December 20, 2014 | 1421 users online

Deodorants - Certain Dri



image 0image 1

rated 4.4(520 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2008 3:20:00 PM More reviews by curlygirl45

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Silver, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

After consulting MUA, I decided to try Certain Dri. I apply every other day, 2-3 small swipes on each armpit - on non-shaving days (however, have put it on several hours after shaving and it did itch for about 15 minutes and got a little red, redness gone by morning though). When it's hot, the bottle seems leaky - don't know why.

It works - my shirts smell like I haven't even worn them - I do use the Fresh Sugar rollon in the morning.

I have found the back of my neck to get extremely sweaty - but since I'm perimenopausal - it could be due to that - but my pits are dry and can lift my arms in confidence!

Thank you MUA....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/15/2008 11:15:00 PM More reviews by ellaelise

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I, too, had a terrible reaction to this product. I have NEVER had sensitive skin (especially on my body), but within minutes of using this product (as directed), I begin to itch & burn unbearably. If I don't immediately wash it off, then my whole body turns beet red. It's unfortunate because I really do find this to be one of the most effective antiperspirants out there, but it really does seem to be a toss up whether or not you can use it. Regular antiperspirants do not help me at all (even at 20%+) but Arrid Extra Dry Cream (it looks like it comes in a shoe polish container!) keeps me super dry, smell-proof, and doesn't irritate. If you have problems with Certain Dri, try that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/10/2008 12:04:00 PM More reviews by poisoncheesecake

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Be careful of this stuff. I used this and it made me itch and burn like crazy, and it caused giant painful lumps to appear. I went to my doctor and it had irritated me so bad , I had a massive infection! I only used it 2-3 days. The pain was so bad I had to have 2 pain killers and was bed ridden for 2 days. BE careful!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2008 11:56:00 PM More reviews by navywendy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

works awesome. makes my armpits not wet anymore. i find i forget to use deodorant now and i don't smell bad if i do. will purchase again for sure

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/11/2008 11:26:00 PM More reviews by loovexemilyy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Certain Dri=Love. This stuff works like a charm!
I couldn't live without it. Secret Clinical disappointed me, majorly. This is so much better, and half the price!


Pros:
(If applied correctly) NO sweat. NADA. Shirts smell like I never even wore them. My arms stay dry, completely. At the end of the day, even my invisible solid is dried on from when I applied in the morning, not drenched off.


Cons:
Put too much on, good luck... This literally feels like someone is sticking pins and needles into to your armpits and taking them back out. My armpits itch like crazy, and sometimes I'll wake up and they will be all red and sore. Not good. Plus, the bottle had a little leakage problem. But oh well.


Overall: Pros outweigh the cons. Definitely worth a shot! It has given me so much more confidence. Try it, I was NOT disappointed!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2008 7:47:00 PM More reviews by curlycuesue

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

All I can say is Certain Dri is a godsend! I've been a faithful user for years, and it's just amazing. Yes, it gets very itchy if you apply too much, and yes, it irritates if you apply right after a shower, but it's totally worth it. I actually started applying it to my feet, too, and now they're totally dry. The only downside is b/c the sweat is prevented from coming out of my underarms and feet, my body compensates by releasing more sweat on my face, back, and neck. I'm contemplating applying CD to these places, but then where would all that sweat go?? Are my forearms and kneecaps gonna sweat profusely? ;-) Seriously though, b/c of CD, I no longer fear those dreaded pit-stains and can raise my arms in confidence. Thanks, Certain Dri!!! =)~

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2008 9:52:00 AM More reviews by besidetheocean

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff really works! It works so well that sometimes I forget that I even need to apply it at night. That's fine though, because one application can be effective for a few days at a time. I do still use a separate deodorant in the mornings since this is just an antiperspirant. My suggestion would be to definitely follow the directions closely and don't apply too soon after shaving or it can be painful. One or two swipes under each arm is plenty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/11/2008 11:58:00 AM More reviews by charmandluck

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just used this product last night. I read the reviews on makeupalley, and i said what the heck why not! I have nothing to lose! i am a teenager, and it's so embarrasing to raise your hand or even move your arms. It was 4.50 at target, so i thought that was pretty cheap. I read the directions 3x, and very slowly and carefully ( like people said.) I was kinda nervous if it would burn or itch, but it didn't! I was relieved. I went to bed an hour later, and woke up excited to see if this worked. And its 11:55 AM, and I blow dried, straightened, and am wearing a very non forgiving color and fabric to sweat. and guess what?? NO SWEAT!! I am wearing dove go fresh energizing , just so i have a clean scent. you dont need to buy the AM kind. I would reccomend this product to anyone who has a excessive sweating problem, and can't find any "clinical strength" products that work. TRY THIS! it is a miracle in a bottle, and this saved me.

i love it!!!!!

p.s i tried secret, dove,degree clinical strength. & nothing worked. I spent so much money, using 4 anti-persperants at one time, and nothign worked. I thought i would have to live with this my WHOLE LIFE, but trust me.. it is a confidence booster, and you'll really want to move your hands around. i would even sweat in 30 degree weather!! and with light shirts on!!!


UPDATE: i actually used this after i showered/shaved it stung for a minute. thats it :D


EDIT: 1 MONTH LATER.
im still using certain dri. every other day now. It doesn't work as well as it did in the begginning but its a keeper

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/6/2008 10:38:00 PM More reviews by delenn

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I received a packet of trial sized Certain Dri pads with a CVS order and tested one out last night. I used one pad and applied just as directed, a few strokes under each arm at bedtime. My skin was not broken or irritated, I had not recently shaved and I had not just bathed.

This product is not for me. An hour after application, my armpits were so itchy that I had to get up and wash the product off. I can't comment on effectiveness as an antiperspirant/deodorant, obviously, but this should be used with caution by those with allgeries or sensitive skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2008 12:50:00 AM More reviews by laracole

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG all the way. I started using this a few months ago and its AMAZING. This is a TRUE antiperspirant, which prevents your pores from sweating. After a while you don't need to use as much to get the same effects, so I'm down to using only once a week at most if any.

When you first use it, use sparingly until you build a tolerance for the FEEL of the stuff. What I mean is if you use it after a shower when your pits are wet it will STING and itch for a while. When you use it after shaving it will BURN sting then itch! But now it no longer affects me that way, but the benefits have remained! This stuff is a god send for those for whom regular antiperspirant or even "prescription strength" (ei secret, dove, etc) don't cut it. That stuff by itself just ended up staining my clothes and not working at all. But by using this at night, you'll eventually stop sweating from your pits. Only a little if you're doing an intense workout but its not funky b/o like you would normally.

The packaging tends to leak, however. i took a reviewers advice and punctured a hole in the bottom and placed the product in a misting spray bottle. Perfect. YOU need to get this if you have underarm problems and can't seem to find a deodorant/antiperspirant thats strong enough for you.

ALSO, this product has the same active ingredient as drysol (aluminum chloride), but is non prescription because its water based, not alcohol.

So anyone with a sweating PROBLEM, try this. I guarantee, if you can follow directions, then you can use this stuff. FOLLOW directions! Use at night before bed!!! it makes all the difference.

Is this review helpful? Yes No