July 31, 2014 | 1760 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - NARS - Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.0(326 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2012 7:11:00 PM More reviews by Melroseco2000

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I recently purchased this tinted moisturizer in Seychelles (Med Dark 2) and had to return/exchange it for Malaga (Med Dark 1). The Med Dark 2 was too orange for my complexion. I have worn MAC Select Tint Moisturizer in NC45 for several years, but they discontinued it and replaced the line with a more limited tinted moisturizer collection that was way too red/dark for me. I initially tried Laura Mercier but it was too shiny and wet looking for my oily skin. Also, their colors (Tan/Walnut) were too red and dark to look natural on my skin. I found the NARS tinted moisturizer to be a much better match to my skin tone and it has a lovely finish. I still use MAC Prep and Prime Skin Finish under my tinted moisturizer and the MAC translucent finishing powder on top, but when combined with the NARS tinted moisturizer, my skin looks fresh all day long and does not require a midday touch up with powder. Instead of looking "made-up", I look like I have flawless skin. I am sold!! By the way, I also enjoy the fresh lemony scent at application. :) It does not linger, however.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/8/2012 3:32:00 PM More reviews by ml176

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I received a sample that lasted me 3 days. This is probably the best TM I've used. I like tinted moisturizers because they're quick, light, and easy to use. My biggest complaint with tinted moisturizers is they make my face feel really oily. However, I think NARS gives me the least oily feeling. I just use a few dabs on my face, and rub in. I get coverage almost all day, and only do one quick touch up with powder when I'm working. I received the St. Moritz color, which was a tad too dark for me, but I could still make it work.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/6/2012 11:50:00 PM More reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got a generous sample of this at Sephora. I chose St. Moritz which is too dark and too yellow, even for someone with yellow undertones like me. I understand it's just a tinted moisturizer, but it has zero, zip, zilch coverage. I'm running out of patience with people who find "good coverage" in everything, even in water. Either they follow the hype in a robotic fashion, or they can't tell (bleep) from shinola. Apart from that, this leaves my face too shiny. No, not "glowy." Shiny. As in greasy, oily. If people are willing to plunk down $42 for a shiny yellow face, well, you know what they say: fools and their money are easily parted. If you need something with more coverage and a more realistic color, look elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2012 12:48:00 PM More reviews by happynappy1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

I am NW50 and I am still waiting for a cosmetic company to make a tinted moisturizer dark enough to suit my skin. The darkest of the Nars tinted moistuirzers (Polynesia) is still a tad too light for my skin. It's sheer so it blends well but 1/2 shade darker would make a huge difference.

In the end, it wouldn't matter because there are soooo many 'cones in this product that I had a breakout by day 2 of wearing it. Back to the drawing board.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2012 12:30:00 PM More reviews by akhurdajian

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using Nars Sheer Glow in Stromboli for about 2 years. I decided to swtich back to tinted moisturizer for a more natural look. I have used Time Balm, Laura Mercier and Tarte and this one by far is my favorite. It is formulated without parabens, which is a huge plus for me. It also offers a nice level of coverage while still making you look 'radiant.' It also lasts the whole day for me. My skin is normal to combination and so far no complaints about the consistency. Nordstroms gave me a generous samle of the Alaska and St. Moritz. I ended up sticking with the Alaska. THe St. Moritz was too dark, even though the sales lady recommended that one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/4/2012 3:17:00 PM More reviews by foodporncess

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Finland about 3 weeks ago. I've used it nearly every day since. Sorry, don't know my MAC shade as I can't wear MAC foundation (breaks me out severely). I know this isn't marketed as a BB creme but I have seen amazing results in my skin over the past three weeks. My scarring looks beter and the texture of my skin is much smoother. I have also started using a Clarsonic in this time period, so it may be a combination of the two...

When using the NARS TM, I start with Smashbox Primer in green, then put this on. I follow with Chanel Correcteur Perfection (can't remember the shade). I finish off my make up with MUF HD Powder and my make up stays all day, no shine, no sliding off. The only other foundation that lasts for me like this is Chanel Perfection Lumiere. And this is cheaper!

I couldn't be happier with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2012 11:21:00 PM More reviews by Ewabili

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Although Nars isn't marketing this TM as a BB cream it is a multi-tasker. There is some moisture in this (nothing to quench dry skin though) there are brightening agents, vitamins and sea extracts and compared to most Eastern BB creams on the market right now it comes in 9 shades. Being true to the Nars colour scale, it's pretty much on the yellowy side of the spectrum. I wear Siberia in Nars and found Finland a touch darker but since the coverage is light you don't have to match exactly. It offers much more coverage than a tinted moisturizer; it's more on par with Bourjois' After 10 Hours of Sleep foundation but lighter than Chanel's Vitalumière Aqua. I like the finish, it looks dewy and soft and virtually traceless, this won't mattify your skin so put a matifying serum or lotion on your t-zone if it's oily (try fresh Umbrian Clay serum). I've been wearing it for a month now with no issues.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2012 11:08:00 PM More reviews by malilauren93

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Black

I decided to try a tinted moisturizer when a few people at different make up counters told me that I didnt need foundation because I had a nice complextion. I went into sephora and asked for a sample of the smashbox one but wasnt satisfied because I thought I needed more coverage. I decided to get a sample of the this one and loved it as soon as I put it on. Its smells nice, its easy to rub into my skin, and its the perfect amount of coverage. Even though the darkest color is a few shades lighter than my skin tone (NW50) it looks fine. I been trying to pull off a really natural look lately and this helps me pull it off. This helps me with the "make up no make up look" lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2012 5:07:00 PM More reviews by al218

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Dries too dry.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2012 1:10:00 PM More reviews by chiggy5

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in the shade Finland, here is the website info; Finland
(lightest with a neutral balance of pink and yellow undertones)
For my neutral leaning warm skin this definition seems like it would have worked but it turned out too yellow for me. I wanted to keep it because it felt like it had a built in primer, hence all the silicones in it but I'm not allergic so there was no problem, it gave such a radiant glow, a little bit went a long way and the coverage was very good, not patchy, cakey or heavy...it blended nicely. But ultimately I had to return it due to the shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No