October 25, 2014 | 1687 users online

Foundations - Tarte - Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full-Coverage Foundation SPF 15

rated 3.6(493 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2013 9:22:00 AM More reviews by Hollynla

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I cannot figure out how the lady at Ulta thought this foundation would be great for an oily skinned person. I asked for a matte foundation and this is definitely not matte. In fact, when I use it, my skin looks oily in about an hour. Also, it really seems to enhance pores and fine lines, like the heaviness of the foundation just sits on top the skin. I will not repurchase this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2013 11:48:00 PM More reviews by MelissaTye

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!!!! Its creamy, almost a whipped consistency. Goes on smooth and covers perfectly (best with use of primer and concealer first). My face looks like a doll all day long.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2013 12:58:00 AM More reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I don't love this foundation, but I do like it to an extent.The blend-ability is excellent, the coverage is not full as it states, unless you have completely perfect skin. To get the coverage I liked, I had to use one squeeze, plus a half of a squeeze from the tube. It broke down around my eyelids, despite applying primer and creased awfully. The feel of it is very nice, it's not a completely matte foundation nor is it a dewy foundation. I'd say it's a natural finish. Moving ahead to more pros and cons, this foundation held up well for the 4 hours I wore it, but again I'd agree with other users that this foundation isn't as resistant as it claims. After coming home from my boyfriend's and some cuddling, I could see it had wiped off drastically on my nose. And where I have some large pores or 'congested pores' I could see it emphasized them.

Cons away, I still really like this. When my boyfriend saw me he complimented me on how nice my skin looked. And I also enjoyed the fact that this foundation isn't a masque. I felt like my skin could breathe, and I wasn't oily at all. So all in all, I'd recommend this to someone with perfect skin, or someone like myself (slight discoloration, redness, oily skin) to use this. ALSO, after a minor break out and awful dry skin, this was a life saver. It balanced my skin out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/23/2013 9:01:00 PM More reviews by exxxotic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a horrible foundation....it broke me out, irritated my skin, and my skin would get oily in just a couple hours. Do not buy if you have any chance of breaking out. For the amount of money you pay, it's absurd that you are getting junk in a bottle. Not worth it to ruin your face, or waste your money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/23/2013 8:50:00 PM More reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was really in to Tarte a few years ago and tried most of their foundations. I was pretty satisfied with my Nars Sheer Glow and Laura Mercier Mineral Powder and tinted moisturizers so I passed on this when it was released a while ago. I swatched it many times and I really liked how the color Light was yellow based. I finally got to try it when I ordered a QVC set which came with a brush, blush, brow pencil and mascara. I find that I get good results with my hand and pretty much any synthetic foundation brush (Sigma, Real Techniques). It covers well, is not streaky, does not separate, wears for a long time, and just plain ol looks good. My other current favorite foundation is Guerlain Lingerie and I find that I use the Tarte more often, especially for everyday. I am so happy I got to try this and see myself purchasing it again even though I have other foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2013 5:01:00 PM More reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This foundation looks TERRIBLE on me, simultaneously the worst and most expensive I've ever used.


I have large pores and oily skin with a FEW fine lines. This foundation emphasizes all of the above withing minutes. When first applied even the smallest amount looks like pancake makeup. The lightest shade is also way too yellow and slightly too dark for my pale skin.

I can't believe I paid $42 for this. I swapped it for the awesome Revlon CS whipped which is a quarter of the price and much, much better.


The only reason I gave this 2 stars is because it looks great on my friend, but he has perfect skin anyway.



I would never recommend this to any one else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2013 12:12:00 PM More reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love, love, love this foundation! Definitely worthy of it's overall rating of 5. If I could give it a 10, I would! And I am happy to finally say, after years and YEARs of searching ... HG foundation for me. Amazing coverage. Easy to apply. Blends beautifully. Great colour selection and matches my skin perfect. Packaging is super cute. Price is decent $50CDN @ Sephora. Nothing bad to say about this stuff. FANTASTIC :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2013 10:29:00 PM More reviews by arkindt

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i may be jumping to gun on this because i just tried it but i will edit if i have to. hg status!!!! my crappy skin looks flawless with this stuff! and a little goes a long way! and it's cheaper than most mac foundations if you consider the amount of product. basically, i am in love! and im so excited about the SPF. all my faves are usually lacking SPF. im almost 20 and already worried about wrinkles haha. i digress. anyway love this! great coverage and flawless matte finish..which i love. im nc20 and using tartes light. also, packaging is so unique, cute, and high quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2013 12:43:00 PM More reviews by pseudokool

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I came across it at Sephora and the mua tried it on my medium olive skin in Tan. Great match. I love how little I use with my foundation airbrush and it looks really good throughout the day. It gives off a slightly semi matte finish, with good coverage. The bottle is more like a squeeze tube, with a wooden cap on the bottom. The side has a clear "window" so you can see the shade color. I like this style of packagaing as I wont waste any of it. I squeeze a dime size amount on a glass slab and pick it up on my airbrush #56 and gently buff it onto my face. I have found Tarte to work very well on my face, so I will definitely buy this again when i run out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/17/2013 1:57:00 PM More reviews by Nessa

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

A good foundation with a nice color selection. So far it does not break me out, but if my skin is a bi dry it will show that so it needs to be applied carefully

Is this review helpful? Yes No