MAC Blankety

4.1

377 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor oil, trioctydodecyl citrate, glyceryl triacetyl hydroxysterate, candellla wax, octydodecanol, silica, jojoba oil, beeswax, sesame oil, ozokerite, carnauba wax, cetyl ricinoleate, microcrystalline wax, ascorbyl palmitate, tocopherol, vanillin.


on 8/9/2009 11:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

excellent l/s. great color, great texture, perfect nude!!



on 8/1/2009 10:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I admit that I bought this lipstick on a whim, I got home, tried it on and I was not impressed. The neutral pink-beige color seemed unexciting, bland and boring.

However, I tried it again and realized this is an important lipstick shade to have, it's a very wearable color, it's considered a nude but actually gives a touch of natural looking color to your lips. It's like your lips but better. Most of the nude lipsticks I own are made to blank out pigmentation and lighten your lips, so this is a good alternative nude. It's also a great lipstick to pair with smokey eyes. The formula is delightfully rich and creamy. I recommend checking out Blankety...only if...you do not own a similar color. I still say it's not the most exciting and it's not necessarily a unique color but the formula is excellent.


on 7/25/2009 1:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My new fave! I tend to favour baby pinks and mauves but pink doesn't work for every occasion and I look terrible in browns, peaches, reds etc. Although this colour isnt that exciting in the tube and it didn't look like it would work, it is a PERFECT nude colour on my neutral NC/NW20 skin. I have a bit of a golden undertone and it really brings that out in me. I have Fleshpot and Blankety is slight darker and cooler and much easier to wear. I do reccommend putting gloss over top since it can become reminiscent of 90's lips. I prefer glaze and lustre formula's but the most important thing to me is the colour not the formula. I can see this being a try before you buy lipstick wince it is very opaque.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2009 6:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wish I could give this lippie 3 1/2 star's - pretty average to me. Purchased Blankety as suggested by MUG on YT. Boasts a nice nude/neutral lip on my PPP skin - for reference I'm a NW15 (NW 20 w/a summer-long tan.) This l/s does not have as much pink in it as I expected (as it looks to have in pics), but there is a slight pink/mauve undertone. On me, the color comes off beige with a slight pink - many ladies could pull this off as it's a simple, universal color.


The l/s texture is MAC's amplified formula, but quite frankly, I find it to be drying after 15-20 minutes of wear. MAC l/s just isn't my favorite, I guess. Also, while this does have a creamy consistency, the color is completely flat. Note there is absolutely no shimmer/sparkle whatsoever. This makes the l/s not very exciting, but super easy to pair with gloss! It's actually very close to my natural lip color- it would be good if you're looking for a subdued daytime/work 'no makeup' look. Personally, I don't wear this l/s alone - I prefer to wear it with a pink/purplish gloss OT. Really anything would work - I've used flourabundance, courting rose, dazzleglass in baby sparks or sugarrimmed all by MAC. Also looks nice with NARs orgasm gloss or Smashbox lippie in Pout which is a milky pink.


Blankety makes a nice compliment for smokey eyes and I do like it as a good neutral lipgloss base. Overall, this l/s is not a stand out for me, it's just okay =) I'd probably purchase again, unless I find an HG neutral before my tube is gone. Many neutrals make me look corpse like, which Blankety does not - score! *FYI* - Bobbi Brown l/s in pale pink is almost identical to MAC's Blankety. Funny that these are 2 of the like, 4 lipsticks I own (along with the 400 glosses ;)


*UPDATE*: While this still isn't a stand out color on it's own for me - I find it to be my new go-to l/s. I've been reaching for this everyday - and night for that matter. I love that it's great for a casual setting, business setting, club setting, formal setting - and can easily be changed up depending on what you pair it with/wear over top. Adding another lippie for the sheer versatility of this color - loving it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2009 2:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

No a favorite of mine... I only tried it once, maybe i'll try again lol


on 7/20/2009 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this is one of my favorite lipsticks def a staple.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

You have to know how to work this lippie. It can wash me out if I'm not careful. If I'm going with a more natural eye look, I like to pair it with a slightly darker lipliner and a gloss. Mermaid from Too Faced looks great with it ~it keeps the nude look but adds some irridescent shimmer. So does NARS Hot Wired gloss ~it gives it a pinkier sheen.


Without the darker lipliner & gloss, it works great with dark smokey eyes (the MOD look) and really colorful eye looks.


I'd say it's a great nude but not HG for me (for ref I'm NC25-30).


Might repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2009 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Oh blankety - I love you so!!! Perfect for a nude beige lip color on NC40 skin but doesn't make you look dead or washed out. I find i reach for this lipstick all the time - it goes with everything!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2009 12:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick has a great nude pinky color! I loved the color of it and the coverage was quite good.

However i found it a bit too drying for my lips.
After a few hours, my lips would start to crackle a bit or even flake! I tried putting lip balm on before putting this lipstick on, but it still seemed to dry my lips out... The only way i could make it stop drying that much was to put lipbalm before and lipgloss after!


on 6/27/2009 7:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it, my friends love it. It suits well with every look possible.
This is my HG lippy, can get a tad drying for me though. That won't make me part with it.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
184 Reviews
provocalips
56 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top