September 2, 2014 | 1821 users online

Foundations - Make Up For Ever - HD High Definition Foundation

rated 3.6(2150 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2013 9:20:00 PM More reviews by emilyh8

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I have extremely oily, acne-prone sensitive skin and I did not find that this foundation worked for me at all. It is a light-medium coverage foundation but I felt it enhanced the appearance of my blemishes and made my skin look oilier than usual even when I used blotting paper and set powder. HOWEVER, I did my Mum's makeup with the very same product and she has normal skin with rosacea but she has no blemishes or oiliness and this foundation looked amazing on her! It looked so natural and flawless. It didn't react with her skin badly at all and her skin is also very sensitive so if you have normal-combination skin then I think this foundation would work wonders for you, especially in summer where you don't want full coverage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/4/2013 8:24:00 PM More reviews by Lil3MissSarah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hmmm....
I finaly bought this stuff the other day for my wedding reception. I usually use MAC face and body but the shade I have is a tad to light which is fine for every day, but horrible for photos. I needed something that covered well and matched my skintone to a T while not giving a white cast. So I picked up a bottle of this HD foundation that I've been hearing about and I think it's OK. There's much better foundation out there. In person this foundation looks average. In photos (I tested it for photos) this is a Godsend. No joke. In photos it looks like my face went through the computer and had some retouching.
The application process was a struggle to figure out. 1st I used a dense brush to buff the product on and I put powder over it. It looked like a cakey mess. Then I tried buffing it on with the same brush (I also tried a stippling brush) and no powder and I got the same result so I washed my face since I'm not ready to face the 40 year old me yet. Then I tried applying it with my fingers (no powder) like how I do with MAC F&B. This gave me an even flawless finish. I wear this over Lancome La Base Pro. I wanted to see if I could forgo powder but the foundation started to look oily as the day went on. If this lasted all day without a powder it would be my HG. I gave it 4 lippies because it does what it's supposed to do and the shade range is phenomenal.
EDIT: I hate to say this but I'm starting to not like this foundation. Every time I put it on I'm reminded of the collosal price tag. I realized that this foundation is dramatially over priced. The packaging is plastic. The quality of the product is not that great. It does not last at all. I bought this foundation to look good in photos but on a few recent night outs I discovered that the nice photo effect wears off after a couple hours and leaves a big greasy mess. I have dry skin and this foundation makes my skin look like a grease pit. And I wear it over a primer. I tried putting powder over it, but no. I still look like a mess. Yep. This is one of my regret purchases.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/2/2013 9:49:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I am so so glad I did not jump on the MUFE HD foundation bandwagon years ago and buy without trying it this when it was all the rage. I have gotten samples of this foundation multiple times in multiple different shades over 4 or 5 years always hoping I'd find one that works and they all... suck. Really, this stuff sucks. There's no other way to say it. It's runny, doesn't blend well, it's drying, it doesn't provide much (if any) coverage, it seeps into your pores, it oxidizes and just looks like crap in general. I don't see how this foundation works for anyone. Maybe it does, but I'm inclined more people buy it for the name than actual effectiveness.
Update: I had to add a couple more lippies because... I got ANOTHER sample, this time in 120, and it was a dead on match. Then I tried it with the beauty blender and it wasn't horrible... but it's still far from amazing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2013 4:23:00 AM More reviews by icallitbliss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Love this stuff! My face has been looking amazing since I started using it. Perfect color too, and I'm extremely pale and hard to match! HG and will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/27/2013 10:21:00 PM More reviews by sroben

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I had been using drugstore powder foundations for years (Neutrogena, CoverGirl, you name it!), and about six months ago I finally decided to change to a higher quality foundation. It took me SO LONG to realize that my skin was breaking out all the time because of the cheap quality of drugstore foundations! My friend recommended me the Makeup For Ever HD, but I was skeptical to use it because I usually don't like liquid foundations.

All I can say is WOW! My skin has never looked better - it doesn't even look like I'm wearing foundation! I use only one or two pumps for my whole face with my MAC 187 brush and it gives AMAZING coverage. I don't break out anymore, it hides my redness, and it blends really well! It also lasts all day without melting - having college classes all day without having to retouch with powder was refreshing!

It is a little pricey at $42, but it lasts a long time and is totally worth it - love the pump on the bottle too! This is my HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/27/2013 1:36:00 PM More reviews by Ambercooper

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have been using MAC foundation for about 6 years and recently decided to try a new foundation because i found the MAC ones quite orange and they looked awful in photos.
im not ashamed to admit that i wear foundation everyday but at the same time i dont want it to be obvious from a mile away that i am wearing it.

