October 30, 2014 | 1559 users online

Foundations - Tarte - Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full-Coverage Foundation SPF 15

rated 3.6(495 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 2/15/2013 3:04:00 AM More reviews by Syllionya

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this product for a few weeks now. I purchased it at Sephora at the recommendation of the (rude) store rep, who said it was a good full coverage foundation for oily skin. I go between liking and not liking this product, but I don't love or hate it. If there was anything I DID love, however, it would be the yellow consistency of this foundation. It's great because I happen to be very very, yellow for a caucasion person. This is due to my Basque heritage, I guess.

It comes in a nice tube with a wooden screw-top. The texture, as many have mentioned, is a gel mousse and very pleasant. I have learned the hard way that you only need a little bit, and also that you need to blend this bit out. If you use too much this foundation definitely looks like corpse makeup, so don't make that mistake. I don't have a buffing brush so I blend it with my fingers and then do little touchups with my Cargo magic brush. This works for me. I don't think this product builds all that well because of the afore-mentioned blending issue. It really defines my pores and makes weird greasy lines when I "over apply".

I have freckly acne scars from a serious cystic break out and this product kinda covers the scars. I use concealer under it, and, most recently, bare minerals matte to set. These steps cover me up fairly well. I would say that this foundation gives acceptable coverage for a thinish layer. I don't like that I can't build my coverage.

I added the matte mineral foundation at the end because this product comes off VERY easily for oily skinned girls such as myself. If you have oily skin, you need to set this foundation with a good powder or it's going to rub off all over the place. It will still rub off a fair bit.

I won't buy this again. I would much rather buy Laura Mercier matte since I know I can just pat on extra foundation on problem areas without worrying about corpse looking buildup. I would even rather wear Smashbox studio foundation, although it isn't as nice to my skin. Both products stay put when I wear them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/15/2013 12:55:00 AM More reviews by allheart

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The Amazonian Clay foundation and brush are a great product for getting the basics done without all the work. It has better coverage than a lot of liquid foundations without the "pancake" feel.

I was really surprised with the amount of time this foundation-brush combo saved since it spreads and covers so evenly. I use a slight amount of Lancome's loose powder to set it since I have an oily t-zone, but it lasts throughout the day, and is easy to reapply if necessary.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2013 9:22:00 AM More reviews by Hollynla

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I cannot figure out how the lady at Ulta thought this foundation would be great for an oily skinned person. I asked for a matte foundation and this is definitely not matte. In fact, when I use it, my skin looks oily in about an hour. Also, it really seems to enhance pores and fine lines, like the heaviness of the foundation just sits on top the skin. I will not repurchase this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2013 11:48:00 PM More reviews by MelissaTye

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!!!! Its creamy, almost a whipped consistency. Goes on smooth and covers perfectly (best with use of primer and concealer first). My face looks like a doll all day long.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2013 12:58:00 AM More reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I don't love this foundation, but I do like it to an extent.The blend-ability is excellent, the coverage is not full as it states, unless you have completely perfect skin. To get the coverage I liked, I had to use one squeeze, plus a half of a squeeze from the tube. It broke down around my eyelids, despite applying primer and creased awfully. The feel of it is very nice, it's not a completely matte foundation nor is it a dewy foundation. I'd say it's a natural finish. Moving ahead to more pros and cons, this foundation held up well for the 4 hours I wore it, but again I'd agree with other users that this foundation isn't as resistant as it claims. After coming home from my boyfriend's and some cuddling, I could see it had wiped off drastically on my nose. And where I have some large pores or 'congested pores' I could see it emphasized them.

Cons away, I still really like this. When my boyfriend saw me he complimented me on how nice my skin looked. And I also enjoyed the fact that this foundation isn't a masque. I felt like my skin could breathe, and I wasn't oily at all. So all in all, I'd recommend this to someone with perfect skin, or someone like myself (slight discoloration, redness, oily skin) to use this. ALSO, after a minor break out and awful dry skin, this was a life saver. It balanced my skin out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/23/2013 9:01:00 PM More reviews by exxxotic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a horrible foundation....it broke me out, irritated my skin, and my skin would get oily in just a couple hours. Do not buy if you have any chance of breaking out. For the amount of money you pay, it's absurd that you are getting junk in a bottle. Not worth it to ruin your face, or waste your money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/23/2013 8:50:00 PM More reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was really in to Tarte a few years ago and tried most of their foundations. I was pretty satisfied with my Nars Sheer Glow and Laura Mercier Mineral Powder and tinted moisturizers so I passed on this when it was released a while ago. I swatched it many times and I really liked how the color Light was yellow based. I finally got to try it when I ordered a QVC set which came with a brush, blush, brow pencil and mascara. I find that I get good results with my hand and pretty much any synthetic foundation brush (Sigma, Real Techniques). It covers well, is not streaky, does not separate, wears for a long time, and just plain ol looks good. My other current favorite foundation is Guerlain Lingerie and I find that I use the Tarte more often, especially for everyday. I am so happy I got to try this and see myself purchasing it again even though I have other foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2013 5:01:00 PM More reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This foundation looks TERRIBLE on me, simultaneously the worst and most expensive I've ever used.


I have large pores and oily skin with a FEW fine lines. This foundation emphasizes all of the above withing minutes. When first applied even the smallest amount looks like pancake makeup. The lightest shade is also way too yellow and slightly too dark for my pale skin.

I can't believe I paid $42 for this. I swapped it for the awesome Revlon CS whipped which is a quarter of the price and much, much better.


The only reason I gave this 2 stars is because it looks great on my friend, but he has perfect skin anyway.



I would never recommend this to any one else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2013 12:12:00 PM More reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love, love, love this foundation! Definitely worthy of it's overall rating of 5. If I could give it a 10, I would! And I am happy to finally say, after years and YEARs of searching ... HG foundation for me. Amazing coverage. Easy to apply. Blends beautifully. Great colour selection and matches my skin perfect. Packaging is super cute. Price is decent $50CDN @ Sephora. Nothing bad to say about this stuff. FANTASTIC :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2013 10:29:00 PM More reviews by arkindt

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i may be jumping to gun on this because i just tried it but i will edit if i have to. hg status!!!! my crappy skin looks flawless with this stuff! and a little goes a long way! and it's cheaper than most mac foundations if you consider the amount of product. basically, i am in love! and im so excited about the SPF. all my faves are usually lacking SPF. im almost 20 and already worried about wrinkles haha. i digress. anyway love this! great coverage and flawless matte finish..which i love. im nc20 and using tartes light. also, packaging is so unique, cute, and high quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No