MAC # 239 Eye Shader Brush

4.7

470 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/7/2009 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I only purchased this recently - my first "high end" (ish) eye brush. Can't believe I waited so long! It is very very soft, but firm enough that its not flimsy. Does take on a lot of product, and most of this is distributed fully and evenly onto the lid.
Very expensive in my opinion. Almost $50 australian dollars (should be a lot less with our dollar becoming stronger, but MAC doesn't seem to adjust prices), but because I couldn't find a decent cheaper option, I decided to get this. Probably people in the US and UK have a much larger range of more affordable brushes to choose from.
But like I said, it is a very good brush.



on 11/7/2009 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I stayed away from Mac brushes for a long time, the high price frightened me away for the longest time. But after I did a class with a Mac guru, I could see that I'd never get the results like he did with my cheapy brushes. I bought this brush and knew the first moment I used it that this is my hg brush. I can get so much product on my lids and the application is beautiful every time. I also eeally like how my eyeshadows don't turn to dust and I loose lots of the product like with some other, cheaper brushes. If you love eye makeup, then you need this brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very nice basic brush. I really like how I can get into the corner of my eyes very easily with it. The brush is great for dark and pigmented shadows because it applies them evenly over the entire lid. The only complaint I have about this brush is that it picks up so much product that a lot of it gets left in the brush. Because of this I have to clean it fairly often, which may shorten the lifespan of the brush.


on 11/7/2009 2:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favorite brushes and I use it the most out of any of my eye brushes. I have a lot of eyeshadow brushes that look like the 239, but none of them compare. There's something about the mac 239 that allows it to pack on and apply so much more color than other brushes like it. The white natural hair bristles are so soft and dense and perfect for applying color.


on 11/7/2009 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good product overall. The size is good for covering the eyelid and distributing the color. I use this brush when I apply eyeshadow to my lid (very rarely) just because I dont normally have time in the mornings. However, It is a good dense, soft brush and is good quality. I hope it will last me a long time as it was quite pricey!


on 11/5/2009 8:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I don't understand why this is everyone's favorite brush.
I'd much rather use my smashbox #3 or mac 217.
This is a good brush.
I do reach for it - I guess mostly for highlight.
For the money - the loew cornell version is just as good.

I had the loew cornell - and gave it to my sister - because I just thought I had to have the MAC version - eh, no big difference.


on 10/25/2009 11:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is a great little brush for packing color onto the lid. it's small, dense, and slightly firm. i'm sure it would work well with creams and bases, though i have not used it for such. i currently have a SE and plan on getting a full sized one since i often find the SE brushes to be a bit different in quality. a great eyeshadow brush for anyone to have!


on 10/25/2009 2:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this brush so much, I dont know how I ever managed without it! Picks up color and packs it on soo well, its def one of my top favorite brushes I own. Im actually thinking of buying another just because I use mine so much and I dont like to wash it everyday.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the perfect brush for beginners. It does good job applying an average amount of color to the lid; doesnt really pack it on (i prefer the 242 for that). It is also good for highlighting the brow bone. I've had mine for about a year and a half and its still looking good; no staining and hairs still in place. Two thumbs up definite rebuy.


on 10/18/2009 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This brush is the best eyeshadow brush ever. It packs the shadow very well. It distributes it evenly across the lid; packs on the color very easily. You can also use it for your lower lash line (using the tip). If you want your highlight to have more color, this dense brush sure does its job.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

How To: Shader Brush 101 by EnKoreMakeup



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top