April 18, 2014 | 1810 users online

Mascara - Clinique - High Impact Mascara

rated 3.6(1500 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/7/2012 8:23:00 PM More reviews by camillacamilla

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have yet to find a mascara by Clinique that I like, and this one is no exception. It's just so...AVERAGE. I don't know where the name "High Impact" comes from, as this is not a dramatic, false lash look mascara. The good news is it isn't clumpy, and it does give a natural look if that is what you are after. I prefer a more false lash look, and would not repurchase this medicocre mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/7/2012 8:32:00 AM More reviews by namida23

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I received this product as a sample gift with purchase so I cannot comment on whether I would buy this product again. I do think there are drugstore mascaras that perform just as well if not sometimes better than high end products though at a fraction of the price so I have reserved feelings about high end mascaras in general.

I have fairly long natural lashes for an Asian girl, though they are a little sparse. This product is quite good. The brush was round and easy to use though I found it difficult to get to the very end of the lash line - could just be my own eye shape though. The product tended to gather at the end of the brush which sometimes created clumps, but were easily fixable with a few extra strokes.

I find the result not very different to what drugstore mascaras are capable of and I think this is to do with my application technique rather than the formula per se. Though I could be completely wrong about that, there have been products that are absolute disasters to work with and Clinique's High Impact Mascara is not one of them. My lashes look longer and fully whilst still being natural - not sure where the name 'High Impact' comes from as I would have expected dramatic falsies-like lashes but definitely a mascara that works for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/7/2012 8:05:00 AM More reviews by dani215

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG mascara. For reference, my lashes are black, thick, and moderately long. The color is extremely black. In general, it gives more volume than length, but the best thing about it is that you can add coat after coat to build up length and it never clumps. I can end up with very dramatic, yet natural looking mascara that never looks clumpy or spidery no matter how many coats I use. My lashes always look soft and never stiff with this mascara. It also doesn't flake, which as a contact wearer, is very important. It will smudge if you touch your eyes, but what non-waterproof mascara won't? The only downside is the price, at about $14 per tube. But if you buy other Clinique products, it's frequently included as a GWP. I find the GWP sizes last just as long as the full-size tubes anyway. Also, enough people get the GWP size that it's never hard to find in swap or on Ebay for a price comparable to drugstore mascaras.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/7/2012 7:37:00 AM More reviews by juliet1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm surprised that this doesn't have better reviews, I think that this mascara is amazing. It both thickens and lengthens my lashes in a dramatic but natural way and the best thing about it is that even after a long day at work I never find any horrible flakes under my eyes. It also washes off really easily and I feel that it is pretty kind and gentle to my lashes and eyes. Clinique have just released a new shade called 'Brightening Black' which I think might be LE -I tried it recently and it's great, I would very much recommend it. It's actually an extremely dark blue shade that looks nearly black and works very well at making my eyes seem whiter and brighter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/1/2012 9:24:00 PM More reviews by loveking

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

What I love about this mascara is that no matter how many coats you apply this baby won't clump your lashes at all. It's pretty average and I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this (AUD$38).

It doesn't do much and I should've listened to most of the reviews here on MUA. It will lengthen your lashes and add only a little volume but it does nothing else. I would say it has an average formula/texture because it's not TOO thin that it'll run off my lashes but it isn't thick enough to give me that desired umph.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/27/2012 9:10:00 PM More reviews by eternalxluvv

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this in a kit when I bought a clinique bronzer + lip gloss and I came to super love this mascara! I love the way it volumizes my lashes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/27/2012 6:31:00 PM More reviews by yemyesilkurbaa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I don't really use mascara to add volume or length to my lashes, I rather like to add them colour as they have a very light colour when compared to my overall complexion which basically makes me look hairless on the eyelids.
This product in black helps me get the right colour without being unnatural or completely invisible.
It never cakes or gives you spider legs when applied rightly, and I find the staying power pretty good considering this is no waterproof.
As expected from Clinique it doesn't irritate, removes easily when you want to and is worth the price!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2012 3:34:00 PM More reviews by missclaritaxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is one of my all time favorite mascara. It makes my lashes look longer and fuller without it looking caked on. Very natural looking as well. I like to do my top lashes first and then the bottom without adding any more products on the brush. I like how it makes it look like I put eyeshadow under my eyes even though I don't because it makes my eyes look bigger. This is a little pricier than drugstore products but definitely worth it for me. I had 2 sample sizes and a regular sized one that I lost during me moving around which was quite unfortunate and haven't quite gotten around to purchasing more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/15/2012 7:46:00 PM More reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have sensitive eyes, and Clinique is great for that. This mascara was not irritating at all and is fragrance free. It stayed put pretty well for a non-waterproof mascara (I really dont like waterproof mascaras) with some flaking. I find the formula a little dry. My complaint would be that I really didnt like the brush. Its quite large, and didnt really seperate my lashes as well as I would like. This mascara didnt wow me. I would like to try some of their other formulas.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2012 9:00:00 AM More reviews by Glor21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product work for me
make amazing lashes, stay all day long and removed easily just with water

Is this review helpful? Yes No