November 26, 2014 | 1755 users online

Masks - Aztec Secret - Indian Healing Clay

rated 4.4(480 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2011 3:40:00 PM More reviews by Barbiebuxxx

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I don't think this did anything for my face. I used it for about two months at least once a week before writing a review on it. It made my face feel tight and felt some suction action going on, so I got excited because I thought to myself, Oh wow this is probably going to make my skin look amazing once I wash it off. I was wrong, after washing it off I still had my nasty blackheads and my skin looked the same, only beet red. I was disappointed because I thought I would love it because of the great reviews it had here on MUA.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2011 10:52:00 AM More reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I can't really say that this did anything for my facial skin, because I didn't really use it on my face enough to say it made a difference. But, this stuff is great for rashes and bug bites. I occasionally get heat rash and rashes from wearing costume jewelry on my neck and chest.
My body skin seems to be more sensitive than my facial skin, and any non- precious metal is liable to break me out. I've tried hydrocortisone, benadryl,, anti- bacterial cream to clear up the rashes. My allergy issues are pretty bad anyway, so I already take a daily dose of claritin, and it would take forever for the rashes to clear up. But, one day while putting the clay mask on my face, I put it on my neck too. And bam, the rash cleared up/ dried up in like an hour. I then started putting the clay on the reoccurring rashes, and every time the clay would clear them up with just one mask application. I've used it on insect bites too, and it works at "drying" them up and making them not itchy. I'll always keep this clay around because it really works.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2011 10:36:00 AM More reviews by DazzleDiaries

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff...its my go to mask when i need a deep clean. i use it once a week and i have gotten all of my friends and family hooked! i mix 1 part clay with .5 part organic apple cider vinegar. i put it on my face and curl up to read a book or watch some TV. after about 30 minutes or so (sometimes i leave it on longer) i wash it off and my skin, although red, feels wonderful. and the next morning i always wake up to glowing skin!!! its like magic. i always get compliments on my skin the day after i do my mask. Love that its an all natural, easy, DIY....i dont think i will ever love another mask as much as my precious Indian Healing Clay mask!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/9/2011 1:20:00 AM More reviews by PaperAlias

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad that I finally decided to give this mask a chance. I have oily/acne-prone skin, so I usually lean towards clay masks, and this is by far my favorite one, as it feels most effective. It's a real gunk-sucker!


I bought this on Amazon for a little under $8 with free shipping. Very inexpensive for 1 lb. of product. This is pure sun-dried calcium bentonite clay. The clay itself is greenish in color with no scent. I scooped up 1 teaspoon of clay and mixed it with one teaspoon of ACV. (Note: I've read somewhere that using metal bowls/utensils will deteriorate the potency of the clay, hence the use of glass/plastic is recommended.) It seemed a little bit watery, so I kept adding a bit of extra clay powder until I had the consistency I wanted. The result was a smooth whipped texture. It felt nice and creamy going on, and I applied enough for a nice opaque and even layer. The label on the tub says that it contains enough product for 10-15 masks... but I would imagine that you really need to use VERY thick layers to only get that many masks out of one jar. This tub looks like it would last me well over a year, if not two!


Within about 5 minutes, I could already feel it start to tighten and pull. Shortly after, I begin experiencing the pulsating sensation that everyone has mentioned. Bentonite helps stimulate blood circulation in the skin. That, combined with the pulling, is what makes it pulse and slightly redden the skin afterwards. After about 10 minutes, it starts to feel a little bit more uncomfortable. It even itched a little bit. This isn't something you can put on and then eat/talk afterward. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's best to keep your face as still as possible until you're ready to remove it.


After about 15 minutes, I find that it has pulled my skin so much that my lips were partially open. I decide that I've reached my tolerance level and hop in the shower to rinse it off. Keep in mind that the thicker the mask, the more difficult it is to remove. If you use a light layer, you may be able to get away with just using warm water, but for thicker applications, a wash cloth, or a shower, helps remove it much more easily.


