November 26, 2014 | 1151 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4451 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

This product has been discontinued

rated 4 of 5 on 7/23/2010 2:00:00 PM More reviews by AJbunny

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ok, first of all, i gave this 4 stars because i took off a star for horrible packaging. Iv'e said this hundreds of times, but this product NEEDS A PUMP. I first tried this product, and Im only 15 so this product was relatively expensive for me, off of so many great reviews....well, the first time i tried it it was HORRIBLY STREAKY! i applied it with a wet sponge, because I think those are cheaper and easier to apply foundation with..The stuff matched my skin gorgeously, but it dried waaay too quickly for me to blend it in. (i have combo/oily in fresh beige)(im so glad the color matched my skin since im one of those people who holds the bottle of foundation up to my face and looks in a mirror to see if its the right color :) So i tried the sponge wet, and worked quickly and in areas of my face at a time. well, THAT time, this foundation looked AMAZING! i have some bad acne scars but this foundation covered it ALL up while looking like i have no makeup on, and without feeling heavy. And The icing on the cake was that this foundation stayed on ALL day. Not a few hours, the WHOLE day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2010 10:08:00 PM More reviews by celevia

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

I found this foundation to be quite heavy actually, it doesn't blend easily, so if you want a full coverage you will end up with a heavy layer of foundation on your face. even though i got the one for oily/combo skin, its still feels oily on my t-zone. the staying power is just so so. I didnt like this foundation quite as much but i think that's because i prefer mineral, i wouldn't recommend this to oily people even in the "oily/comb skin formula"

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/22/2010 2:06:00 AM More reviews by les33cochons

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

SO here's what's up with me + Colorstay. We are BFF, just btw.
For some reason, long ago, I used Colorstay Normal/Dry, even though I have incredibly oily skin. I think I was led astray by the reviews. It didn't work out so nicely; although the color match was good, the color most def did not stay. It rubbed off on my clothes, on other peoples' clothes. Not pretty. And then one day, I had an epiphany. "You have oily skin," I told myself. "Why don't you try buying the foundation for oily skin?" And I did. And the rest is history.
This stuff is awesome. (The packaging is horrendous.) I wear Nude 200 and it's a good match. This is everything I want in a foundation, like seriously. It doesn't require a lot of fuss. I don't have to wear concealer if I don't want to ( I usually don't.) I don't have to retouch. I don't have to worry that it's getting on everything. I don't have to worry that it's melting off my face, or breaking me out, or talking about me behind my back, or stealing my boyfrann. What more can I ask for?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/21/2010 9:35:00 PM More reviews by rtrav11

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i got this product, because of all of its hype on youtube. i really hadn't had much experience with foundation, so i figured what the heck why not? when i first got it i knew it'd be hard to blend because that's what all the guru's said. so i wasn't to shocked, just a little annoyed but i got over it. when i applied it, i didn't really know what other foundations really felt like so the heaviness, and mask feeling bothered me, but i got over that too. anyway, when i first applied it, it looked pretty and dewy, but i didn't set it. so about after 6-8 hours it smeared down my face, and i had blotches. i looked sick, especially in the lighting at my school, which seriously sucked. anyway when i tried to wash it off at night it was like silly puddy on my face, seriously, it would not come off. also, when i took pictures with it, i had an EXTREME white cast. which of course, is really embarrassing. so i'm more experienced with foundation now, but i'm not sure if i'd repurchas it. it's hard to say. i tried applying it in several different ways, with a mac duo fiber (stippling-decent), a wet sponge (worked the best), and my fingers (not so hott).
pros- good color selection, decent staying power, extremely good coverage, waste of product due to lack of pump
cons-hard to blend, whitecast in pictures, like a mask.

so it's deffinetly not a bad product at all, but it's not an incredible one. maybe i'm just not applying it right?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/21/2010 7:06:00 PM More reviews by mylalaland1o

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I REALLY like this foundation for the fact that it has great coverage and great staying power. Its one of the foundations that I don't have to use primer for (the less products I use on my face the better, for me). I’ve been using this on and off for about two years and I will continue to buy it until it is discontinued. Some complain of the smell but weirdly enough I like it. The packaging doesn't bother me like it does most people. I simply just put my index finger on the bottle and shake the product. Whatever product gets on my finger is enough for my face. As far as color selection goes Revlon really really should bring some yellow undertones into their foundations (other than the shade buff because it is too light for medium skin tones)!! Also be sure to moisturize well because if you use a lot of this thick foundation is can expose your pores and dry patches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/21/2010 5:28:00 AM More reviews by virallyxXxyours

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation, it's the only kind that stands a chance to my super oily skin.

The problem that I have though is the foundation looking pink, or even orange/reddish toned on my skin.

I've already tried the shades Warm Golden, and Golden Beige - Hopefully Natural Tan works better for my skin.

OH, and I really wish Revlon would invest in a pump for this already.

