October 24, 2014 | 1953 users online

Pressed Powders - New York Color - Pressed Translucent Powder



image 0

rated 4.0(360 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.5
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2004 11:23:00 AM More reviews by deadmilk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This powder is great. I've been using it for a week now & it does exactly what a powder should do- sets my makeup & keeps me matte. The packaging is totally cheap & cheesey looking , but I'm over it. Must be applied very lightly to avaoid being chalky though. I'm so glad I purchased this! & for so cheap too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2004 4:28:00 AM More reviews by devilzwind

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an average product. It's cheap and works well, and used to be a HG for me, until I realized the translucent color was beginning to look ashy for me. So, I would suggest using a tinted one that matches your skin color instead of using translucent. That said, it does absorb oil well and is a good cheap fix.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/8/2004 9:23:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When I first put this on, I used the sponge. Yikes! A big white poof of powder on my NC30 skin.

Now I've figured out how to make it work - put it on sheerly and with a big brush. Any more and I look ghostly - so, it's not really "translucent." If you're light though, you're going to love it, b/c it's nicely milled, esplly for a d/s powder; doesn't cause any funny buildup; and takes away all the shine. I sometimes even use this instead of loose powder to set my MU.

I took one lippie off for the packaging, which is butt-ugly.

Edit: I'm giving it 5 lippies again. Ugly packaging or not, the low price and great quality make this a keeper.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2004 4:23:00 AM More reviews by AmyFay

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this powder and the price can't be beat. Still, I don't really know how well this compact can handle being in my purse. Also the puff is worthless. A great product that just needs better packaging. It absorbs oil very well and blends very smoothly. I don't find myself reapplying hardly at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2004 11:16:00 PM More reviews by QuinnBridget

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This powder is wonderful, it works better than any other I have ever tried and is a fraction of the cost! Doesn't clog my pores and lasts all day, colour matchs my skin wonderfully and blends in easy. However if I have a dry patch it off course makes it harder to blend as with any powder. The case is a bit ugly but I'm not gonna complain, it even has a build in mirror.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/15/2004 6:19:00 AM More reviews by Exotica28

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

omg this is like, $1.00 something and works so well! It went on smooth and blended in perfect and everything! I will defenitely get again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2004 1:29:00 AM More reviews by jaimmie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this! Great powder, CHEAP price! And it's light enough for me!!! Most every other brand EVER has been way too dark and/or oxidized on me, this hasn't. Great stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2004 9:17:00 PM More reviews by velveteenchaos

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

jane's pressed powder used to be my HG, but then i noticed that it was always getting cakey in the compact or breaking into a dusty mess. so instead of picking up another jane after the last compact caked up, i went ahead and bought this. i love it! so cheap, and i really like the cute little pink sponge that comes with it (much better than jane's, which is useless). i just wish the compact had a hinge, instead of just plastic. oh well, it's super cheap and great quality so i'll keep buying it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/7/2004 7:11:00 PM More reviews by getstrong29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

the translucent color is a little light but this powder gets an A++ for it's mildness and it does not cause me to breakout. my skin is so clear now. i have too be careful because i have really dry skin and this powder is meant to absorb oil. funny how it balances out my skin perfectly. can't wait to try natural beige this summer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/2/2004 6:49:00 PM More reviews by mandigirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

For this super cheap price, I find this a really great pressed powder for my ivory skin. It's not cakey, chalky or makes me look whiter/darker than I am. I've tried just about every compact and I still like Maybelline Finish Matte the best but I can't find it anymore so for 2.99 this is my new powder! Don't use the sponge that comes with it though. You should first apply with a Large brush then use a good powder puff in the T-zone or where you get most shiny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No