November 28, 2014 | 2048 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Up The Amp

rated 4.7(231 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/1/2006 7:45:00 PM More reviews by Shavwi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This isn't as bright on me as it is on some people - it's a mid-tone mauve-lavender on me. I see mostly mauve when I wear it. It looks great against my cool toned skin. I highly reccomend this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2006 8:04:00 PM More reviews by erynnj

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this lipstick, the formula is fantastic and its very moistureizing! i love the color so much, like no other hard to described but pretty! i liked it so much i bought 2 more that are the "amplified" formula.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2005 11:45:00 AM More reviews by marshmello

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This color is definitely not for the timid. It's bold! Very pretty pinky violet shade. The formula is creamy and a bit sheer so the lasting power isn't that great. I normally pair this with my Grape, Currant or Nightmoth lip pencils. It's ok but not quite right with my skin tone. I'm sure this would look fantabulous on the right person.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2005 1:16:00 PM More reviews by Evalina76

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Up the amp is a very bright mauvey pink that I thought at first might be too strong for my NC15 colouring, but it looks absolutely stunning on - it brightens my skin and makes my brown eyes look darker and stand out more. I wear it as a sheer stain, with Whirl lip pencil and BeneFit's Kiss Me gloss on top. This is a beautiful colour that would probably flatter most brown eyed brunettes, from the palest to the darkest skin tones.
Update: Nars Malta lipliner is PERFECT for lining with Up The Amp

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/6/2005 8:48:00 PM More reviews by babydollnot4u

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Whoa! I put this on too thick the first time, but it still was GORGEOUS. I'm not used to super bright colors so I only put on a thin layer. Goes awesome with my green eyes=) I think this is a lipstick that could be worn year round.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2004 1:51:00 PM More reviews by annieytown

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

The perfect purple based lipstick for this fall. It is a violet with pink undertones. It seems to be always sold out at my local MAC counters. This last visit I was lucky to grab one. The texture is creamy and lux and it has the greatest subtle scent. It works well with my HG gloss Chanel's Crystal blue glossimer. A 5 lippie product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2004 4:48:00 PM More reviews by XXXFirebabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I Love this color as well! The lipstick is creamy and it stays on very well!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2004 12:06:00 PM More reviews by sweetsmell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is a fun color, definitely not for those who are afraid of fun lips. It's a bright orchid color, no bones about that. I was afraid it might look too dark on me (super PPP who usually looks good in very bright reds and fuchsias) but it looked great and unusual. Also try it over a fuchsia liner for a kick!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/10/2004 11:11:00 PM More reviews by Ms_Ma

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Not for those scared of colour. Turns out beautifully on my NC35 skin. Very creamy and moisturising.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/6/2004 12:57:00 PM More reviews by lemurian

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This color is gorgeous!! The descriptions below are right-on, plus it smells like candy :) Not drying at all, and the color stays true. This isn't a color for every day, but if I ever managed to go through an entire tube, I'd definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No