Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal

3.5

2767 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water - Aqua , Paraffin , Potassium Cetyl Phosphate , Beeswax - Cera Alba , Carnauba Wax - Cera Carnauba , Acacia Senegal Gum - Acacia Senegal , Glycerin , Cetyl Alcohol , Hydroxyethylcellulose , Sodium Polymethacrylate , Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil , Hydrogenated Palm Oil , Phenethyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol , Steareth-20 , PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone , Polyquaternium-10 , Silica , Soluble Collagen , Simethicone , Panthenol , Disodium EDTA , Iron Oxides - CI 77499 - CI 77492 - CI 77491 - May Contain , Titanium Dioxide - CI 77891 - May Contain , Ultramarines - CI 77007 - May Contain , Chromium Oxide Greens - CI 77288 - May Contain , Chromium Hydroxide Green - CI 77289 - May Contain , Manganese Violet - CI 77742 - May Contain , Ferric Ferrocyanide - CI 77510 - May Contain , Mica - May Contain


on 9/7/2008 9:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nice drugstore mascara. I don't notice any smell and it stands up to sports with no raccoon eyes. Not a super lengthening or thickening product for me, but certainly does the job of more expensive brands. Hard to find in drug stores, though. If you can grab a tube, try it - I'm glad that I did.



on 9/7/2008 7:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Um, YAY. I've been on a long search for a volumizing mascara and this is the first one that hasn't disappointed me. I'll have to comb out an occasional clump, but it's a wee price to pay for mascara that does what it promises. Oh, and that wonky scent faded after about five minutes for me.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's great if you squish off excess mascara on a piece of paper and then scoop the mascara back in the tube (if you want to save it, or make it last longer).

If i apply it straight out of the tube, it looks disgusting and clumpy...and just gross. Basically, if you know how to apply it, it's great!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff smells like dandelions ..
The wand is very big & the formula's pretty runny/goopy.
Kinda ok i guess.


on 9/7/2008 3:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mascara! Maybe it's because I've been using Maybelline Great Lash and this is SUCH a vast improvement from that ---- but I am truly pleased with this mascara. I love the fat bristled brush -- it only takes a few swoops of it over the lashes to get a decent amount of coverage. It doesn't flake or smudge and isn't too wet -- I do not like a wet mascara (part of my dislike w/ the Great Lash), plus it holds a curl. It separates and spreads the lashes, no clumping or spidery-ness, for a great wide-eyed look. It does have a rose-like smell, and though I can see how it would be annoying to those who are sensitive to fragrant products, this smell doesn't bother me, though later throughout the day I do get an occasional whiff of it. I just walked out and my husband said, "enough eye makeup!" -- and since I only have on one coat of this I thought, "perfect, just what I'm going for. Need to review it." Paid about $5.50 for it at Kroger grocery.


on 9/7/2008 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A few days ago I saw my friend pull this mascara out of her makeup bag and wow...it made her lashes look insanely full and lush. I immediately looked up reviews here on MUA like always, and saw mostly glowing reviews. I have tried virtually every mascara on the market with my top faves being Mac Plushlash, Maybelline Full n Soft, and Benefit Bad Gal. The Colossal is a superior mascara which made my lashes look like falsies. LOVE! Plus, how can you not adore the canary yellow and bright purple packaging? Go buy now!

EDIT: After using this for a few weeks, my lashes became brittle and seemed really sparse. Almost like the chemicals in this formulation made my eyelashes fall out. Boo.


on 9/7/2008 2:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't understand the hype behind this mascara. The brush is too sparse for my liking, and the formula is simultaneously thin and gloppy. It gave me terrible, spider leg lashes - gross! And, to add insult to injury, Maybelline added some kind of bizarre scent to this mascara. I don't know about you all, but I don't think I want perfume near my eyes. Especially nasty perfume.


on 9/7/2008 12:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is seriously the best mascara I've ever used. I was considering dropping $20 on Too Faced Lash Injection again but saw the fun neon yellow tube and thought I'd give this a try. It's amazing! I got this awesome fake lashes look with just 2 or 3 coats. The only caveat, I guess, is also what I like the best about it...it just makes your lashes SO long...so putting it on your bottom lashes might look weird, I sometimes use a different mascara for the bottom ones.

BUY THIS! It's incredible.


on 9/7/2008 10:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just when I thought I had found my perfect mascaras (CG Lash Blast by day; Too Faced Lash Injection for night), something new comes along that will probably replace both in my m/u bag. One coat of Collossal Volum' gives great length, eye-popping volume, and lasts all day. Add a 2nd or 3rd coat, and you have the drama of lush, thick, dramatic lashes that won't clump, flake or smudge. All for $6! I haven't had only one tube of mascara in my bad since I was 12. I always needed one for length, one for volume, one for day, one for night, etc. I finally found one that can do everything!


on 9/6/2008 11:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hands down. Best. Mascara. Ever.


Back to Top