***Edit: this foundation broke me out really bad

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/20/2010 11:39:00 PM More reviews by rogsweetie03

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I am soooooo incredibly happy that I gave this foundation a chance. I have been mildly obsessed about finding a new foundation to replace my HG Shu Uemura Face Architect foundation after I learned that they are pulling out of the US forever come August. I have tried smashbox with extremely disappointing results, so I came onto MUA to look for foundation recommendations. Colorstay is a popular choice and my preferences seem to be on par with the general consensus for the most part. I am NC25 and Shu 764. CS in sand beige matches my skin better than both those colors. I would describe the CS undertones as soft yellow, whereas NC25 is more curry yellow and shu 764 is a soft yellow with the slightest hint of olive. CS does not feel heavy on my skin at all. It doesn't even cling to dry patches on my skin. As much as I loved shu, it did cling onto some dry patches (scaling from Retin A). CS does only minimally. The only thing I dislike is the scent (too perfumey). I can also see how this may be cakey, but I use very little and apply with a soft, flat foundation brush and there is no cakiness at all. I am so happy to have found a significantly less expensive alternative to department foundations that don't work as well. Thank you MUA! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/20/2010 9:06:00 PM More reviews by manderly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm surprised by this foundation! I have it in the Buff for dry skin. I'm highly impressed that I managed to find a drugstore foundation that matches my skin quite well. It also looks quite natural. I had been using MUFE prior and the color is now too light since I've tanned a little. I was also not as happy with it as I had previously thought. It stands up surprisingly well and my Cetaphil doesn't remove it so I have to bust out my Ponds cold cream, which isn't a problem at all. My skin is doing quite well and it doesn't settle into pores or fine lines. I apply either with my fingers or my beauty blender and it looks great. I can't believe I've waited so long to try out this foundation since it has consistently received glowing reviews here at MUA.

My only issue so far: IT NEEDS A PUMP!! I don't mind tipping a bottle onto my hand, but it's the perfect consistency for a pump and it would make this product perfect for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2010 4:18:00 PM More reviews by daisychainsNhopscotch

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

i am suprizingly in love with this foundation!
i was slightly apprehensive to try this after previously using MAC's face & body; a very sheer, light coverage foundation...but after all the hype, i was just so tempted + i am glad to say i love it!
i dont have mayjor blemishes or under-eye circles or problem areas, so i use just half a pea size amount, yet dont have to use concealer!
PRO'S :
-feels light + silky on the skin
-looks like skin, never cakey or dry looking ( but, considering i dont use a huge amount )
- gives me a natural healthy glow to the skin
-spf 15
-great colour range + with choice of normal/dry + normal/oily formulation
-easy to bend ( although some do have problems with this )
-lasts for an amazing time
-30 mil E / 1 fluid Oz
-Brill price, yet slightly pricey for drugstore
-i strangely like the smell... i must say it dosent smell all that attractive from the tube, but on the skin= NICE;)
CON'S :
-no pump:(
-requires a bit of work to truely remove the product

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2010 4:13:00 PM More reviews by bleuciel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my HG. I have been using this product for over a year now and couldn't be happier with it. After trying a number of mass-market foundations, like Avon, L'Oreal, Maybelline and Radiant, I finally found something that it does what it says on the bottle: it stays on! Even when I'm working out it's still staying on, because I pat the towel to my face to wipe off perspiration and the towel comes off clean! It fades a bit towards the end of the day, but that's only natural. And your makeup doesn't look nasty or ruined, just not as fresh.
It comes in a variety of shades, which is a great thing, because I always had trouble finding a foundation that was fair enough and without giving me a yellowish look in certain lightning. I use Ivory for normal/dry skin and it is absolutely perfect for my fair with pink undertones skin. My skin is combination, but I found that the normal/dry formula works better than the combo formula in the sense that it does not dry out my cheeks and other dry-prone spots. I can always apply some pressed powder on my T-zone if I see any oiliness.
First I apply a very small amount on the back of my hand and from there apply it to my face with my fingers. The foundation blends very well, but you have to work quickly and on separate parts of the face: dot and blend the nose and surrounding area, then the cheeks, then the chin and then the forehead. Blend each part carefully and do not move to another part until your current part is not well blended. Don't apply too much either, because it can look cakey. Rather build it slowly, and if you need more coverage, you can apply it afterwards. The coverage is medium - it can cover certain reddish parts, but not completely. It does not cover up acne. Another great thing is that it didn't make me break-out. I haven't noticed any smell whatsoever, don't know what the other ladies are talking about. Also, most people think I'm NOT wearing foundation. So, if you use the right shade and blend it carefully, the foundation is almost invisible.
Use an oil-based makeup remover to take it off. Soap and water or usual cleansing lotions aren't enough. Extra-virgin olive oil works like a charm as well. Just rinse your face after using it.

Pros:
- lasts a very LONG time, even in humid conditions
- good coverage (for skin with minor and medium imperfections)
- blends well
- SPF 15
- doesn't cause break-outs
- covers red spots, minor scars, under eye circles (but not acne though)
- the bottle lasts a very long time (I use it daily and it lasts me 4-5 months)
- suitable as an eye primer

Cons:
- a bit on the expensive side
- the packaging - it really needs a pump!
- can give at times a heavier look, depending on the amount of foundation you're applying.

But overall a very good foundation which I highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No