September 17, 2014 | 1992 users online

Liquid - Maybelline - Super Stay Makeup



image 0

rated 3.5(410 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/28/2010 1:40:00 AM More reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty decent foundation. Its true, there is a very obvious pink undertone that will appear very chalky and unnatural if you have any sort of yellow-ness about you. It's medium to full coverage on me, and I think it sets very well. It doesn't stay 24 hours (but who needs to wear makeup that long, I mean come on).. it lasts a full 8 hours on me. The formula is pretty great, it controls my oil better than Revlon Colorstay, but I prefer the finish that Colorstay produces. I will continue to use it, but I am still searching for that perfect foundation (is this even possible?) :]

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/20/2010 11:59:00 PM More reviews by r4tgl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Had high hopes for this & was disappointed. It had little to NO staying power the 3 days I tried it. I returned it & picked up an old tried & true revlon colorstay.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/16/2010 2:28:00 PM More reviews by nola80

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

My ONLY issue with this otherwise good foundation is the pink undertones. I have yellow undertones and during the day it is very noticeable. I was looking for an everyday foundation so I can save my MUFE and MAC Pro on special occasions. This works pretty well, medium coverage, easy to blend (doesn't dry as fast as MAC Pro or MUFE matte velvet). 24 hour stay is a pretty bold statement, I would say maybe 6 hours max and my T-zone is pretty oily but no foundation really lasts except maybe MAC Pro. I will keep using this since I have no major problems and the coverage is pretty good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/8/2010 11:05:00 AM More reviews by xXxSceneeQueenxXx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favorite foundations ever. it dont break me out like all the other foundations i have.

Pros:lasts along time when you use it. really good coverage,

Cons: really hard to get out of bottle,makes your skin look pink

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/26/2010 11:15:00 AM More reviews by DonnieGirl

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I just recently started using liquid foundation again. I had been using Philosophy Super Natural but I have very dry skin and it was looking to flaky. I also recently was told I have rosacea and I was looking for something to hide more red.
Maybelline Super Stay is definitely in the right price range for me to try it and I love the softness it adds to my face. It gives me a smoother matte finish, which I like. However, if you are looking for something that really covers red this doesn't totally acheive that. Maybe if I go to a darker shade but the shade I picked matched my complexion perfectly. It is Ivory Beige.
Of course the bottle is a negative because it is hard to get out of the bottle and it does wipe off on clothing so don't pull a white blouse over your head without thinking. It stays nicely on the face but it also transfers to clothing etc.
All in all it is nice make up and very nice for the price and I would buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/22/2010 2:54:00 PM More reviews by MakeupFOREVER24

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I liked this at first. I was trying to stray away from my all time favorite which is Revlon Colorstay (it breaks me out :( ) so i picked this up. When i put it on i thought it looked natural and dewey (only lasted about 15 minutes btw). Well, when i got in daylight my face had orange streaks all over it!!!! I applied it with my MAC 190 foundation brush. Also, it did NOT last all day. Colorstay is so much better than this product. I don't care if it breaks me out....i'm staying with Revlon. Anyway, back to this stuff. It also did not have great coverage....maybe because i'm used to a foundation that covers my acne/scarring. I do not reccomend this.....unless you want orange streaks!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/9/2010 1:30:00 PM More reviews by Mommy1408

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First of all I must say that the color match is perfect for me in cocoa I wear MAC NW 50. It is a little darker than my MAC foundation but that is great brcause it is closer to my complextion than MAC is. I have really oily skin so this will not last not even 12 hours on me. After I put on my mattifing lotion and my t-zone oil cream then I apply the foundation then I went to the hair salon went under the dryer and then I went to the bathroom to check-up on it and ahhhh my face was so oily that I could fry chicken on it I mean my whole face. It was lIke the oil was dispursed all throught my face with a reddish undertone and I only get oil in my t-zone and a little on my cheeks. I loved it so much when I first applied it but when I checked on it 2 hours later it has to go back. I really wanted it to work for me : (

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/4/2010 8:25:00 PM More reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I really didn't like this foundation. It ran right off my face and I didn't even sweat! It was disgusting.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2010 4:18:00 PM More reviews by Victoria84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This stuff is my HG foundation!! I have oily, sensitive skin and once I put this stuff on I look like my face has been airbrushed/Photo-shopped/whatever it's great!! I got compliments from my family who knows what I look like without makeup on how great it looks on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/1/2010 2:18:00 PM More reviews by itzkristen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I'm typically a snob when it comes to foundation with Dior "Diorskin Forever" sitting at the top of my list for years, but from past experience I knew that it wasn't going to hold up too well during my recent trip to Walt Disney World. The Florida heat and humidity combined with long hours outdoors always left me looking like a train wreck at the end of the day on previous vacations there.

I ran to the drugstore the morning that I was leaving to pick up a couple of last minute items and when I saw the Super Stay foundation I couldn't resist, but truth be told I didn't have high hopes for it. I wound up being blown away by its performance.

The shade I chose was Porcelain Ivory 10 and was happy to discover that it was a perfect match for my skin tone. The first day I applied this at 7am over my staple primer, Korres Face Primer, and was positively shocked when it was still in place and looking perfect when I returned to the hotel at 10pm. Needless to say, it kept my face looking flawless for every day thereafter.

I do still use other foundations but when it's hot and humid this is my go-to, and at a price of $11 I'll continue buying until Maybelline stops making it (which I hope is never).

Is this review helpful? Yes No