Maybelline Super Stay 24 Hour Concealer

3.3

298 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Isododecane, Propylene Glycol, Diisocetyl Dodecanedioate, Polyglyceryl 4 Isostearate, Nylon 12, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl/PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Talc, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Propylene Carbonate, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Methylparaben, Polysorbate 20, Disodium EDTA, Butylparaben, May Contain (+/-): (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides)


on 11/21/2010 11:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I tried to like this concealer but I really couldnt. The packaging is really nice and easy, its average price but when I used this concealer it made my pores look HUGE and clogged them really bad.

It was only OK for under the eyes but anywhere else was very very bad and no matter how much i tried to blend it in it still made my pores look huge and accentuated dryness. Oh well!



on 11/16/2010 7:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can only use this concealer when I blend it with a moisturizer...yes, it is that dry. It does not flake but it does cake in the small lines under my 22 year old eyes. I use this every day, however, because it stays on my skin all day. I am starting to despise the tiny (was this a joke?) bottle it came in, and I am resorting to scraping it out with the applicator until I can gather enough money for a knock-out concealer.
This concealer is not good for blemishes, because without a moisturizer it would pull the skin and actually create more redness on my skin. Thus...my search continues.


on 11/16/2010 1:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Didn't work for me. I wasn't expecting it to last 24 hours, but it didn't even last a couple of hours for me. It caked beyond belief. I will no buy thi again!


on 11/14/2010 9:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can't believe i discovered this NOW. I should've purchased this a long, long time ago....


Okay so i started 'ranting' though i'm not 100% happy with it (obviously). however, i think this product is a great find, a drugstore concealer that rivals high-end products (Helena Rubinstein).


I tried this one and the mousse concealer, however the latter was available in two shades only (White Vampire and Bleached Ghost- thanks but no thanks), then smeared this on the back of my hand while rolling my eyes and getting ready to hit other counters....and something struck me. It looks and acts EXACTLY like my beloved Helena Rubinstein Magic Concealer...without the hefty price tag (that one was expensive like shiz...35 if i'm not mistaking).The consistency, the way it blended in, the pigmentation and the shade (Medium) mimic 100% HR's MC in 03 Dark. I couldn't believe it.



I love the packaging. I have always had a soft spot for these spongey-applicator concealers, i don't know why. They're a bit easier to apply than the squeeze-tube versions, you still get your fingers dirty but that way, i feel you can control the quantity (a smear versus a squeeze than can end up all over your clothes/furniture etc).



Okay so this concealer looks very rich on my skin. Of course that, being the drugstore product it is, it will still crease a little (FAR less than other drugstore stuff) and get a tiny bit dry (not flaky). It looks a bit drier than Helena Rubinstein (aka duh duh duh) but ....surprise surprise....LASTS LONGER. WAY LONGER.



The HR (which i love&adore) has one big disadvantage....it used to last all day (i never powder my undereye area because it shows all the fine lines, which i hate) but a few weeks ago it started to magically vanish three hours after i apply it. Boo.



The Maybelline one stays put where i apply it and doesn't budge. it covers everything (think purplish circles) and even illuminates the area. I specifically picked a darker-ish shade because i am so tired of all the 'light' (white cast) halo everything else gives me...


so yep. this is a great find that i will most certainly repurchase. Gave it 4 lippies only for the minor creasing (oh well....) and for the rip off Maybelline franchisers engage in on Swedish territory (paid the equivalent of 17 USD here!). Other than that, it's great.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This concealer works quite well on blemishes and although I have acne-prone skin, I don't mind the packaging because I usually dab a bit of this product on the back of my clean hand and use the product either with a q-tip, brush, or fingers; whichever is both more sanitary and convenient at that time. This concealer does not work well for under my eyes because it brings attention to very fine lines that do not show up when using other concealers or even when bare.


on 11/11/2010 4:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i have really bad acne scars and acne. and i must say this covers them pretty well. i HATE the packaging. it is s spell for disaster only because it spreads acne. BUT the concealer its self is pretty good. i havent used a whole lot of concealers and i am on the hunt for a new one but this will do for now. it does crease a tad bit. and you really have to get used to it. it does dry real fast. you should do one side of the face at once (just a suggestion) but pretty much its just here for now till i find a new and better one :)


on 11/4/2010 1:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this concealer, it's the best one i've tried so far. It doesn't dry out or sink into fine lines, It covers my dark circles really well and manages to blend into any foundation i use.
10/10 :)


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Maybelline Super Stay 24 Hour Concealor is very pigmented, opaque, dries fast, and has decent staying power unless it rains or unless your skin is extremely greasy (I have combination skin). I like the thin consistency because it feels weightless on my face. I like the wand applicator because it allows me to control how much I want to use. I think that some people might have problems blending this concealor because of how fast it dries, but if you apply a little (a LITTLE) at a time and tap it onto your face with warm fingers to blend it out, it should not be a problem. If you want more coverage, just apply over the same area until you are satisfied... well, this is the application method that satisfies me. If you have very dry skin, this may look cakey unless you are applying it over moisturiser... but then it might slide off.


There were only a few shades of this concealor at my local Priceline but "cream" seems to match my light olive-undertoned skin. For reference I also like MAC's Select Cover-up in NC20 but I find that the Maybelline has more staying power. I have, at times, only worn this concealor over sunblock and been complimented on my complexion. So I guess it's a good match for my skin tone.


Super Stay Concealor is very similar to Maybelline Great Wear Concealor, which I used in the 1990s. I was very upset when it was discontinued. The main difference between Super Stay and Great Wear is that you get so little product these days. The tube is much smaller than the Great Wear tube. So cost per wear, it's actually cheaper to use MAC.


And finally, if you are using this to cover blemishes, this concealor does not contain cyclopentasiloxane! I am very happy about that because my skin can not tolerate cyclopentasiloxane, it just makes my blemishes worse.


3/12/10: I bought a back-up of this concealor. I don't usually buy back-ups so I guess I really like this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2010 5:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

make sure your skin is very well moisturized before using this concealer. it applies so thick, that i use a concealer brush to pull the product off the supplied wand. LESS IS MORE with this item....too much will result in cakey spots that can be difficult to fix. staying power was "meh" -definitely not 24 hours.


on 10/25/2010 1:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a great opaque concealer. This works great on my dark undereye circles and hyperpigmentation spots and it does not break me out which is a HUGE plus. This can be a bit drying so if you use it under your eyes, I would recommend using a moisturizing eye cream first. Although this has decent staying power, I don't know if I would say that it lasts 24 hours. After about 6-7 hours of wear, it does cake on me and it's fairly noticeable. I will continue to repurchase this because of the great coverage it provides and for the fact that it's so difficult to find facial products that do not break me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top