Yogurt Mask

4.5

333 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Yoghurt (especially Turkish, Balkan, Greek )


on 12/30/2008 11:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fabulous. Get the full fat kind and it will cling to the face. I've left it on between 20 minutes and one hour. Skin feels cool and calmed and velvety. Calms perioral dermatitis like nothing else. I've even used it on my scalp for pesky flaking, and it's easier and neater to use than it may sound. A definite keeper.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.



on 12/28/2008 7:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thanks, again, MakeupAlley! If it weren't for yall, I would never have slathered yogurt, honey, aspirin, or especially Monistat on my face! The yogurt mask is fantastic! I bought the 2% Greek yogurt and it's so creamy and thick; it doesn't drip at all! After I wash it off, my face is bright and my pores are minimized! This is a new staple for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2008 12:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I always have plain organic yogurt in my fridge and kept seeing reviews for the yogurt mask. I've been using yogurt as a mask for about 2 months now. What a great find! I have an oily t-zone and sensitive cheeks. After cleansing and toning I slather on some yogurt. Be careful not to apply too much or it drips off your face! I leave it on for 5 to 20 minutes depending on how much time I have. I usually prefer to mask at night, but this is a great pick me up in the morning if I need a little pick me up. The lactic acid helps to gently break down dead skin and the yogurt itself helps to soothe any sensitive or blemished areas. You can add other ingredients easily too. I tried adding Manuka honey but find I get better results with either just straight yogurt or just straight honey. When I wash off the yogurt (I use a washcloth and warm water), my skin looks bright, smooth and feels moisturized. Highly recommend this for all skin types!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2008 10:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

WOOOOW!!!!! I really have to thank MUA for initiating me into the secrets of yogurt as a beauty must-have!!!!! OK that was cheesy, but anyway ;P I'm surprised how much I looooove this! For reference I have oily/combo, acne-prone skin. After reading the glowing reviews on here, I decided to give it a go since it's so cheap and there's absolutely nothing to lose. Went down to the nearest off-licence and got a tub of plain, low-fat yogurt of the cheapest variety which was the only one they had there. It's quite runny so I just had to kind fo smear it over my face and it only dripped down my chin so it wasn't too bad! Oh and I used about 1-2 tablespoons of yogurt all over my face. The smell was a bit funny but not unbearable. To my surprise, it did kind of dry over time (about 30 minutes) and I washed it off. And wooow I loved what I saw in the mirror!! I had 2 active pimples at the time and the yogurt didn't irritate them at all. In fact I think it calmed them down! It took any redness out and my face felt and looked so clean and smooth. Other reviewers have noted a brightening effect and I experienced that too. My complexion was significantly brighter and clearer!!! All this for a few pennies! I bought the REN glycolactic peel mask last week due to the great reviews and, I can't believe I'm saying this, but I actually prefer my yogurt mask!!! I'm not usually into these 'natural' beauty remedies but this yogurt mask and the olive oil scrub (I learnt about both of them on MUA :) )are truly amazing all natural beauty treatments which are just as good if not better than the fanciful stuff you see in shops. Anyways I highly recommend this mask! There really is nothing to lose :)))

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2008 7:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

5 lippies for this home remedy that makes a very easy, healthful mask with softening and soothing effects. I usually use full fat, organic yogurt. It's very moisturizing, so if my breakouts are active, I purchase a lower fat % yogurt. Afterwards my face feels *SO* soft! No irritation. Like others mentioned, it's a versatile base. I alternate mixing with raw honey. Sometimes I add my powdered pumpkin mask from KZM at Etsy. Can be added to bathwater for softening too! Will continue to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2008 10:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Wow- I LOVE what yogurt has done to my skin. I have too purchased the Greek yogurt as others have and am in love. I started using a little honey as well and am in total love. I cant' beleieve it took me so long to try this. Overall skin tone is so much nicer and helping clear acne!
I love MUA!