I loved how CLEAN this made my face feel afterwards. This is great at bringing gunk to the surface. I can imagine some people may experience initial purging with this (especially those with very congested skin), but for me I did not. My skin felt very soft and my pores did look noticeably cleaner and smaller in size. It didn't completely remove all blackheads on my nose, but I'll update on how that goes with more regular use. I followed up with my regular acne medication and moisturizer afterward. I was so amazed that I decided to try it as a spot treatment that night. I had a couple of picked areas on my face, with one stubborn pimple on my forehead. The next morning, these areas did look a bit better. The pimple was noticeably smaller in size and easier to conceal, and the picked spots looked more healed and smooth. Instant holy grail? Perhaps!


The first time I used it, I mixed it with Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar (which is only about 5% acidity) but it still felt very effective for me. Of course, I plan on trying plain raw ACV when I get a chance. As someone who has struggled with acne for most of her life, I think this is an excellent product. It's inexpensive and effective. I love simple, no-frills skin care. I also love the DIY aspect of it; anyone can tailor this mask to fit their own needs and skin types.


For me, the clay and ACV seemed effective enough for what I wanted, but as I continue to use this, I'll definitely experiment with other additional ingredients. So far so good. Highly recommended!

UPDATE Feb2013: This mask can feel a bit too drying during winter, even for my oily skin. But to make the drying action more bearable, I find that adding some honey (how much will depend on how dry you are; I am oily and add about 1/4 to 1/3 tsp) works great. I like how this can be adjusted to accommodate your skin through all seasons.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2011 10:08:00 AM More reviews by appletea

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I always like it when I try a product that proves to be just as awesome as everyone says it is. I tried it last night for the first time, applying it before I hopped in the shower. I figured because of the thickness and consistency of the clay, taking it off in the shower would be less complicated. I left the masque on for about 20 minutes and it did make my face feel tight, but not uncomfortable. Because I made a little too much and applied it very thickly to my face, it didn't dry entirely by the time I was ready to shower; I am assuming this is why my face didn't feel super tight or "pulse." As I rinsed it off, I felt a little disappointed since I could still feel many of the underskin bumps along my chin, cheeks and forehead. But when I woke up today, my skin was clear and most of the bumps had disappeared entirely or dried up and shrunk. My forehead was completely smooth and there are only one or two areas on my cheeks and chin where I probably should have let it dry longer. I'm amazed at the results and I think I'm going to try it again tonight, dabbing it on the areas needing a little more TLC and applying a thinner layer. However, I would caution that this masque seems as if it would be drying and I probably will only use this once a week or less after this initial "purging" so not to over dry my skin. FYI, I mixed mine with apple cider vinegar, though I have heard of people using green tea or water with success as well. Personally, I weirdly enjoy the scent of apple cider vinegar so I don't mind having it on my face. Finally, my only *minor* gripe about the product is that the tub was so packed full of clay powder that it was impossible to scoop out without spilling a bit. This is definitely worth the price and will last me ages.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/4/2011 1:58:00 PM More reviews by webacat

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Yes, I'll buy this again, but one canister lasts forever. I've been using Aztec Indian Healing Clay for years. I think I bought this canister in 2001 and there's still lots left. Sometimes I use it weekly (summer months) and sometimes just every so often. (I also use the Aspirin mask or plain yogurt at other times.)

I mix up a little bit of the powder in a dessert bowl with a little bit of OACV. I prepare it so it's souffle fluffy. I apply it with my finger tip paying attention to sneaky areas like the sides of the nose, which are prone to oil, blackheads and other impurities. The area between the eyebrows gets special attention, too.

You're probably suppose to lie down and enjoy the pulling power of the mask, but I'm always running around doing things. So, I can't even tell you how long I leave it on -- 10 mins?

The removal takes longer than the application, because I want to do it gently. I soften it first with a warm wet washcloth and gently ease it off with the washcloth. Then there's more washclothing and splashing until it's finally gone. The revealed skin is soft and clean. There are a few red patches in odd areas, like the sides of my forehead, but these go away quickly.

Sometimes I follow this mask up with a moisturizing one. Sometimes I just put on day or night cream as appropriate.

