MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

3.7

3769 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: talc, silica, isostearyl palmitate, methicone, phenoxyethanol May Contain: titanium dioxide CI77891, iron oxides CI77491 CI77492 CI77499, chromium oxide green CI77288, ultramarines CI77007 CI 77013


on 3/6/2008 8:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I will NEVER EVER buy this product again. I used ot have PERFECT, CLEAR skin, until I started using this after everyone told me about it's fantastic coverage and oil control.It broke me out like crazy, and I look like a Sunkist at the end of everyday, whether or not I sweat.
Worse of all, it did nothing in the oil controlling department, bcause a weird non-radiant kind of sheen will float up to the surface of my skin 3 hours into applying this product.



on 3/5/2008 2:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent coverage, and oily/moist enough not to make my skin flaky. (I wear it alone over moisturizer daily.) I've had some bad packaging experiences where the compact was already crumbling when I opened it, which sucks cause it'll make a mess anywhere it touches, this stuff is dense... (Hence the great coverage.) I take good care of my skin, BHAs, AHAs and BP so I can't say this powder has caused any acne, as I've used it for like 10 years now. Makes my skin look PERFECT.


on 3/5/2008 6:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product for over a decade and wouldn't be without it. I have normal skin and use the NC30. For daily wear I apply it with a jumbo makeup brush so it's not too heavy and just takes the sheen off. For evening wear I use the sponge. I wouldn't be without it.


on 3/3/2008 4:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed with this product.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Like many MAC foundations on me, this product looks amazing when applied and the colour match is almost perfect (nc15) but sadly like many here, i have found it produces oil, which makes my skin look patchy. The packaging is just a classic compact with a separate layer for the sponge, which i like. Although i am always careful with my cosmetics, the cover in front of the clasp at the front broke early on. Thought it might be worth a mention. I guess its another one for the pile!


on 3/2/2008 1:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great stuff!


on 3/1/2008 10:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROS: 1) very convenient to carry around, 2) high medium to low full coverage which I need, 3) quick and easy to use, 4) excellent color range to choose from.

CONS: 1) quality is not good... it does change to an orangish color in just a couple of hours on my very oily face (I used NC25), 2) it breaks down completely in 3 hours and the muddy substance just floats on my skin surface! xxxxxxxxxx

But, I have been using MAC Studio Fix for the last 8 years! I've just recently switched to Aveda Inner Light Dual Foundation. I managed to stick with MAC Studio Fix for so long despite its CONS because I found a way to make it "work". I simply wiped off all that orangish mess on my face at lunch time, cleaned my face with water or a damp towel, and re-applied the powder foundation again. (Since ease of use is excellent, so re-applying the powder foundation is quick and easy.) I did the same process again as soon as I got off work. On very oily skin, StudioFix powder really does not work. It looks refined and polished and matte when freshly applied, but only for at most 2 hours in moderate SoCal dry weather. Comparatively, Aveda Inner Light Dual which I am now using is much better in terms of quality and staying color and power! (Please see my review on Aveda.) For normal skin type gals, the freshly applied polished and matte look would surely last longer than just 2 hours. I would suggest you try StudioFix only if your skin type is normal. Thanks for reading :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2008 8:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have to say I was incredibly disappointed. This didn't match my skintone at all after the woman at the store matched me (NW20). It turns my face orange! And unless you super - exfoliate your face, it accents all the dry skin and makes your skin drier, but at the same time, the oily parts on my face still seem to be able to be oily.

Not good at all. However, on the other hand, Mac's Blot powder is absolutely great and I love it SOOOO much!

But dont buy this product unless it really matches your skin tone otherwise it is completely not worth it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2008 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to say that this is the BEST product ever! I have been a loyal fan to Studio Fix (C3) for almost 8 years now. I have Oily/Combination skin and I have to say this does control oil better than other powders or liquid foundations. BUT...I have been using Biore skin balancing cleanser and moisturizer and also SMASHBOX photofinish foundation primer in LIGHT...If you have oily skin like me and are a greasy mess by noon, you MUST try the Photofinsih primer under your MAC Studio Fix! It works miracels! My face has never looked better, and now I usually only have to blot once a day, which is FANTASTIC! What I've found out is that I like the coverage better when I apply it with a sponge vs a foundation brush. Also, if you are in between colors sometimes, like me (living in FL I tend to get more sun throughout the year!), you can use the lighter color as the foundation and dust, with a powder brush, the darker color. I do this with C3 and C4 and it works great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2008 1:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

studio fix is great. i mean it does wonders when it comes to a face powder. i dont use very much of it, but it still does th job. i would give it a 5, but it causes a little bit of oiliness. not much, nothing a simple blot sheet wont fix.


Back to Top