February 1, 2015 | 1089 users online

Masks - Aztec Secret - Indian Healing Clay

rated 4.4(496 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2011 3:37:00 PM More reviews by herbalearthling

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So I bought this product per recommendation from a good friend of mine. She was using it for her acne-prone skin and had great results! I bought a tub for a little more than I wanted to spend but now that I've used it several times and it doesn't even look like I've made a dent, that purchase is now well justified.

I had been using this in combination with just water which seemed to work just fine. I didn't know what I was missing out on! At that point, my only gripe was that I couldn't get it into a creamy paste as everyone was saying.

I whipped together a batch the other night for my hubby with the intent to use apple cider vinegar. I forgot to use it for the first batch and used that on my hubby considering he wasn't using it on his face (he has a herniated disc that got irritated and we were trying out different remedies when I thought to give this a shot on his back since the clay is to pull out toxins. One of the factors for a herniated disc is almost like a chemical burn to the nerve because when a disc ruptures, fluids leek from inside the disc). I ended up wasting the rest of the first batch by becoming desperate to achieve the creamy consistency and put it through a metal strainer then remembering that you are not at all supposed to use any kind of metal whatsoever when mixing and handling this stuff.

So then I whipped up another batch this time remembering to use the apple cider vinegar. I have some reusable muslin bags so I decided to squeeze it through there to get the lumps out. I measured the equal parts of clay and apple cider vinegar, mixed them together, gave it a stir, enjoyed the sound of the fizz for a second, and then proceeded to get the mesh bag set up to line a glass jar to catch the contents that I squeezed through the bag. By the time I got back to the bowl to scoop out the clay, the reaction that the apple cider vinegar had on the clay was astounding!!! The result... silky smooth clay with absolutely no lumps at all!!! I was thrilled!

Another thing that made this time different was that I purchased a decent eco friendly bamboo makeup brush. After using my fingers to apply it before, this was a real treat and felt so much more luxurious, easier, and way less messy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/2/2011 2:58:00 PM More reviews by KCEleven11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Grey

When your only complaint about something is that the package comes so stuffed full, it is dang near impossible to not spill... you have a WINNER! This is my HG face mask. I have black heads on my chin and nose pretty bad, when I run my finger across it my skin feels bumpy. Blah, I used this mask ONE TIME and now when I rub my chin it is smooth. I will update after I have used this product a while longer. I could feel it working (and by this I mean it tingled and itched like crazy haha) and had a little trouble getting it into a paste. I kept it on for the full half hour. After I washed it off ( I recommend doing this in the shower out of sheer convenience) my face was red, but once it calmed down (about twenty minutes) my skin tone was fabulous. TRY THIS. I bought a one pound tube for like seven bucks. Even if you don't like it you can give it to some one else to try. Or make little home made instruction labels, put it into tiny trial size jars and BAM stocking stuffer for your beauty savvy ladies. Sorry, I am suffering from holiday fever =))

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/21/2011 11:20:00 PM More reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff rocks!!! If you have oily skin, like me, this is a must for weekly use. It has a pulsating feeling on your skin, meaning its sucking the oils and dirt deep down in your pores. its such a weird feeling!!! At first the smell bothered me, but I got use to it fast! I used mine with the apply cider vinegar for full effects! Im glad I came across this stuff and a tub is going to last me a long time! I use this twice a week and it does a great job of controlling my oil and keeping my face fresh! I rinse after 20 minutes or longer! It tightens my face and it gets hard to talk or laugh hahahha. If you use the Mint Julep mask, this one is totally more intense than that & works better imo. I purchased mine from a GMC :) Love this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2011 11:03:00 PM More reviews by gojiberry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've learned that this mask works wonders with frequent usage. Several days ago I had several huge and painful breakouts on my face after eating fast food, and I used this mask right away with organic apple cider vinegar. The next day I repeated, and on the third day all the breakouts were gone. For now my face is completely free of breakouts and feels much lighter. I've never had a pimple completely heal in only 3 days. I will definitely repurchase this mask and use it more often. I apply a thick layer with a foundation brush, leave it to pulse 30 minutes to 1 hour, and then I rinse it off in the shower. It deposits minerals into the face, so don't use a cleanser after removing the mask. I am very thin skinned and NW 15 so my face stays a lot redder until the next morning, but the results are worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/30/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by sthepaut

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff really works! It lasts a really long time, too. I would use apple cider vinegar if you have oily skin and honey/milk if you have dry skin. Don't use it too often, once or twice a week maximum. Its really tempting to use it every day though, once you feel your skin tightening up and all the toxins being sucked out!!
You can use it on acne, insect bites, and even take it internally. I buy mine at iherb because it is really cheap and they offer free shipping too! Try coupon code: HEP887 to get $5 off your order

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by rachelph

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've been using this for two weeks or so now. It was a coupel tries before I got results. I mix it with ACV that i also bought from the Vitamin Shoppe and most recently with some sea salt too (very good for acne). It gets REALLY tight. While on, it burns, tingles, and itches. Its also painful to take off. However, it is SO worth it. After washing it off your face is a bit red and raw, but it draws out whiteheads and impurities, and my skin is soo much clearer since using it. My forehead used to be so oily, clogged, and bumpy before this, but this mask finally cleared it up. I would REALLY try this out, i've tried freeman's feeling beautiful, albas enzyme mask, and those japanese ones. They have nothing on this!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2011 3:40:00 PM More reviews by Barbiebuxxx

