April 20, 2014 | 1924 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Colossal

rated 3.5(2657 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 9/24/2008 9:23:00 PM More reviews by noellecwhite

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This mascara was a HUGE letdown!!
It clumps, smells awful, and smeared!!!
Will stick to my define-a-lash!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/24/2008 12:42:00 PM More reviews by keco52

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased it for a friend who has long blonde lashes and she loves it (she usually hates mascara)

*update* I've learned only the first few uses of the mascara are great...after a few weeks it got flakey and clumpy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/22/2008 1:02:00 AM More reviews by tanyaw168

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love the regular Volum' Express mascara, so I wanted to try this and see if it was even better. It was not. I found it to be a wetter consistancy. I always curl my lashes before applying mascara and it is so wet, it almost seems to "un-curl" them while I'm applying it. Also, the one time I've worn it, it freaked me out how quickly it ran down my face after I started washing up at the end of the day. I couldn't imagine what a mess it would be if I got caught in some bad weather. I didn't purchase the waterproof (didn't see any), so I didn't expect it to hold up to water, but it seemed to have NO staying power whatsoever. I didn't provide much volume or length either. I doubt I'll ever use it again.


Edit: Ok, I'm going from 2 to 4 lippies.I find myself reaching for this on occassion. Mostly when I know I have zero chance of getting caught in rain or snow outside. I'm terrified of having mascara all over my face. I might repurchase this if I could find waterproof. This mascara actually does give nice, naturally defined lashes. I do find the formuala to be wetter than my other mascaras, but it does seem that the longer I've had it, the more the formula improves. I think the fact that it has dried out a bit has helped.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/22/2008 12:48:00 AM More reviews by PRiNCESSMAHiNA

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Gnerally, I like this mascara.
LOOKS: The purple and yellow tube is bright, so it shows up wherever I put it-no matter how dark. Personally, I think it's tacky on my vanity table though.
SMELL: It smells a little like roses...I don't mind the smell, but I can see how other people would. USE: One or two coats won't do much-but if you do the little eye half closed method, it will make your eyelashes long and soso volumized. The color was "Glam Black"-it's very, very dark, which I really like. WASH: It washes off really well, and doesn't smudge on my oily lids:)
So, overall it's a pretty good mascara-one last word, though-don't let it get hot-I ran out of time in the morning and stuck it in my book bag. I opened it after my second class to put it on and all the mascara was clumped around the brush! So I had to throw it out. But if you're not going to get it hot, then it's totally a great mascara-and for the price, it can't really be beat!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/21/2008 1:44:00 PM More reviews by RitaPerfect

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

I got realli nice results the first few times I used this, but then it started clumping like crazy! I'm so tired of mascaras that start to form a thick and clumpy texture a few days after it's opening. I can see small fibers clinging to my lashes, and it weighs them down too. I also don't like this huge yellow and purple tube, but I thought that the product itself would make up for it. Turns out I was wrong. I still want a dramatic mascara so maybe I'll check out Covergirl's Lash Blast, which also promises the "big lash look". I also agree with all the other reviewers about the weird smell..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/21/2008 1:44:00 AM More reviews by just_a_small_town_girl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

After having used my Rimmel London Lash Maxxx mascara (which, I won't lie, I bought while living in Alaska simply because the tube was black & pink and I thought it was cute, haha) until it was running out quickly, I went to repurchase, only to find that store was out or didn't carry it at all. Whatever the case, I didn't have time to find another store (I was in North Carolina visiting someone and didn't know the area) so I bought the Colossal Volum' Express, since they had an abundance of it. I love the Glam Black colour. I never really have problems with mascara clumping or flaking off.. guess I'm just lucky!? I'll definatly be using this until I'm out! I love it and I'll probably be repurchasing! It makes my lashes look amazing!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2008 3:00:00 PM More reviews by lilamyg

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This mascara is horrible. I think I've been spoiled by using all high end makeup products for the past feew years. I was recently away for a few days and forgot my "Fresh" mascara. Just went to the drugstore to pick this up. HORRIBLE. My eyelashes are already very think and long. This took about 10 coats to actually look alright and when the product finally showed up it looked clumpy. Throwing this away, it's just wasting space in my makeup bag.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2008 11:12:00 AM More reviews by noranc

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think I like this even more than Lash Blash, which tended to flake on me. Yes, it does have a slight scent but it's pleasant and fades quickly. This gives me full, lush, non-clumpy lashes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/17/2008 10:51:00 PM More reviews by aimless07

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Flakes badly and smells weird. A waste of money! If I want bold lashes I am going back to my Maybelline Lash Stylist.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/17/2008 5:49:00 PM More reviews by scsevenone

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

colossal? true, it did give some volume to my lashes, but it added clumps!! on the first use... & the odor! i agree with most of you guys. it has a funky smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No