July 23, 2014 | 2019 users online

Eye Primer - NARS - Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base

rated 4.4(349 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2011 12:58:00 PM More reviews by pquiles

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Really like this primer. I use it 6-7 days a week for almost a year. It doesn't irritate my skin, applies smoothly and best of all... my eyeshadow STAYS PUT for over 10 hours each day. I have bought a 2nd tube, but haven't used it yet b/c each time I tap my older tube product comes out on the applicator.
I like this much better than UDPP!!

It's 20 Oct 2011 and I'm still using the 2nd tube. That's since MAY 2011 people!!! Amazing product... can't say enough good things about it. I've had on since 5:35AM and my eyeshadow hasn't budged a smidget!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/3/2011 7:05:00 PM More reviews by LEVMEALONA

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

First off I have very oily eyelids. I have tried UDPP, Too Faced shadow insurance, Lorac's eyeprimer, Bare Escentual's eye primer, Sephora's eye primer, Hourglass' face veil primer as eyelid primer, ELF's Mineral primer and dollar version, Mac's paint pot in painterly. None of these held up a full 8 hour day without creasing. The Nar's primer has held up the longest time but still I have creasing by like 5-6 hours....my search continues

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/2/2011 4:34:00 AM More reviews by p1gbbong

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I do have a thing with primers and wand-packaging but i can most def overlook that detail with this primer. my eyelids are oily and makeup creases within couple hours (maybe less O_O;;) but this Nars primer has held on to my makeup, NO signs of creasing whatsoever and it goes on very smoothly without smudging or makin my foundation all weird. my holy grail for eye primers~ def worth the money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/21/2011 5:14:00 PM More reviews by lil_kismet

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This beats both of my former favourite eyeshadow primers (Paula Dorf and UDPP) out of the water! It keeps eyeshadow and liner vibrant and in place like no other. While UDPP does an adequate job, I do notice slight fading sometimes after a few hours of wear. With Paula Dorf, it keeps eyeshadow vibrant and in place equally as well as the NARS primer, but it is a little on the thick side and can be mask-ey. With NARS' version, it goes on light and disappears when blended into the skin and I go the ENTIRE day (a good 10 hours) without any fading whatsoever! I have already purchased a backup -- best eye primer ever!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/19/2011 9:56:00 PM More reviews by aresbabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I can only compare this to Bare minerals eye shadow primer and I like this one so much better. It dries clear and once I apply my shadow, it does not move all day! I really like this. I figured since I'm investing in NARS duos might as well use NARS primer and the payoff is priceless. Better than using my bare minerals primer. There is more color payoff also. I know, I need to try UDPP but for now, this one rocks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 6:37:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this eyeshadow base it keeps my eyeshadow on for a long time. I got a sample and will buy the full size

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/8/2011 12:03:00 PM More reviews by sbgold

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Keep in mind this is not an 'eye shadow base' like some other products that you can wear alone for a hint of coverage & color. This is a proper 'primer' made to keep a product in place. I bought this to keep my under eye liner from smudging & for this purpose, I have to say it works great. I would not use under eye liner without it! However, I find the packaging makes this product challenging to apply. It has a doe foot applicator that is too large to fit under my eye & ends up coating my lashes! I use a mini q-tip to apply the product instead. It comes out of the tube white & I find that it leaves a white-ish film on my skin that is not completely transparent. I also find the product to be a little too thick to spread evenly. IMO, NARS needs to work on this product further - but it does keep eye liner in place.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/27/2011 10:41:00 PM More reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

UDPP is a standby, so I was surprised by how well NARS' version works. It does just what I've come to expect from Urban Decay, and locks shadow down for hours and hours without looking chalky or drying my lids. I honestly can't tell a difference between the two in terms of performance so I prefer UDPP strictly on a price point basis, but both are great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/17/2011 8:18:00 PM More reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I did not realize this has not been reviewed but if it has, I will add to it.

I have come from UDPP, TSI, Givenchy, Chanel and a few others... including cheapos like L'Oreal which was a total waste of money and effort. UDPP is good, as is TSI -- but these tend to make my ES seem crinkly -- maybe not the right word, but yes, crinkly. Both seemed quite drying to me -- and I don't have dry eyelids but I do wear eye cream and will not give that up for a cosmetic like a paint pot or ES.

When I heard about this last year I jumped and tried it.. it is still working now and I am about to purchase my second tube. It seems because it is in a tube which is easier to access than the disastrous UDPP, that it lasts longer and does not dry out like UDPP did inside the tube. I like that it looks white and goes on transparent and then, you just know it's there because your ES goes on beautifully and stays put for as many hours as you want.

love the product, will most def repurchase.

Update: In my search/quest for better/bigger/bushier eyebrows, I have tested this primer on them. OK, so I am still not Cara Delevigne..or Audrey Hepburn, BUT when I apply this on my eyebrows (after I have used all my eye creams and prepped my face for mu), I wait a few minutes to let it dry and then use either my pencils (Shu, YSL, Chanel) or powders (Anastasia, Clinique, Cle) .. whatever. And LO! the product stays on, I don't lose the tail end, nor does anything sweat off. I have these loss problems with both MUFE and MAC brow gels and I am this week testing these gel products on top of primer too. It should work and that would make me have almost perfect brows. After I use my coloring product, I use a waterproof mascara in brown and I have achieved a fuller effect on my brows.
I am about to purchase my 4th tube.. that's how invaluable this product is to me now.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2011 4:25:00 AM More reviews by Katie75007

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

In short, amazing. It dries clear and provides a perfectly smooth, adhesive base for shadow, and the color lasts ALL day -- from work to workouts. My eyes can be sensitive, and I use this with no issues at all. It's perfect!

Is this review helpful? Yes No