October 21, 2014 | 1985 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2010 8:44:00 AM More reviews by mechanicaljen

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    Tried this stuff in hopes of a cheaper day to day foundation. I've tried tons of different foundations (HE and DS) throughout the years. As a result of oily, acne prone skin I have been satisfied by very little. The only foundation I had found thus far that I like is MUFE HD foundation, which I wear in 118.

    This doesn't fade, doesn't apply streaky, and doesn't advertise my occasional dry spots from healing acne. Medium coverage initally, but more if you work with it. As other reviewers say, it dries FAST.

    I apply with a Sonya Kashuk flat top brush. I dot it on and buff it out before applying another dot. This keeps it from setting up the dotted area. The color selection isn't wonderful. The sand beige is believable enough with its yellow undertones, however it doesn't turn me into a simpsons character.

    This is my new day to day, saving MUFE for big events.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2010 2:59:00 AM More reviews by samantong

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Hazel

    I have been using Revlon Colorstay Foundation for a few years now and recently changed to MAC Studio Fix just to try it out because I was impressed with their colour range... BIG MISTAKE. I started to break out straightaway after only using it for 5 days and I looked ORANGE! I threw that junk out and went back to my faithful Colorstay!

    I LOVE Revlon Colorstay and only decided to try MAC because I hate the fact that there's no pump. Since then I have bought a set of 2 airless pump bottles on Ebay, 30ml each so they fit the Colorstay perfectly. Kind of a pain to pour it into the bottles, but I'm willing to deal with it.

    Colorstay retails for $37.95 in Australia, which is kind of expensive but not as dear as say Dior or Chanel foundation. I have no problem paying this much for Colorstay because it really is the BEST I have found so far.

    On work days I leave home at 6am and get home at 8:30pm and my foundation is still fresh and has not slid off when I get home. It is definitely non-transferable.

    I will definitely keep buying this product for many years to come. I'm just sorry that I paid $48.00 to try the MAC Studio Fix... what a waste of my time and money!

    Smells a bit like paint but you get used to it... I never even notice the smell anymore.

    I squirt onto an old CD and use my MAC 187 Stippling brush for a perfect airbrushed look. Covers my many acne scars wonderfully!

    I definitely recommend buying Revlon Colorstay and investing in a good brush too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 11/5/2010 2:52:00 AM More reviews by jessicaxxx

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    i dont understand the big hype with this foundation , i saw all the amazing reviews and decided to try it ,it is far too quick drying and leaves u with lines in places even when applied perfectly or with a damp sponge it also looks so cakey its unreal HORRIBLE foundation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 6:14:00 PM More reviews by MrzVentura

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    LOOOVE IT!~. Wish it had a pump, but other than that this is awesome. It also DOES last all day, never transfers and it natural looking. Love it.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 11:38:00 AM More reviews by ysa7

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    the number one thing that you invest on your makeup is having a good foundation.
    i've been using MAC Studio Fix Fluid for 3 years now, until last week, i've purchased the Revlon ColorStay Liquid Foundation, because most of the reviews i've watched, they say its comparable with the MAC one, so me, girl on a budget, tried this one, and i must say,! it blew me away!!
    i love this product!
    getting same coverage, flawless on my skin, easy to apply and blend, very comparable to MAC studio fix fluid and most af all, way cheaper than the MAC one!, what more can you ask for!!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 3:54:00 AM More reviews by cknight0623

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is my favorite foundation. I used to buy the dry skin formulation because I had horribly dry skin. I started using the Maybelline 24 hour foundation but now it makes my skin SUPER oily and doesn't stay put. I just re-bought the Revlon in 180 Sand Beige for oily skin and I fell in love all over again. The color matches my skin tone perfectly and it stays put pretty much all day or night without feeling oily or looking oily. It doesn't dry my skin out at all. Yes, it dries really fast, but I always apply my foundation in small sections so that isn't really a negative for me. This is my holy grail, I just wish it had a pump but nothing is perfect and if that is the only thing I personally find wrong with this foundation, so be it!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 2:03:00 AM More reviews by rebeccad89

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    This foundation is amazing. I have super oily skin and this foundation lasts all day without even trying. I may start getting a slightly oily tzone by the late afternoon, but all my makeup is still in place. This foundation will stay on your face until you choose to remove it.

    It has really good coverage, which is great. If you like a lighter foundation, then this might not be for you. It is a thicker foundation, but it does not break me out.

    The only problem with this is that it dries really quickly so you need to apply it in small sections of your face or else you won't have time to blend it in. But overall, I love this foundation.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 11/3/2010 9:19:00 PM More reviews by JackiePam21

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This foundation has good coverage and I don't know if it really stays on all day but it's pretty good. I wear 240 medium beige Normal/dry skin. I've heard that the other formula for oily skin can be really dry and make your skin blotchy but not this formula. So far I have not had any break outs and I've been using for almost a year now.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 11/3/2010 6:41:00 PM More reviews by xCocoChanelx

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    This foundation is very, very full coverage and it's really thick. Definitely a night time foundation. I bought the dry skin version and it still makes my skin appear quite dry and crispy so i would recomment oily skinned people still give the dry formula a try.
    I gave this product a 2 on the packaging quality because it isn't a pump bottle, therefor you can't judge just how much your getting as easy as a pump.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2010 10:17:00 AM More reviews by littlemissspicy

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I've been using this foundation for a year now and I've actually repurchased once. I use the one in Warm Golden (for the oily/combi skin) and it matches my skintone just nice! Great coverage too. It looks very natural and flawless eventhough I use my fingers to apply it. Doesn't give me breakouts or anything. And it lasts for the whole day. My skin just looks awesome when I wear it. Some actually commented that I have great skin (i.e. no blemishes etc), they obviously can't tell that I'm actually wearing foundation and that the zits are just hiding underneath it! (I only use foundation. No powder or concealer btw.) Definitely my HG foundation. I don't think I'll ever use another.

    I think some people will find this product too thick and hard to blend. I always apply my day moisturizer before my foundation, so what I do is I start applying before the moisturizer gets absorbed completely. This way the liquid can glide on more smoothly and it will be easier to blend. I think it makes it less cakey and more dewy as well :)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No