Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal

3.5

2816 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water - Aqua , Paraffin , Potassium Cetyl Phosphate , Beeswax - Cera Alba , Carnauba Wax - Cera Carnauba , Acacia Senegal Gum - Acacia Senegal , Glycerin , Cetyl Alcohol , Hydroxyethylcellulose , Sodium Polymethacrylate , Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil , Hydrogenated Palm Oil , Phenethyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol , Steareth-20 , PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone , Polyquaternium-10 , Silica , Soluble Collagen , Simethicone , Panthenol , Disodium EDTA , Iron Oxides - CI 77499 - CI 77492 - CI 77491 - May Contain , Titanium Dioxide - CI 77891 - May Contain , Ultramarines - CI 77007 - May Contain , Chromium Oxide Greens - CI 77288 - May Contain , Chromium Hydroxide Green - CI 77289 - May Contain , Manganese Violet - CI 77742 - May Contain , Ferric Ferrocyanide - CI 77510 - May Contain , Mica - May Contain


on 12/8/2008 2:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is really good mascara. I used to use Loreal Voluminous which I really liked but it always melted off my lashes and underneath my eyes. This mascara is just as good but it stays put all day. My eyelashes seem to also have a natural curl (maybe it's the collagen?). It only takes three or four strokes and I'm out the door with dramatic black lashes!!



on 12/7/2008 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This mascara is a step above regular mascaras, it does volumize a liitle more. I was told I had beautiful eyelashes when I wore it. But that still wasn't good enought for me lol. It didn't make them as dramatic as I was hoping. This contains collagen, and I think it "may" have been improving my lashes, but I got a feeling it's all in my head.


on 12/7/2008 7:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had i friend who was in love with this mascara so i decided to give it a try. It ended up being just okay. It seemed to clump my lashes together and didn't really lengthen them. By the end of the day the mascara was almost completely gone. It is not the worst i have ever had, but i think i will stick with my Almay.


on 12/7/2008 4:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I fell into the hype of this product. It seemed so promising, but as usual Maybelline mascaraís do not seem to agree with me.


PROS: (1) one coat will make your lashes stand out, two coats will give them a bit more thickness.


CONS: (1) Strange chemical clay like smell (2) it makes my lashes feel brittle, and makes them appear spidery (this is not even the water proof formula). (3) Gave me panda eyes by the end of the day. (4) Can only use two coats, a 3rd will make it clumpy. (5) I donít like the bright yellow and purple packaging, it looks juvenile.


I think this is the last Maybelline mascara I will try in a long time, I suspect the formula is the major culprit here.


Happy Shopping


on 12/7/2008 1:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Oh dear lord! Clump o' rama! I did everything I could to get this to go on smoothly, but even with a single coat I had the dreaded spider lashes. Just terrible! Gave to my daughter without saying anything and she came downstairs the next day wondering what was wrong with the mascara, so it was not just me. Circular file! MF lash couture is still my hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2008 8:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent cheap mascara maybelline makes the best DS mascaras around. Got this in Glam Black so far I 'm feeln' it. It really opens up my eyes and fattens up my skinny lashes. Like botox for lashes.


on 12/6/2008 1:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The first time I tried this, I ended up with very clumpy lashes & was ready to toss it.

But then, I was a bit more patient, wiped the end of the wand on a tissue first, and applied delicately & built up the mascara.

When used with a thick black liner, I get a really nice, almost "false eyelashes" look - and I have some skimpy lashes. (I always curl lashes first).

Now if I use my old stand-by mascara, it seems to look so boring (and natural, which isn't good on me!)

For the price (under $5) - I'll buy it again.


on 12/5/2008 7:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this mascara, everything from the bright packaging to what it actually does to my eyelashes! I would use it again and again, the only difficulty is that they don't seem to sell it in the UK! This means I had to buy it off eBay, luckily I got two for about £5 last time which is really cheap, but now I can't find any which aren't dear without postage to the UK from the USA :(

But I did like it, makes your eyelashes very long and curls them well if you apply it right. After I bought it I read reviews that it was rubbish with a foul smell so I was a bit worried! But when I tried it it was great, and the smell isn't bad at all. The only problem is it dries out quite quickly!

xxxxxxx


on 12/4/2008 1:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is prolly the best mascara I have tried. I am always on the hunt for the best mascara and when it was time to throw it away..( I am really good and throwing them out after 3 months) I tried Lash Blast and I hated it! Tried it for a week and i just had to go and get this Colossal Mascara!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Wow. I am actually amazed by this product because I expected it do to absolutely nothing for me (except for weigh my eyelashes down, like most mascaras do).


I bought this mascara in a buy-one-get-one deal with my favorite mascara--Maybelline Full n' Soft waterproof. I figured I would give it a shot, but I had actually read bad reviews, so I didn't expect much. I wore it for about five hours this evening.


A bit about my lashes--stick straight and fine. I need a light, drier mascara that won't weigh down my lashes. I use an eyelash curler religiously, otherwise I have no curl whatsoever!


I curled my lashes and put on two coats of this mascara and much to my immediate surprise, they curled rather nicely! And with volume, too! Of course, I curled my lashes again (which I know is a no-no, but it's necessary for my lashes!) and they were super-curly, very black, and voluminous! My lashes were still curled when I went to wash my face (usually they're back to stick-straight by the end of the night).


Most mascaras don't work for me; I've tried many, many--from d/s brands to higher end (even an old favorite, Lancome, has failed my lashes). I am truly amazed by this mascara and it may be my HG! I'll have to test it out further and will edit.


UPDATE: Well, here's the edit; I'm not a fan of this mascara. *Sigh*. . . I did want to like it, and it seemed promising. It's definitely not my HG. I only wore it for a week before it was apparent that it wouldn't hold a curl. However, see my review for Too Faced Lash Injection PinPoint; that sucker holds a curl!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top