December 20, 2014 | 1679 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Colossal

rated 3.5(2729 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2008 5:06:00 AM More reviews by Yazzilicous

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Well I saw it at a local grocery store and noticed it right away with it's bright color packaging. Plus it was new, so they had stacks of them. I'm familiar with the Volum' Express turbo boost so I thought I would enjoy this one as well...especially since it's more volume than the last! I went home first to check out the reviews and defiantly knew I had to try it myself. This baby works like magic just the first stroke ;) Extends your eyelashes like crazy, amazingly beautiful I tell ya. One stitch though, it does kinda stink :( Didn't know it'd be as bad I thought but it's still really ok. The smell goes away when you apply it on, hardly noticeable. Surely wouldn't change my mind off of wanting to use this mascara! But I had to take one lippie off for the smell though. The packaging is awesome, love the neon yellow and purple! The brush is wonderfully thick and great. Well, it's self explanatory...a great mascara!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/2/2008 1:41:00 PM More reviews by Twebber69

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I really liked this mascara. It stayed on all day, didnt smudge and i was very satisfied. i will definately buy colossal again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/1/2008 10:55:00 PM More reviews by Gillian166

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this mascara because I love the Volum Express Turbo Boost and thought - if this has an even bigger brush, it will work even better!!

Unfortunately I was wrong. The actual product itself DID make my lashes look good. But it was the smell that made it unusable.

I usually like the smell of mascara - that clean almost soily smell - but this smelled like it almost had perfume added to it! I used it once and could still smell it hours later! I thought I must be imagining it, so I didn't use it for a few days, and then tried it again. Sure enough, I could STILL smell it after about 1.5 hours.

I called Maybelline and told them and they are sending me a coupon for any mascara of my choice. I'm disappointed, and won't be buying this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/1/2008 7:25:00 PM More reviews by xxpaxxxilxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was a great mascara. Lots of volume, no huge clumps of crap on my eyelashes..but....all good things must come to an end. I didn't even have this mascara a month, and when I went to go apply it the other day I pulled the wand out and this big blob of black soup just came out. It just..melted. It wasn't even near any source of heat. I just tossed it. Oh well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 10:18:00 PM More reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I had high hopes but found the formula to be thick and it clumped my lashes. Also, after using Intense XXL I was really disappointed in Colossal. It didn't lengthen and it gave the dreaded under-eye shadow. I thought the tube was cute and I didn't find the smell to be strong at all -when it was new. However, as my tube aged, the perfume grew stronger to the point that I can smell my lashes... ALL DAY!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 4:09:00 PM More reviews by SolarTantrum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ah May ZING!

I just .... have... no words.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 2:30:00 PM More reviews by Shannon1205

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

After years of searching, I've finally found a mascara to replace the old L'Oreal Voluminous (pre-"improved"). It makes my lashes look really lush and long, and the lashes themselves have actually thinned over the last few years. It doesn't smudge any more or less than any other mascara (I use non-waterproof), it's inexpensive and it works!!! I love this mascara!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/31/2008 1:33:00 PM More reviews by Kikuchijones

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I admit, I fell for the ad even though I know better. I love Cover Girl's Lash Blast and thought this would be even better. I didn't like the brush, but I'm sure it's because I'm used to the Lash Blast brush, but I found the formula to be thick and it clumped my lashes. UGH! I'm going to stick to Cover Gir Lash Blast or Lancome Definicils from now on....or until I spy another cool ad!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 1:31:00 PM More reviews by Cosmaniac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have a million mascaras. And my routine is to pick one for the week and stick with it - then move on to something else the following week. For some reason, I keep using this one. The brush is similar to DiorShow but the consitancy of the mascara is like Chanel Inmitable. I love it. My lashs are already long and plentiful, but they need a little volume boost. This mascara is perfect for making my lashes look full, glossy and gorgeous. It stays on all day too - without smudging. I am really suprised by this drugstore diamond in the rough. Even worn on the bottom lashes, this stuff does not crumble or smear. Good work Maybelline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 12:58:00 PM More reviews by Lisa1969

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I too, really love this product! It does have a strong odor at first...it smells "flowery", somewhat like "flo-nase"..however, I love it! Quite simply, even though the brush is quite large, it does a wonderful job of making lashes look nice, full and no clumping! It cleans off very easily as well. The only problem I had with the packaging is the seal at the base has come loose a couple of times giving me a mess of a blob of mascara, however putting it back in, closing and re-opening it has fixed that. Other than that, I highly recommend! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No