I've used other mud masks, but for the price this tops them all. I've tried Aztec Indian Healing Clay with plain water, but I find it works much better with the OACV.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2011 1:43:00 PM More reviews by kristamb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This really is a powerful face mask. If you can stand the smell of vinegar on your face for about 30 minutes, this mask really does seem to do well for your face! I usually take a custard bowl and a teaspoon to mix up the powder with vinegar, into a thick paste (don't make it too runny, or it will not stay on your face!). After I remove the mask my face is usually red for another 30 minutes or so, but it definitely feels clean and detoxified! I like the fact that this product comes in a powder, because it lasts forever and you can create your own consistency. I think the label says you can also use water instead of vinegar, but I always use vinegar. Apple Cider Vinegar is supposed to be great for your complexion (Google it). I picked this up at Whole Foods for $6.99, and it's practically the last face mask I'll ever need (huge container). I would highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/3/2011 5:40:00 AM More reviews by Makamae97

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First of all let me tell you I have very sensitive, acne prone, oily t zone skin,and mediocre pores. I have been battling acne/cystic acne for over 20 years. For the last 6 months I have been researching product for acne skin without all the synthetic stuff in it. I break out with almost all otc products. On youtube found alot of good reviews on this product and on MUA. So for the great reviews/ awesome cheap price/ nice ingrediant decided to get it.

I have been using Aztec Indian Healing Clay mask for about a month and a half and I have noticed these major differences...

1) pores are drastically smaller
2) pulls blackheads/whiteheads out or to the surfaces
3) skin looks/feels sooo much smoother
4) acne(regular pimples) is/are a little better (30 %)
5) when I have a pimple it does heal it alot faster
6) cystic acne gets dried up much faster, sometimes half the size
7) skin is soooo soft

I usually leave mask on for 30 mins then take a shower ( easier to take off ). Then I moisturize- one time I forgot and face was dry in the morning. Face is red for a little under an hour but that is nothing compared to the pros....

FYI- daily routine is as follows...
morning/night- face wash with st ives green tea cleanser
moisterizer with cetaphil
organic extra virgin olive oil around eyes

3x week- exfoliate with st ives green tea scrub or st ives apricot scrub for black heads

2x week- aztec mask with organic acv

I use organic extra virgin olive oil as a makeup remover and after face wash...

So far I like this product...I will see how is works after 6 months and if it keeps on working as it does with better results I will probably buy again. I will try to update after New Years....

Hope some info works for someone else ;P

Update 8/23/13

LOOVE this stuff!!! Got my family using the mask now.

My daily routine has changed a little:

Face wash: St Ives Green Tea Scrub/ St Ives Apricot Scrub
Moisturizer/ Makeup Remover: Organic Virgin Coconut Oil

Mask I use once a month or when I get breakouts/acne

This is definately a HG in my cabinet Forever!!!!

This also works on bug bites & eczema!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/28/2011 11:44:00 PM More reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Aztec Secret

Forget any so-called silly ready-made ďmaskĒ you have ever bought. Nothing can compare.

As a full-blown beauty enthusiast & product junky, Iíve tried me some masks Ė many of which I liked Ė but I was not ready for what I was about to learn: that every ďmaskĒ I ever ďlikedĒ has NOTHING on this, baby! Nothing.

So, lets talk QHMJM, the most talked about mask. Good stuff, except it contains irritants like methyl, as do many other masks. And do you know what itís main ingredient is? Well, itís THIS! So with this you basically get the same mask, on turbo charged and minus the irritants. Most masks are chalk full of all kinds of ingredients, and this only has one: pure bentonite clay (volcanic ash). Itís simple. And it works so much better. The best part of itís simplicity is that you are able to customize it to fit your wants/needs.

I use it to shrink and purge more pores and to treat occasional acne as I get it. I mix mine with apple cider vinegar (ACV) and the more natural/pure the form, the better. (I suggest organic, w/ the mother Ė even though it looks nasty). I donít mix mine 50/50 as the instructions suggest. To me it always turns out way too watery, so I just mix in a bowl, little by little, until it becomes creamy. I donít like it to be too thick, but not too runny either. I think it is best to use a dropper to add the ACV and make very little, and add more powder/liquid as necessary. You really need a lot less then you think you do, and so itís best to air on the side of too little Ė not only save product, but because it is a pain to clean if you have a bowl full you need to wash!

