September 19, 2014 | 1969 users online

Masks - Aztec Secret - Indian Healing Clay

rated 4.4(458 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/23/2011 3:45:00 PM More reviews by chearst

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff is the business. Back in the day when I was kid, I found a tub of this in my aunt's bathroom cabinet and surrepticiously gave it a try. The suction was so intense I was like, whoa, that was an experience. Fast foward about 15 years later, and I'm watching this woman on TV get a facial with some kind of vaccuum tool sucking a bunch of pink gunk out of her seemingly clean skin, and I thought, that's what I need, some intense suction, and then I remembered this mask. Had to google a bit ot figure out the name and then immediately went out and bought a tub at Whole Foods.

I initially used water, but switched to apple cider vinegar and I think it works better that way. The only downside to this product, as far as I'm concerned, is that it comes in powder form and is a bit of a hassle and slightly messy to mix up before each use, but I get why that's necessary, as it would otherwise completely dry itself no matter kind of container you put it in. It's also nice to be able to adjust the thickness according to your preferences.

As everyone else has said, the suction is incredibly intense. It's uncomfortable. My nose always start to itch shortly after application, which bugs me to death, but that passes as it dries. Also, I have to stay hidden away in my bedroom with this on because I look absolutely freakish as it dries. I also leave it on for some time--it takes quite a while for it to fully dry and if you put it on really thick it never will (it's sill sucking away though, dry or not). Anyway, I try to give it at least and hour. I usually apply the mask and then do my nails.

I have acne prone skin and use prescription meds to control it, but it does something the meds can't and will absolutely clear up and prevent and beakouts and promote faster healing. I had this awful stubborn breakout after trying some new skincare products--my forehead was absolutely covered with ugly little bumps and few bigger once and after I stopped using the products it would not go away despite my continued use of the the acne meds. Well, I knew this mask would solve the problem, so I resolved to use it nightly for a week or two and sure enough my skin's clearing up nicely. Welcome back attractive forehead. Do I need to say that I love this mask? I'm not always consistent about using it because I'm lazy, but I should be. Once or twice a week is probably ideal.

In summary, it's extremely effective, natural, and inexpensive (a tub lasts forever). Do give it a try.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2011 3:37:00 PM More reviews by herbalearthling

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So I bought this product per recommendation from a good friend of mine. She was using it for her acne-prone skin and had great results! I bought a tub for a little more than I wanted to spend but now that I've used it several times and it doesn't even look like I've made a dent, that purchase is now well justified.

I had been using this in combination with just water which seemed to work just fine. I didn't know what I was missing out on! At that point, my only gripe was that I couldn't get it into a creamy paste as everyone was saying.

I whipped together a batch the other night for my hubby with the intent to use apple cider vinegar. I forgot to use it for the first batch and used that on my hubby considering he wasn't using it on his face (he has a herniated disc that got irritated and we were trying out different remedies when I thought to give this a shot on his back since the clay is to pull out toxins. One of the factors for a herniated disc is almost like a chemical burn to the nerve because when a disc ruptures, fluids leek from inside the disc). I ended up wasting the rest of the first batch by becoming desperate to achieve the creamy consistency and put it through a metal strainer then remembering that you are not at all supposed to use any kind of metal whatsoever when mixing and handling this stuff.

So then I whipped up another batch this time remembering to use the apple cider vinegar. I have some reusable muslin bags so I decided to squeeze it through there to get the lumps out. I measured the equal parts of clay and apple cider vinegar, mixed them together, gave it a stir, enjoyed the sound of the fizz for a second, and then proceeded to get the mesh bag set up to line a glass jar to catch the contents that I squeezed through the bag. By the time I got back to the bowl to scoop out the clay, the reaction that the apple cider vinegar had on the clay was astounding!!! The result... silky smooth clay with absolutely no lumps at all!!! I was thrilled!

Another thing that made this time different was that I purchased a decent eco friendly bamboo makeup brush. After using my fingers to apply it before, this was a real treat and felt so much more luxurious, easier, and way less messy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/2/2011 2:58:00 PM More reviews by KCEleven11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Grey

When your only complaint about something is that the package comes so stuffed full, it is dang near impossible to not spill... you have a WINNER! This is my HG face mask. I have black heads on my chin and nose pretty bad, when I run my finger across it my skin feels bumpy. Blah, I used this mask ONE TIME and now when I rub my chin it is smooth. I will update after I have used this product a while longer. I could feel it working (and by this I mean it tingled and itched like crazy haha) and had a little trouble getting it into a paste. I kept it on for the full half hour. After I washed it off ( I recommend doing this in the shower out of sheer convenience) my face was red, but once it calmed down (about twenty minutes) my skin tone was fabulous. TRY THIS. I bought a one pound tube for like seven bucks. Even if you don't like it you can give it to some one else to try. Or make little home made instruction labels, put it into tiny trial size jars and BAM stocking stuffer for your beauty savvy ladies. Sorry, I am suffering from holiday fever =))

