Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal

3.5

2792 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water - Aqua , Paraffin , Potassium Cetyl Phosphate , Beeswax - Cera Alba , Carnauba Wax - Cera Carnauba , Acacia Senegal Gum - Acacia Senegal , Glycerin , Cetyl Alcohol , Hydroxyethylcellulose , Sodium Polymethacrylate , Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil , Hydrogenated Palm Oil , Phenethyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol , Steareth-20 , PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone , Polyquaternium-10 , Silica , Soluble Collagen , Simethicone , Panthenol , Disodium EDTA , Iron Oxides - CI 77499 - CI 77492 - CI 77491 - May Contain , Titanium Dioxide - CI 77891 - May Contain , Ultramarines - CI 77007 - May Contain , Chromium Oxide Greens - CI 77288 - May Contain , Chromium Hydroxide Green - CI 77289 - May Contain , Manganese Violet - CI 77742 - May Contain , Ferric Ferrocyanide - CI 77510 - May Contain , Mica - May Contain


on 12/7/2008 1:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Oh dear lord! Clump o' rama! I did everything I could to get this to go on smoothly, but even with a single coat I had the dreaded spider lashes. Just terrible! Gave to my daughter without saying anything and she came downstairs the next day wondering what was wrong with the mascara, so it was not just me. Circular file! MF lash couture is still my hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/6/2008 8:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent cheap mascara maybelline makes the best DS mascaras around. Got this in Glam Black so far I 'm feeln' it. It really opens up my eyes and fattens up my skinny lashes. Like botox for lashes.


on 12/6/2008 1:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The first time I tried this, I ended up with very clumpy lashes & was ready to toss it.

But then, I was a bit more patient, wiped the end of the wand on a tissue first, and applied delicately & built up the mascara.

When used with a thick black liner, I get a really nice, almost "false eyelashes" look - and I have some skimpy lashes. (I always curl lashes first).

Now if I use my old stand-by mascara, it seems to look so boring (and natural, which isn't good on me!)

For the price (under $5) - I'll buy it again.


on 12/5/2008 7:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this mascara, everything from the bright packaging to what it actually does to my eyelashes! I would use it again and again, the only difficulty is that they don't seem to sell it in the UK! This means I had to buy it off eBay, luckily I got two for about 5 last time which is really cheap, but now I can't find any which aren't dear without postage to the UK from the USA :(

But I did like it, makes your eyelashes very long and curls them well if you apply it right. After I bought it I read reviews that it was rubbish with a foul smell so I was a bit worried! But when I tried it it was great, and the smell isn't bad at all. The only problem is it dries out quite quickly!

xxxxxxx


on 12/4/2008 1:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is prolly the best mascara I have tried. I am always on the hunt for the best mascara and when it was time to throw it away..( I am really good and throwing them out after 3 months) I tried Lash Blast and I hated it! Tried it for a week and i just had to go and get this Colossal Mascara!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Wow. I am actually amazed by this product because I expected it do to absolutely nothing for me (except for weigh my eyelashes down, like most mascaras do).


I bought this mascara in a buy-one-get-one deal with my favorite mascara--Maybelline Full n' Soft waterproof. I figured I would give it a shot, but I had actually read bad reviews, so I didn't expect much. I wore it for about five hours this evening.


A bit about my lashes--stick straight and fine. I need a light, drier mascara that won't weigh down my lashes. I use an eyelash curler religiously, otherwise I have no curl whatsoever!


I curled my lashes and put on two coats of this mascara and much to my immediate surprise, they curled rather nicely! And with volume, too! Of course, I curled my lashes again (which I know is a no-no, but it's necessary for my lashes!) and they were super-curly, very black, and voluminous! My lashes were still curled when I went to wash my face (usually they're back to stick-straight by the end of the night).


Most mascaras don't work for me; I've tried many, many--from d/s brands to higher end (even an old favorite, Lancome, has failed my lashes). I am truly amazed by this mascara and it may be my HG! I'll have to test it out further and will edit.


UPDATE: Well, here's the edit; I'm not a fan of this mascara. *Sigh*. . . I did want to like it, and it seemed promising. It's definitely not my HG. I only wore it for a week before it was apparent that it wouldn't hold a curl. However, see my review for Too Faced Lash Injection PinPoint; that sucker holds a curl!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2008 6:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:

-Doesn't flake
-Lets me build volume without being clumpy

Cons:

-I had a probelm with the mascara wand detaching from the tube for a while but seems to be ok now

Overall its not the most amazing mascara ever but I'm going to keep buying it because flaking is normally a major issue for me.


on 12/2/2008 9:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

The bright packaging is what grabbed me, I really liked it, the name was intriguing, and I bought one.
I got it at Wal-Mart for 7.50 in Glam Black. I normally prefer brown-black or Aubergine in mascara, but all that is offered is black, so black it was.
Opening the tube, the scent is roses. I am not a teenager, so I remember back when good cosmetics houses scented their products. (Chanel, anyone? They are who started the rose scented products.)
When I got home, I read the back of the package. It reads that you should apply all of the coats that you are going to use at once and not wait for the mascara to dry between coats. I thought that was interesting and different, and I did so. The feel of the mascara was different than others that I have used. I applied very carefully, leaned over a sink in the restroom. When I was done, I leaned back and looked at both eyes and I was pleasantly surprised. My eyelashes really looked high volume.
I have not had the flaking problems that many here are talking about, but I wonder how many read the directions and are doing the application wrong, so they are sabotaging their own beauty!
I would buy this again, and recently, when I was at Wal-Mart, they had a BOGO, so I stocked up.
Good job, Maybelline!


on 12/2/2008 4:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ive bought this Mascara in Glam Black. Its not my HG (YSL Effet faux cils is) but its a pretty good Mascara especially for the price im on a budget this month lol. A few coats give me good volume and lenght and i really like the brush. No clumping, flaking or smudging on me.
The scent smells like honey to me but it doesnt bother me since i can only smell it when im sniffing on my tube and i dont do that often :o)
another plus it didnt irritate my eyes. A great Drugstore Mascara and i will buy it again when i dont wanna shell out $$ for YSL
UPDATE: Bought another tube because i dont wanna run out ...great mascara ...as good as YSL but alot cheaper so this could become my new HG
UPDATE: Colossal is now my new HG i get the false lashes look with 5 coats . Glam Black is a true black (not grey). Lashes dont get stiff, no clumping, almost no flaking. Smell ----> i kinda like it. Price is great its so cheap compared to high end Mascaras.


on 12/1/2008 8:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After a dreadful first-time appointment with a highly recommended stylist, I found myself waiting for my ride so I stopped in the local CVS Pharmacy to pass the time. I engaged one of my major loves "browsing through the cosmetics section" & noticed 1 mascara left so I was instantly intrigued! I'd seen the commercials & ads but I'm rarely ever swayed by an ad but this massive display with only 1 mascara left caused me to grab it immediately. I loved it at first - no sting, no redness - no clumps - lightweight application - fab brush BUT then shortly after, it dried out & was difficult to apply. So, maybe I got a bad batch but I don't think I'll be purchasing this again.


Back to Top