I do not put it on anywhere NEAR as thick as they suggest. I put on a rather thin layer, just thick enough so that I canít see my skin. Otherwise, it will take a million years to dry. Even when I do this, it still isnít fully dry in 30 minutes. I try and leave it on as long as I can stand, but itís rarely long enough for it to dry all the way, but itís still effective. If you didnít feel it pulsate, you didnít leave it on long enoughÖ sometimes I donít feel until about 20 minutes into the process. I recommend doing something that will distract you so you donít sit there an think about how weird it feels and how badly you want to itch or chip it off. Do not go and watch something hilariousÖ when you laugh or smile it will crack off you face and itch more! Donít talk on the phone, donít try and eat, drink through a strawÖ do whatever you need to do to stay as stationary and expressionless as possible!

Also, keep it far away from your eyes & mouth. When it tightens it will become very uncomfortable if you donít, especially around the sensitive skin around the eye sockets. What I do is after Iíve smoothed it out everywhere, I take a damp Qtip and clean it up anywhere that got too close before it dries.

When itís dry, & Iím ready to remove, I start moving my face around and let as much of it crumble off as I can get. Then I take a damp warm washcloth and hold it onto the face until the mask softened and GENTLY wipe it away. You skin will be very sensitive, red, and blotchy, so please be nice to it right now. Then follow up with a basic moisturizer for sensitive skin (no fragrances, no special ingredients like chemical exfoliants or lighteners) and donít try and do any other treatments right after. Give you skin the night to recover, because this stuff is intense! I have tried using moisturizers with BHA/AHA and it just burned really bad! A lot of people complain about it being too drying, but I find a nice night cream (I use olay for sensitive skin) takes care of that. Sometimes I reapply it a couple times in the night. It you still have a issues, try adding some honey to your mixture. Also, donít over use it, either. Only use it when & where you need it!

This stuff really does tighten on the skin. You can feel it; thatís the pulsing they are talking about. You can also tell because if a piece chips off the skin under that area kind bulges out around the drying mask and you can see it pulling at the edgesÖ itís the weirdest thing ever. Honestly, it kinda creeps me out. Itís worth it though. After I take it off my skin is smooth, firm and inflammation is reduced. My pores are visibly smaller and cleared out. Overall skin looks healthy and glowy.

You can do variations of this mask using things like tea, honey, etc Ė so make sure you read as many reviews as you can so you can see the options. For me an occasional mask w/ this + ACV works wonders.

If acne is in the early stages, this will bring them to the surface and make it look a little worse. This pimple has now ďcome to a headĒ and it will now heal faster. If you are into extracting, then a lot of times after this mask a pimple that was too deep to extract before ready for purging. If not, then just keep doing the mask as a spot treatment until it dries out. Healing acne, inflamed acne or recently picked at acne looks much less inflamed after this mask, but the areas are still very sensitive and need to be left alone to heal.

Overall, I am very happy with this mask, and I donít see myself using anything else in a tube ever again. I forget about it for a while, and then when I try it again I am amazed all over. Nothing has cleared up my skin so quickly & effectively. $6 a tub is an amazing deal and it will last ages! I have used it so much and I am not even half way through it yet!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2011 2:29:00 PM More reviews by duncan123

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This stuff is AMAZING!!! I heard about this from a friend and then came on MUA and saw that people generally love it. So, I was in a Sprouts Market the other day and bought a tub for $7.68. It's basically an extremely finely milled dry clay. Per the instructions, mix it with Apple Cider Vinegar or water until it's a paste and then slather it onto your face. On the label, it says that your face will "pulse" and that happens about 20 min. in. I didn't have a lot of trouble getting this off...I mean, it takes some time, but it came off pretty easily for me. And I was left with red (this goes away) but very smooth, clean skin. I did this last Sat. night and have used it twice since then and I truly believe it has improved the texture of my skin and it seems to be evening my skin tone. I can't say enough how much I love this stuff -- it works beyond my expectations and it's very inexpensive (the tub will last FOREVER....I only needed a spoonful for my face). Oh, the instructions say this, but make sure you use a non-reactive (i.e., NOT metal) bowl to mix this in and use something other than a metal spoon to mix it (I used a plastic spoon). Five lippies for sure and if I could, I'd give it more! The only thing that I don't like about it is that it's not widely available -- I have only seen this in Whole Foods, Sprouts, Vitamin Shop. I'm sure it's in other stores, but I could not find it in any regular supermarket or drug store. But that's almost a non-gripe because like I said, one tub of this stuff will last you months and months and months!! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No