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/21/2011 11:20:00 PM More reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff rocks!!! If you have oily skin, like me, this is a must for weekly use. It has a pulsating feeling on your skin, meaning its sucking the oils and dirt deep down in your pores. its such a weird feeling!!! At first the smell bothered me, but I got use to it fast! I used mine with the apply cider vinegar for full effects! Im glad I came across this stuff and a tub is going to last me a long time! I use this twice a week and it does a great job of controlling my oil and keeping my face fresh! I rinse after 20 minutes or longer! It tightens my face and it gets hard to talk or laugh hahahha. If you use the Mint Julep mask, this one is totally more intense than that & works better imo. I purchased mine from a GMC :) Love this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2011 11:03:00 PM More reviews by gojiberry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've learned that this mask works wonders with frequent usage. Several days ago I had several huge and painful breakouts on my face after eating fast food, and I used this mask right away with organic apple cider vinegar. The next day I repeated, and on the third day all the breakouts were gone. For now my face is completely free of breakouts and feels much lighter. I've never had a pimple completely heal in only 3 days. I will definitely repurchase this mask and use it more often. I apply a thick layer with a foundation brush, leave it to pulse 30 minutes to 1 hour, and then I rinse it off in the shower. It deposits minerals into the face, so don't use a cleanser after removing the mask. I am very thin skinned and NW 15 so my face stays a lot redder until the next morning, but the results are worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/30/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by sthepaut

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff really works! It lasts a really long time, too. I would use apple cider vinegar if you have oily skin and honey/milk if you have dry skin. Don't use it too often, once or twice a week maximum. Its really tempting to use it every day though, once you feel your skin tightening up and all the toxins being sucked out!!
You can use it on acne, insect bites, and even take it internally. I buy mine at iherb because it is really cheap and they offer free shipping too! Try coupon code: HEP887 to get $5 off your order

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by rachelph

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've been using this for two weeks or so now. It was a coupel tries before I got results. I mix it with ACV that i also bought from the Vitamin Shoppe and most recently with some sea salt too (very good for acne). It gets REALLY tight. While on, it burns, tingles, and itches. Its also painful to take off. However, it is SO worth it. After washing it off your face is a bit red and raw, but it draws out whiteheads and impurities, and my skin is soo much clearer since using it. My forehead used to be so oily, clogged, and bumpy before this, but this mask finally cleared it up. I would REALLY try this out, i've tried freeman's feeling beautiful, albas enzyme mask, and those japanese ones. They have nothing on this!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2011 3:40:00 PM More reviews by Barbiebuxxx

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I don't think this did anything for my face. I used it for about two months at least once a week before writing a review on it. It made my face feel tight and felt some suction action going on, so I got excited because I thought to myself, Oh wow this is probably going to make my skin look amazing once I wash it off. I was wrong, after washing it off I still had my nasty blackheads and my skin looked the same, only beet red. I was disappointed because I thought I would love it because of the great reviews it had here on MUA.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2011 10:52:00 AM More reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I can't really say that this did anything for my facial skin, because I didn't really use it on my face enough to say it made a difference. But, this stuff is great for rashes and bug bites. I occasionally get heat rash and rashes from wearing costume jewelry on my neck and chest.
My body skin seems to be more sensitive than my facial skin, and any non- precious metal is liable to break me out. I've tried hydrocortisone, benadryl,, anti- bacterial cream to clear up the rashes. My allergy issues are pretty bad anyway, so I already take a daily dose of claritin, and it would take forever for the rashes to clear up. But, one day while putting the clay mask on my face, I put it on my neck too. And bam, the rash cleared up/ dried up in like an hour. I then started putting the clay on the reoccurring rashes, and every time the clay would clear them up with just one mask application. I've used it on insect bites too, and it works at "drying" them up and making them not itchy. I'll always keep this clay around because it really works.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2011 10:36:00 AM More reviews by DazzleDiaries

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff...its my go to mask when i need a deep clean. i use it once a week and i have gotten all of my friends and family hooked! i mix 1 part clay with .5 part organic apple cider vinegar. i put it on my face and curl up to read a book or watch some TV. after about 30 minutes or so (sometimes i leave it on longer) i wash it off and my skin, although red, feels wonderful. and the next morning i always wake up to glowing skin!!! its like magic. i always get compliments on my skin the day after i do my mask. Love that its an all natural, easy, DIY....i dont think i will ever love another mask as much as my precious Indian Healing Clay mask!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No