November 28, 2014 | 1935 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

This product has been discontinued

rated 1 of 5 on 11/7/2010 9:11:00 PM More reviews by pinkyfresh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Brown

Done lots of research on this foundation and everybody was saying that it was amazing and really good for people with oily skin. So i decided to try it (and mind you £12.99 is not cheap for a teenager).
WOW, this product was so bad i couldn't believe it! After all the praise i'd read about it, i was very shocked that it was terrible.
Made my face look even oilier than it already is, when it gets really oily the shade starts to change to lighter, and worst of all - it made me break out like no other! I'm still trying to nurse my face back to how it was because i used to have a lot of spots and then it was getting better until i bought this. Now i'm breaking out a lot more.
I really have nothing good to say about this. Anyone who has acne-prone skin, blackheads and really oily skin, i'm warning you to STAY AWAY!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/6/2010 11:44:00 PM More reviews by Diennahern

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been on the search for an HG foundation for over 13 years. I have acne prone skin that react different to all foundations. Well, last year I watched a ton of videoes on this foundation on YouTube, and decided to try it. Let me say, I have yet to discover a drugstore foundation that covers my face without looking un-natural like this puppy does. It has a great price tag, even though it does have its downfalls. First of all the packaging, Revlon snap out of it and put a freakin' pump. I always waste product and a bunch stays on the neck and just stays there. Also, heads up I notice this has a shelf life of a couple a weeks, then it begins to set weird on my face. For those reasons I can't commit and say that it is my HG, because I always cheat on Colorstay, and wander to other foundations. But, as long as Revlon Colorstay keeps taking me back after I see the error in my ways, we might just learn to live with each other.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/6/2010 11:28:00 PM More reviews by Sami788

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Pros- covers well, lasts all day, cheap

cons- packaging, dries quickly when applying, makes pores more visible

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2010 10:35:00 PM More reviews by frgrl616

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wish I had come off my high horse about drugstore foundations along time ago. This stuff is pretty awesome. I bought combination/oily in Caramel since I'm normally NC45 and everywhere I looked people said it was a perfect match. It does dry quickly and the bottle doesn't have a pump. But who cares? I just work fast and transferred it to an old pump bottle I had...(recycle, reduce, reuse...right?) My favorite thing about this foundation is that it does not move through out the day...At ALL! I have super oily skin especially at the end of the night. With this stuff, my concealer doesn't crease, and my powder doesn't crease. I apply with a MAC foundation brush. I think it's 190 (it's been so long since I purchased it). I top it off w/ mineralize skinfinish pressed powder. I don't feel too done up because it's really light compared to other foundations I've tried in the past. The only negative thing I have noticed is that if I sweat, my face will tingle where I'm wearing the foundation, so limit my use of it to days that I know I won't be running around too much. That said, I will totally repurchase when I run out and I may even branch out to try other Revlon products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2010 4:58:00 PM More reviews by soniawoniapart2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff is truly amazing. Great coverage and lasts all day, just like the name says. No breakouts or clogged pores.
At first I had a hard time using it since It is so pigmented and thick, but once I started using it with a damp sponge It was perfection. I wash my sponge every time before I use it then squeeze it with a towel and voila! Has just enough coverage without being too sheer or too heavy. Just the right balance. Makes my blush stay put all day long without fading. I use it in Natural tan and it is a perfect match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/5/2010 6:10:00 PM More reviews by xXxSceneeQueenxXx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I saw many reviews on Revlon color stay so i decided to get it. i have really oily seen so i got the combination/oily skin in ivory. i was so excited to try it but when i did i hated it. it said it lasts for 16 hours when i put it on it was gone in like 2 hours. it made my skin more oily then what it usually is. And it made me breakout really bad. I wouldn't recommend it if you have oily skin and acne prone skin. And if you want good coverage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2010 8:44:00 AM More reviews by mechanicaljen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Tried this stuff in hopes of a cheaper day to day foundation. I've tried tons of different foundations (HE and DS) throughout the years. As a result of oily, acne prone skin I have been satisfied by very little. The only foundation I had found thus far that I like is MUFE HD foundation, which I wear in 118.

This doesn't fade, doesn't apply streaky, and doesn't advertise my occasional dry spots from healing acne. Medium coverage initally, but more if you work with it. As other reviewers say, it dries FAST.

I apply with a Sonya Kashuk flat top brush. I dot it on and buff it out before applying another dot. This keeps it from setting up the dotted area. The color selection isn't wonderful. The sand beige is believable enough with its yellow undertones, however it doesn't turn me into a simpsons character.

This is my new day to day, saving MUFE for big events.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2010 2:59:00 AM More reviews by samantong

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have been using Revlon Colorstay Foundation for a few years now and recently changed to MAC Studio Fix just to try it out because I was impressed with their colour range... BIG MISTAKE. I started to break out straightaway after only using it for 5 days and I looked ORANGE! I threw that junk out and went back to my faithful Colorstay!

I LOVE Revlon Colorstay and only decided to try MAC because I hate the fact that there's no pump. Since then I have bought a set of 2 airless pump bottles on Ebay, 30ml each so they fit the Colorstay perfectly. Kind of a pain to pour it into the bottles, but I'm willing to deal with it.

Colorstay retails for $37.95 in Australia, which is kind of expensive but not as dear as say Dior or Chanel foundation. I have no problem paying this much for Colorstay because it really is the BEST I have found so far.

On work days I leave home at 6am and get home at 8:30pm and my foundation is still fresh and has not slid off when I get home. It is definitely non-transferable.

I will definitely keep buying this product for many years to come. I'm just sorry that I paid $48.00 to try the MAC Studio Fix... what a waste of my time and money!

Smells a bit like paint but you get used to it... I never even notice the smell anymore.

I squirt onto an old CD and use my MAC 187 Stippling brush for a perfect airbrushed look. Covers my many acne scars wonderfully!

I definitely recommend buying Revlon Colorstay and investing in a good brush too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/5/2010 2:52:00 AM More reviews by jessicaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i dont understand the big hype with this foundation , i saw all the amazing reviews and decided to try it ,it is far too quick drying and leaves u with lines in places even when applied perfectly or with a damp sponge it also looks so cakey its unreal HORRIBLE foundation

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 6:14:00 PM More reviews by MrzVentura

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

LOOOVE IT!~. Wish it had a pump, but other than that this is awesome. It also DOES last all day, never transfers and it natural looking. Love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No