December 18, 2014 | 1656 users online

Cleansers - Philosophy - Purity Made Simple (Real Purity Cleanser)

rated 3.7(2457 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 4/25/2004 11:22:00 AM More reviews by pittsburghdiva

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this product on two different occasions and it made me break out with zits both times. It list "natural oil extracts" on the bottle so that is probably the reason. I have oily, rosacea skin, so I will stick to Dermalogica as my cleanser. I like the other Philiosophy products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/24/2004 5:47:00 PM More reviews by queenmarie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser! The first time I used it, I thought, no foaming action, I hate it. But then I read Cristina's (CEO) comments on it and it made sense. You need something to dissolve your makeup, not a foam to just push it around. This does dissolve and remove all my makeup and leaves my face feeling clean and fresh, never tight or dry. I use it every night and I love it now!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/21/2004 10:15:00 PM More reviews by petunia333

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Absolutely LOVE this stuff! Come home and can't wait to wash my face. It removes all my makeup easily - feels great - and I even like the smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2004 12:13:00 AM More reviews by WindyCityGirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After reading the reviews on here I decided to give it a try, so I bought the little $10 bottle-

I started using a sample of it on Wed, and I bought on a Friday- On Monday my face had welt like dots, that hurt and were red! Just horrible-
I am lucky to have normal skin, so this was so scary for me- I decided to stop using it and went back to my favorite soap and things are calm now-It's taking awhile for these bumps to go away-There is nothing in them, almost like a mosquito bite!

DO NOT GET THIS if you have sensitive skin-It strips the skin and there is something in there that is not good for the face-

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2004 3:23:00 PM More reviews by moosie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i *really* like this product. i've used it on and off, but now it's my only cleanser and it does such a good job of leaving me super clean. i'm ok with it not foaming up too much (which is saying a LOT!) and the scent isn't so bad.. i love the feeling afterward even though it is a teeny bit drying -- and it's very effective in keeping away the greasies/acne.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2004 8:24:00 PM More reviews by shopgirl7

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I not only LOVE this cleanser, I actually like the smell! This stuff makes my skin SO soft; the first time I used it I couldn't believe how great my skin felt! The Philosophy line is kind of pricey, but after using the Jump starter kit for a month, I think I'm hooked!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/29/2004 5:49:00 PM More reviews by jewel911

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I reorder this product all of the time. It is very mild!!! No harsh chemical scent or burning feel as with other cleansers. I use it along with Hope In A Jar and I am not an expert on skin care, however I feel that it keeps my skin fresh daily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/25/2004 5:58:00 PM More reviews by sassywriter

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm going through my second bottle of Purity cleanser and I've never repurchased any cleanser. Since High school I've never been able to stick to one cleanser...but then I met Purity. I'm not saying this cleanser is miraculous or anything like that, just the best I've come across so far. I have combination skin--oily T Zone and cheeks that are so dry they sometimes peel...horrid!! Purity for me is both gentle and effective. It doesn't strip my dry areas and isn't too mild for my oily areas. I love it. It works in winter and summer for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/23/2004 4:22:00 PM More reviews by alladin

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I received this as part of the Jump Start kit and it was small enough to travel with...it was also drying enough to make my face peel. It was really irritating to my skin so I wouldn't buy it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/23/2004 4:15:00 AM More reviews by dancingfrog

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser, but wish it wasn't so pricey. A 16 oz. bottle costs about $30, and an 8 oz. about $20. A little does go a long way, though. A great way to try this is in the Jump Starters kit. The smell is essential oils of sage and sandalwood (among others). So, it does have that woodsy, incense vibe. I have sensitive, combination skin and have had no problems with drying or sensitivity. I've been using it for about 4 months now, and will continue to do so. Shop around for the best deals. Many online retailers carry this as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No