I LOVE this foundation. i will admit that by the end of the day it is noticeably worse off than it is in the morning but im in college from 8-7 so im not really surprised. The selection of colours was astounding. Since ive started wearing it I have had people ask me if i was wearing makeup and commenting on how natural it looks. It does what it says and looks incredible in photos. It doesnt look shiny or greasy, it looks natural and healthy!

I have been using my old MAC powder over it. The man in the shop recommended the translucent silica HD powder with it as they were designed to go together. I said I would buy it but it was out of stock and won't be in for three weeks!!! This just shows how popular it is. They have trouble keeping it in stock.

I have a feeling that when this does come in and i get it, it will make a huge difference to the length of time that it lasts but i will update when i get it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2013 7:00:00 AM More reviews by Italiasfinest30

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This foundation was the very first high end one I've ever bought. I fell in love with it immediately because the coverage was perfect for my skin and the color matched my exact skin tone. The formula is nice and I love the fact that it had a pump to give the right amount of product for application. I recently ran out and I would definitely buy this product again, however it is pricey. 42 bucks for a foundation can be a bit obnoxious but I do think it is worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/24/2013 10:08:00 PM More reviews by iEndlessly

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This has been a foundation I have had my eye on for a very long time. I've always held back on this purchase for many reasons, but after realizing that I required a good, full and long lasting foundation I finally made a trip to Sephora to buy this.

From what I understand, this product has medium coverage but is fantastic for acne prone skin. I have been using this product for awhile now and have yet to have any problems. This product has fueled my love for MUF. There are pros and cons obviously, and I can definitely see how this isn't a product for everyone.

PROS: I really like the coverage. I have mostly gotten rid of my acne, the only thing remaining are the scars I have accumulated from my junior and high school days. I love how lightweight this foundation is while offering me a good coverage. The HD foundation line also offers a nice range of colors, so finding the right shade for me was not a problem. The product is very easy to blend and frankly a little goes a long way. This has made it's way on my makeup essentials list for sure; and does last for around 8 hours (minimum). The packaging is plastic, which is nice if you are accident prone like myself.

CONS: I loath the packaging, I really do. The pump is good dispensing the amount for every day use (I use about 1 pump for my face per day), however when it comes to the last bits of foundation it is almost impossible to get it all out. The packaging also makes it difficult to determine when you will run out of foundation because you can only judge the remaining amount by weight (which is a hit or miss when it comes down to it). Because of this packaging issue, I am constantly keeping a new HD foundation on backup at home at all times. The packaging is also in a plastic cylinder shape, which is a bit bulky to carry around in your make up bag, but it is manageable. I recently have been having issue with the black lid, finding that it does break and fall apart when in my makeup bag. I have never had this problem before and I am hoping it was just a one time thing. This foundation is decently pricey, it is around 60.00$ CAN.

In terms of the best application, I like this foundation best applied with my fingers or the Beauty Blender sponge. It really does create a nice HD effect in photos and at special events. Overall, I really liked this product.

Will be rebuying for the next while for sure!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/24/2013 8:55:00 PM More reviews by emcclamroch

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

When this foundation is used as it is intended, it is perfect.

This is not a day time friendly foundation. Nor is it a good "everyday foundation"

This foundation is amazing at evening/night. This is the foundation you wear to special events or if you are being photographed.
It was formaulted for those being filmed or photographed in high defention. Hence the name HD. Wear this for photos, weddings, prom, formal events and what not.
If you wear this foundation for normal day to day activities you probably won't like it.
Don't want to shell out the money if you only plan on using it once? Go to Sephora and get a sample. Be sure to get color matched why you are at it. Just ask super nicely.
Apply a primer before hand and apply preferably with a stippling brush (blenders work nice as well) Set with powder and setting spray. (I don't recommend the hd setting powder as it sometimes leaves a white cast in photos. Try Rimmels Stay Matte Pressed Powder in your color)
When used properly, this foundation is a dream come true.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2013 8:28:00 AM More reviews by Natalie94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation, after using MAC and Bobbi Brown, I've found this the best foundation yet, it matches my skin tone perfectly, as well as giving me an airbrushed look which MAC and Bobbi Brown have failed to do. Definitely my Favourite foundation yet and would definitely recommend. It's quiet an expensive foundation, but I'd say it's definitely worth the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No