December 21, 2014 | 1838 users online

Foundations - Tarte - Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full-Coverage Foundation SPF 15

rated 3.6(509 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/14/2013 2:33:00 PM More reviews by lebachai

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really, truly think I've found my HG foundation. A little backstory: my face is acne prone and I'm often a walking oil slick. I've used Revlon Colorstay, both liquid and the newer whipped formula. Neither of them does what this foundation does. IT STAYS. Even through workouts and 14-hour days. This little tube is more money than I like to pay. I'll save money elsewhere; this little beauty is worth the cash. I will say that I am very careful about how I prep my skin. I use milk of magnesia as a primer (cheapest and best primer for oily skin, ever!) and then I put MAC Natural Radiance Base Visage over that (helps smooth things out). I used those two things all the time with Colorstay, and it never looked as good as this Tarte foundation does. Then I apply this with a flat-headed buffing brush and set it with powder. It doesn't move or streak. I've been using it this way for about two weeks now and I'm still stunned when I see myself after a long day. Color me thrilled.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/9/2013 10:28:00 PM More reviews by EscalatorKid

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got a sample of this to try from Sephora. I used it for a couple of days and then decided to buy it. I'd heard a number of good things about this product, and since I have oily skin, I was very interested.

I ended up buying it from QVC while they offered a full size foundation *and* the Tarte brush with shipping for something like $38. I couldn't turn down that deal, and for the most part, I'm glad I didn't.

It is nice. The color blends easily, and it doesn't feel greasy or heavy or gross. It doesn't feel super sheer, though. I do feel like I'm wearing foundation.

As far as the oil control goes, I don't notice it making a huge difference. It's supposed to absorb oil, but after 4-6 hours or so, I do notice that I'm oilier than I should be. The SA at Sephora that I talked to when trying another foundation told me that I should use the Amazonian Clay finishing powder. So, I need to spend more money on another product that that might not do what it claims to?

I still like the way it looks, but maybe using a setting powder might help. I doubt it because I've tried other foundations without a setting powder and have still been less oily.

It also might be that I put too much product on. I find that I use much more of this than others, like the Kat Von D foundation.

In any case, if you have super oily skin, this might not be for you.

If you have regular to dry skin, this foundation might be perfect for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/9/2013 6:32:00 PM More reviews by smzvacek

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've reached "that age" where a good foundation is really important and I've been pleased with this one. I'm only giving it 4 lippies because I'm not crazy about the tube packaging.

I've started squeezing some out of the tube into a small, flat tin with a tight-fitting lid and this way I can dab the brush into it and then apply it directly to my face. Squeezing it onto my hand (as they recommend) seems wasteful to me.

I hesitated to get the brush but am SO GLAD I did. It makes a huge difference in how the makeup goes on. I got the package deal from QVC that includes the brush and would definitely recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/6/2013 3:07:00 PM More reviews by Cathuggins

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I started using this product about 8 months ago, after using Dior foundation. I really like Tarte. I find that it does offer full coverage but I just really wish it lasted the 12 hours as specified. I'm a physician and find myself often working 12hr + shifts and start noticing foundation changes about 6 to 8 hours into my shift.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/4/2013 3:40:00 PM More reviews by BrendaLM

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Have 2 different shades, overall the foundation does a really good job. It is medium to full coverage, but be careful cause it can look cakey, a little goes a long way. I have very oily t-zone and I did not notice it really make a difference in wear on oily skin, It it long wearing overall. I like the packaging, but wish it have a greater variety of shades.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2013 2:56:00 PM More reviews by littleladylew

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Though this foundation is on the pricey side, it works great. However, for a full coverage foundation I would have thought it would cover acne better. The foundation does not like to cover the texture of acne. It stays on great, even while sleeping (yes I know this is bad to do but it stays well). Makes the face look flawless when used with a concealer. Thought clay could clog pores but my skin cleared up while using this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/26/2013 1:46:00 AM More reviews by Catty414

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really love this foundation! I've only had it a couple of weeks but my skin has never looked so good. I have really oily skin and I find myself never having to touch it up with anything when I'm using this. I took away one lipstick because I wish they had more shades; they didn't have the right one for my skin tone and I had to go a little light. I need to set it with a powder foundation in order for it to match me, but other than that I really love this product and see myself buying it over and over again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/23/2013 10:17:00 PM More reviews by kmd521

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am pretty pale and have a difficult time finding a light enough shade that is not pink. I got a sample from Sephora and fell in love. The coverage is pretty good. I seem to always have a couple breakouts on my face along with acne scars so I still use a little concealer. I apply with my F80. I tried with my beauty blender but it did not work out so well. The packaging it great I love the squeeze tube. $38 is pretty pricey, but I will buy again since the color is so great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/23/2013 3:28:00 PM More reviews by TaraAliceBuckT

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is nice! It seriously lasted me over 12 hours. It's got a nice creamy texture and it blends extremely well. I didn't follow up with a powder because it gave me a nice dewy finish. My only complaint was that it kind of creased up in the corners of my nose and in the fine lines under my eyes, but then again I didn't use a primer beforehand. Overall it's nice and I love that Tarte uses such nice ingredients in their products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/23/2013 1:25:00 PM More reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is definetly a winter foundation for me. I feel that it would be to thick to wear during the summer even though the oil control is good. Right now my skin is a bit dry so I had some problems with it at first. I would not recommend this to people who have dry skin since it makes flakes really stand out. I think if it was a bit more mosturizing, I would have given this product a 5 out of 5.
I started to use my Clarisonic before I apply the foundation, and it goes on beautifully. I don't have the palest shade but the shade above it and it matches with my skin tone really well.
I got mine from Beauty Brands for $38. The price is actually pretty good seeing how there is a lot of product. Also I recommend using a beauty blender, it just helps it go on really well.
I don't know if I would call this an HG, but it is pretty good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No