyessmiles

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've never been a big fan of cream shadows precisely because I hate creasing but I'm surprised at the quality of this product! The color of this perfect, metallic gorgeousness. I wear it as a base and it doesn't crease. it could totally be worn alone as a complete (and glam) eye look. I've also worn this with my UD naked palette. I've added side car on top of this for a super sparkly look. I've also worn this with UD half-baked for a bronzed gold look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2012 12:00:00 PM More reviews by arielmoore

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Gorgeous color! Very subtle shimmer, buildable color. I have hazel eyes, but believe this shade would look good on anyone. It's a beautiful true bronze color, hard to find. I hope Maybelline never discontinues this product! I normally use Estee Lauder Double Wear eyeshadow, which is very similar -- long lasting cream shadow in a pot -- but Maybelline Color Tattoo is one third of the price. I still love Estee Lauder's Double Wear and highly recommend those, but this product is fabulous and I like the color offerings even better. I also have the Taupe and Gold colors in color tattoo -- both of those are very good (the taupe is a wonderful neutral matte, the gold is a nice metallic with subtle shimmer), but Bad to the Bronze is my favorite color. This shadow is a cream that goes on smooth and creamy, and lasts all day. I don't use a primer, I use a concealing foundation (Illuminaire) mixed with moisturizer on my eyelids, top with a super light dusting of powder, then I apply the eyeshadow. I'm sure this eyeshadow would also work with a primer or maybe even all alone. Try this wonderful product, you will not be disappointed!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2012 10:43:00 PM More reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Edit: after several months it has completely dried up. Used mac fix+ and it's very dry impossible to apply. I had kept it tightly closed. Not worth any price. edit: when i use this as an all over wash for lazy days, h makes remarks like "i like your eye makeup." "your eyes look cool" etc lol.
/
Very good- texture is better than the other CT's- colour is taupey bronze, very pretty. Like it with red lips.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2012 6:40:00 PM More reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Bad to the Bronze is the color I thought - and hoped - Tough as Taupe would be. One me, it looks totally different on my lid than in the pot. In the pot it looks like a golden light bronze. On my lids this becomes a lot more neutral shade. It turns into a lovely neutral, shimmery, genuine taupe. At first, I thought it looked too shimmery, but with time it settles to a more satiny finish. It spreads much better than TaT (shimmer always does; I don't now why) and looks softer. Staying power is excellent. I use it with eyeliner alone, or with a slightly darker shade in the crease, if I want a more dramatic look. All in all, I like this very much. Better than TaT. A very elegant color.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/12/2012 3:36:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Bad to the Bronze is a necessity for anyone who loves neutrals or bronze colors. Its a beautiful toned down bronze color with a nice satin finish. The pigmentation is superb, similiar to the rest of the Color Tattoo line. This is one of my top picks of the collection because I would use this more than one of the brighter shades. A must have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No