September 17, 2014 | 1965 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Colossal

rated 3.5(2707 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 8/1/2008 10:55:00 PM More reviews by Gillian166

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this mascara because I love the Volum Express Turbo Boost and thought - if this has an even bigger brush, it will work even better!!

Unfortunately I was wrong. The actual product itself DID make my lashes look good. But it was the smell that made it unusable.

I usually like the smell of mascara - that clean almost soily smell - but this smelled like it almost had perfume added to it! I used it once and could still smell it hours later! I thought I must be imagining it, so I didn't use it for a few days, and then tried it again. Sure enough, I could STILL smell it after about 1.5 hours.

I called Maybelline and told them and they are sending me a coupon for any mascara of my choice. I'm disappointed, and won't be buying this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/1/2008 7:25:00 PM More reviews by xxpaxxxilxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was a great mascara. Lots of volume, no huge clumps of crap on my eyelashes..but....all good things must come to an end. I didn't even have this mascara a month, and when I went to go apply it the other day I pulled the wand out and this big blob of black soup just came out. It just..melted. It wasn't even near any source of heat. I just tossed it. Oh well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 10:18:00 PM More reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I had high hopes but found the formula to be thick and it clumped my lashes. Also, after using Intense XXL I was really disappointed in Colossal. It didn't lengthen and it gave the dreaded under-eye shadow. I thought the tube was cute and I didn't find the smell to be strong at all -when it was new. However, as my tube aged, the perfume grew stronger to the point that I can smell my lashes... ALL DAY!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 4:09:00 PM More reviews by SolarTantrum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ah May ZING!

I just .... have... no words.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 2:30:00 PM More reviews by Shannon1205

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

After years of searching, I've finally found a mascara to replace the old L'Oreal Voluminous (pre-"improved"). It makes my lashes look really lush and long, and the lashes themselves have actually thinned over the last few years. It doesn't smudge any more or less than any other mascara (I use non-waterproof), it's inexpensive and it works!!! I love this mascara!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/31/2008 1:33:00 PM More reviews by Kikuchijones

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I admit, I fell for the ad even though I know better. I love Cover Girl's Lash Blast and thought this would be even better. I didn't like the brush, but I'm sure it's because I'm used to the Lash Blast brush, but I found the formula to be thick and it clumped my lashes. UGH! I'm going to stick to Cover Gir Lash Blast or Lancome Definicils from now on....or until I spy another cool ad!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 1:31:00 PM More reviews by Cosmaniac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have a million mascaras. And my routine is to pick one for the week and stick with it - then move on to something else the following week. For some reason, I keep using this one. The brush is similar to DiorShow but the consitancy of the mascara is like Chanel Inmitable. I love it. My lashs are already long and plentiful, but they need a little volume boost. This mascara is perfect for making my lashes look full, glossy and gorgeous. It stays on all day too - without smudging. I am really suprised by this drugstore diamond in the rough. Even worn on the bottom lashes, this stuff does not crumble or smear. Good work Maybelline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/31/2008 12:58:00 PM More reviews by Lisa1969

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I too, really love this product! It does have a strong odor at first...it smells "flowery", somewhat like "flo-nase"..however, I love it! Quite simply, even though the brush is quite large, it does a wonderful job of making lashes look nice, full and no clumping! It cleans off very easily as well. The only problem I had with the packaging is the seal at the base has come loose a couple of times giving me a mess of a blob of mascara, however putting it back in, closing and re-opening it has fixed that. Other than that, I highly recommend! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 4:26:00 AM More reviews by jessicaho

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

EDIT: Smudges. Grr.


OH. MY. GOD. This mascara exceeded my expectations. I believe that this will now be my new HG...


And just to let you guys know, my lashes are Asian-cursed--rather short, downward-pointing, stick-straight...in other words, a mascara nightmare.


I've been previously using Shiseido Lasting Lift Mascara to keep those stubborn babies up, but it tends to stick two or three lashes together and makes them look so sparse... So after reading all these reviews for Colossal, I decided to give this yellow-tubed wonder a try...


I curled my lashes as per usual, with my Shiseido curler and then I whipped this baby out... I was a little scared of the huge brush and afraid that because it smelled the way it did, it would sting. But I was scared of nothing! The smell goes away and this mascara volumizes, separates, lengthens... it does everything! Including curl-holding! I wore this mascara over 14 hours and it has not smudged and my lashes are still lifted up! The only problem is maybe the minor flaking--about 7 in total for both eyes by 14 hours...but that's almost negligible.


And the other great thing is that it's washable...water will get rid of a good bunch, I also went to the gym in this mascara and it was still pristine. I just finish off the leftover with Cetaphil and it cleans extremely well. No stinging either!


And to think I wasted 27.00CAD on Shiseido when I go this one that outperforms for only 6.77CAD... so... totally HG! I hope Maybelline keeps this thing around for a long time!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/30/2008 11:41:00 PM More reviews by petitepoire

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using Urban Decay Big Fatty Lash and Prescriptives False Eyelashes Mascara interchangably for the past year. So i've been on a mission to find a good cheap mascara. and Maybelline's Colossal Volume Express isn't it. the only mascaras i've found so far that work for me are pretty much the $20 or so mascaras that you can find at Sephora or department stores. and i'm tired of spending that much money on a product i'm gonna throw out in 3 months or less anyways. so i was at Target today and i saw Maybelline's Colossal Volume Express mascara. It comes in a tube that looks similar to the regular volume express but it's fatter and NEON YELLOW. you can't even miss it. the brush is really fat. unfortunately, that fat brush didn't do anything for my lashes. i usually don't mind mascaras with a fat brush. but this brush is ridiculous. First of all, i end up with more mascara on my eyelids than my actual lashes! and the thing with me is, i do have lots of lashes but as with all the hair on my body, my lashes are very fine and a little short. so with any mascara, i have to apply several coats before i start to see any results. but with this mascara i keep applying coat after coat and nothing happens. i get a little bit of volume when i let it dry in between coats but then it starts to clump a little. if anything, it gave me length instead of volume. and to top it off... it has this awful smell. it's like a weird mix of floral and raw honey. it claims to have "volume-pumping collagen" in it and that you'll get 9x the volume in one coat. but i think i got more volume out of the regular Volum' Express than i got out of this. i say, if you see it in stores, don't let the bright yellow tube lure you in. just walk away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No