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I don't think this did anything for my face. I used it for about two months at least once a week before writing a review on it. It made my face feel tight and felt some suction action going on, so I got excited because I thought to myself, Oh wow this is probably going to make my skin look amazing once I wash it off. I was wrong, after washing it off I still had my nasty blackheads and my skin looked the same, only beet red. I was disappointed because I thought I would love it because of the great reviews it had here on MUA.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2011 10:52:00 AM More reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I can't really say that this did anything for my facial skin, because I didn't really use it on my face enough to say it made a difference. But, this stuff is great for rashes and bug bites. I occasionally get heat rash and rashes from wearing costume jewelry on my neck and chest.
My body skin seems to be more sensitive than my facial skin, and any non- precious metal is liable to break me out. I've tried hydrocortisone, benadryl,, anti- bacterial cream to clear up the rashes. My allergy issues are pretty bad anyway, so I already take a daily dose of claritin, and it would take forever for the rashes to clear up. But, one day while putting the clay mask on my face, I put it on my neck too. And bam, the rash cleared up/ dried up in like an hour. I then started putting the clay on the reoccurring rashes, and every time the clay would clear them up with just one mask application. I've used it on insect bites too, and it works at "drying" them up and making them not itchy. I'll always keep this clay around because it really works.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2011 10:36:00 AM More reviews by DazzleDiaries

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff...its my go to mask when i need a deep clean. i use it once a week and i have gotten all of my friends and family hooked! i mix 1 part clay with .5 part organic apple cider vinegar. i put it on my face and curl up to read a book or watch some TV. after about 30 minutes or so (sometimes i leave it on longer) i wash it off and my skin, although red, feels wonderful. and the next morning i always wake up to glowing skin!!! its like magic. i always get compliments on my skin the day after i do my mask. Love that its an all natural, easy, DIY....i dont think i will ever love another mask as much as my precious Indian Healing Clay mask!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/9/2011 1:20:00 AM More reviews by PaperAlias

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad that I finally decided to give this mask a chance. I have oily/acne-prone skin, so I usually lean towards clay masks, and this is by far my favorite one, as it feels most effective. It's a real gunk-sucker!


I bought this on Amazon for a little under $8 with free shipping. Very inexpensive for 1 lb. of product. This is pure sun-dried calcium bentonite clay. The clay itself is greenish in color with no scent. I scooped up 1 teaspoon of clay and mixed it with one teaspoon of ACV. (Note: I've read somewhere that using metal bowls/utensils will deteriorate the potency of the clay, hence the use of glass/plastic is recommended.) It seemed a little bit watery, so I kept adding a bit of extra clay powder until I had the consistency I wanted. The result was a smooth whipped texture. It felt nice and creamy going on, and I applied enough for a nice opaque and even layer. The label on the tub says that it contains enough product for 10-15 masks... but I would imagine that you really need to use VERY thick layers to only get that many masks out of one jar. This tub looks like it would last me well over a year, if not two!


Within about 5 minutes, I could already feel it start to tighten and pull. Shortly after, I begin experiencing the pulsating sensation that everyone has mentioned. Bentonite helps stimulate blood circulation in the skin. That, combined with the pulling, is what makes it pulse and slightly redden the skin afterwards. After about 10 minutes, it starts to feel a little bit more uncomfortable. It even itched a little bit. This isn't something you can put on and then eat/talk afterward. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's best to keep your face as still as possible until you're ready to remove it.


After about 15 minutes, I find that it has pulled my skin so much that my lips were partially open. I decide that I've reached my tolerance level and hop in the shower to rinse it off. Keep in mind that the thicker the mask, the more difficult it is to remove. If you use a light layer, you may be able to get away with just using warm water, but for thicker applications, a wash cloth, or a shower, helps remove it much more easily.


I loved how CLEAN this made my face feel afterwards. This is great at bringing gunk to the surface. I can imagine some people may experience initial purging with this (especially those with very congested skin), but for me I did not. My skin felt very soft and my pores did look noticeably cleaner and smaller in size. It didn't completely remove all blackheads on my nose, but I'll update on how that goes with more regular use. I followed up with my regular acne medication and moisturizer afterward. I was so amazed that I decided to try it as a spot treatment that night. I had a couple of picked areas on my face, with one stubborn pimple on my forehead. The next morning, these areas did look a bit better. The pimple was noticeably smaller in size and easier to conceal, and the picked spots looked more healed and smooth. Instant holy grail? Perhaps!


The first time I used it, I mixed it with Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar (which is only about 5% acidity) but it still felt very effective for me. Of course, I plan on trying plain raw ACV when I get a chance. As someone who has struggled with acne for most of her life, I think this is an excellent product. It's inexpensive and effective. I love simple, no-frills skin care. I also love the DIY aspect of it; anyone can tailor this mask to fit their own needs and skin types.


For me, the clay and ACV seemed effective enough for what I wanted, but as I continue to use this, I'll definitely experiment with other additional ingredients. So far so good. Highly recommended!

UPDATE Feb2013: This mask can feel a bit too drying during winter, even for my oily skin. But to make the drying action more bearable, I find that adding some honey (how much will depend on how dry you are; I am oily and add about 1/4 to 1/3 tsp) works great. I like how this can be adjusted to accommodate your skin through all seasons.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No