on 12/6/2008 8:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Okay, so I to was looking for a new mask..I have the Aztec clay which I like but it does tend to hurt the face a bit...very powerful stuff, so I was looking for something a little more gentle. Well, came accross yogurt...and I wouldn't have thought to try it- silly me. So, I went out and bought some of the Greek Plain Organic Yogurt yesterday. So, only used it last night but like the results so far. I didn't leave it on for long so I will keep it on longer and use every other night and will probably add some honey.
What a great idea! Thanks MUArs


on 12/6/2008 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've used this a couple of times now. The 1st few times with just plain yoghurt but after finding reviews on here and seeing variations I have used a yoghurt/honey/squeeze of lemon juice mask. I think the latter probably worked a bit better for me and it's damn easy to make. Not messy at all. I don't think this works miracles BUT my skin lately has kinda gone haywire.Just switched to a new skincare routine and a few days o crazy eating habits which are back to normal (but not my skin!:-(.) ANYway, I agree this does reduce redness and I have a new pimple which was coming up just near my mouth and when I took this mask off it had come to a head(which is both good cos it will get better sooner but bad cos it's saturday night! haha). People have mentioned this helps with their blackheads & little bumps buuuut so far I haven't. It DOES make your skin lovely and smooth. I will repurchase and continue mixing it up because I believe this stuff is just as good as some of the $$ masks out there (having tried both the cheap & eye googling expensive myself). I will update if this gets even better results with even more continuous use... or worse ha....


on 11/21/2008 5:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Being a student, I usually don`t have the cash to spend money on facials or expensive masks. This is absolutely fantastic. It has everything you want from a beauty product: it`s cheap, it works straight away, it`s ecological and you know it`s good for your skin. Absolutely brilliant.

I`ve used this product for a couple of days, it worked really well, silky, dewy skin, tighter pores, hardly any new breakouts and a quick diminishing of the ones that were already there. Then I stopped, because I simply forgot to buy yoghurt (I don`t usually eat it), and my skin went back to looking tired, pores started to show again and blackheads on my nose started to reappear as well. Since then I`ve been using it at least every other day (it`s been a week now) and my skin is looking great again.

Only four lippies because I don`t know how this will turn out in the long run, will update!
UPDATE: I've been using this less the past couple of months, simply because I am too lazy to smear yoghurt on every day, plus, I forget to buy it all the time. All in all, though, I'm still mighty impressed with this, whenever I do put it on, the instant effect is still there. Having applied it ritually every day for two weeks before I got sloppy, I have to say that by the end of those two weeks, my skin complexion lost some of its purity, but that may have been a result of hormones. I would still recommend it to anyone, for problem skin as a daily treatment, or just as a little pampering when you're having some me-time. It beats the hell out of expensive, chemical masks with unpronouncable ingredients every single time! Upped it to five lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2008 1:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I must say this is the BEST mask I have used, and I still can't believe it is yogurt and aspirin! Give this a try, one regular small size yogurt that is around 39 cents will last you for DAYS (until it turns bad anyway!) I can't believe it takes care of ALL my beauty problems!! Hydration, acne, anti-aging, AND dull complexion!!!

I combined the 2 best at-home masks together and created the ultimate at home mask...

Ingredients:

- low-fat plain white yogurt (1 tablespoon)
- 6 uncoated regular strength aspirin
- 2 teaspoon of water

all you need to do is dump the aspirin into 2 teaspoon of water, and let it dissolve.
Then you mix the 1 tablespoon of yogurt with the dissolve aspirin. There should be more than enough for the whole face, so you can also put it on your neck too.

The mixture should take about 20 - 30 minutes to dry completely

Result
- instantly brighter complexion
- well hydrated skin
- skin looks radiant, pump and healthy
- minimized pores
- lightened scars
- smooth out fine lines

Pros
- CHEAP
- easy to make
- instant results

Cons
- might get drippy if you put too much on

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4217 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2238 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

2 in 1 DIY Face Mask and Healthy Snack: Collab! by Orange mint Pop

Chocolate DIY Beauty Mask by bubzbeauty



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

113 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

46 reviews
Back to Top