April 18, 2014 | 1346 users online

Cleansers - Philosophy - Purity Made Simple (Real Purity Cleanser)

rated 3.7(2397 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 12/30/2002 10:15:00 PM More reviews by sedge

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think the main reason I have so many lingering little tubs and bottles from Philosophy is the packaging. For some reason, when I had money to burn, those $30.00 little tubs seemed -- chic. Now, I get angry when I think about the time I poured into gathering my selections of Phil. fun. This particular product does less of a thorough job than other gentle cleansers (Cetaphil comes to mind, obviously, as do the Sage products). It doesn't have an overpowering pleasant scent, just a kind of stuffy, slightly fruity waft. It has a nice texture, but that's it. Plus a little does not go a long way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/29/2002 1:01:00 PM More reviews by eiluj44

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is just a perfectly balanced, effective but gentle facial cleanser. I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/27/2002 11:40:00 PM More reviews by JGardella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I received a sample of this from Sephora and it made my skin break out very badly. Too bad because I was really excited to test it out after hearing all the raves.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2002 8:43:00 PM More reviews by CarolynF

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am still floored that I have read reviews where ladies say this did not clean their skin. I politely disagree! I went shopping all day and came home with a full face of make-up and used this for the first time. I used my toner, as usual, after I cleansed and there was barely any kind of trace of ANYTHING on my cotton ball. I love the scent as well. Reminds me of when I used to go for facials every month and the wonderful products that the esthetician used on my face. Seriously, this cleanser rocks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/3/2002 7:23:00 PM More reviews by jenvince

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I tried a sample size of this. It's all right, not a favorite for me. It's very, very gentle - I can definitely understand how a lot of the girls here like it. I don't have sensitive skin, so I look for a stronger cleanser, as I wear a full face of makeup everyday. With this one, after cleansing with it, there was still makeup on the cotton ball after I swiped with toner. This cleanser didn't "clean" my face completely. If you need a gentle cleanser and wear little to no makeup - this would be a good cleanser for you. I personally just need something a little more heavy duty.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/20/2002 7:02:00 AM More reviews by mashimaru

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

After being disappointed by Cetaphil, I was wary about using this because it kinda sorta looks like Cetaphil. But an SA gave me a sample, so I gave it a try and major thumbs-up!
It claims to "emulsify" the dirt/grime, and that's what it really seems to do. When I use it, it feels like the makeup and dirt just melts away. It doesn't leave behind any film or residue, either.
It's gentle, and gets my face really clean. A new staple in my bathroom cabinet! continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/30/2002 8:17:00 PM More reviews by Colleen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleanser. It is gentle, yet it removes my eye makeup. It leaves my skin feeling clean, but not tight. A great cleaser to use during the colder months.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/14/2002 3:05:00 AM More reviews by glassofwater

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I should just put my address here, and when you want to purchase this product you can send me your money. Use water instead, it's just as effective!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/3/2002 7:08:00 PM More reviews by gingersype

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have mixed feelings about this cleanser. I like it because it removes my makeup and is convienent, but I hate it because it doesn't lather and has a weird smell to it. I got this as a freebie from drugstore.com, but I am still on the fence as to buying it myself.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/18/2002 12:53:00 AM More reviews by KarenPie

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This cleanser has a very Plain Jane feeling to it, in packaging, scent etc. But it works very well. I have sensitive skin and it didn't irritate my skin at all. I liked that it left my skin feeling very clean but not stripped. Some creamy cleansers leave my skin feeling too greasy, but this one is a lotion cleanser, and it leaves my skin just right. You only need a small amount of it. It doesn't suds up much, but it does the job. Because you don't need much of it, it lasts a long time and so I think it's a good buy. Added note: this takes off eye makeup very well too!! I like that I don't need a separate step for that.

Is this review helpful? Yes No