July 29, 2014 | 1906 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Retro Matte - Ruby Woo

rated 4.4(502 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2012 9:51:00 PM More reviews by Alfordalice

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this. This is my go to classic red lip. Works so well with cat eye liner and dramatic lashes. Or just black tight lined eyes and bronzed cheeks for a more on trend look. This to me is the perfect red for fair skin with yellow undertones. Russian red is much better for those with cool undertones. On me Russian red looks dated and aging because it's just not as hip or as flattering on my skin tone. You have to get it right if you're going to rock a red lip. Go check it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/8/2012 5:09:00 PM More reviews by ohcaitlin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

How I loveloveLOVE a bold retro lip, and from MAC to boot! This colour is absolutely beautiful, a true blue-based RED.

My only issue with Ruby Woo is how dry it is. I find I need to check up on it as it's dryness can affect the inner corners of my lips.

I found if I have at it with my hairdryer on low for just a few seconds the application is a lot easier/smoother.

While MAC's "Strut Your Stuff" kissable lip colour was still being made I had always topped it with that to ensure it stays nice n' moist. Since SYS was limited (..:'(..) I now dab a bit of Russian Red lipglass on top.

Similar lippies that I very much like, by MAC, are: Russian Red, and MAC Red. They feel more moisturizing and don't have me worrying in the back of my head to check my lips often.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/2/2012 11:34:00 PM More reviews by Ryanne

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the nicest red lipstick!!:-) Love the color and it makes me feel beautiful everytime!!:-) my friends love it too!!:-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2012 4:35:00 PM More reviews by AbbeyLatina

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this lipstick a couple of weeks ago, and I'm certainly glad that I did! This lipstick is a vivid red with a berry purple undertone if you look closely! Temptalia has some great, true to color swatches of this on her website and if you look at the picture of Ruby Woo swatched on her hand, you will see a purple undertone.. don't be scared! This lipstick can suit anyone whether you're fair-skinned, dark-skinned, have a yellow undertone or red undertone! Definite must-have and speaks 'girl power'

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/21/2012 10:48:00 AM More reviews by Elle547

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Love love love this lipstick. I wore it to dinner and a musical last night(Wicked). This stuff wore like a champ. It is a dry lipstick but I don't mind because it stays so well and I wouldn't wear it every day anyway. The color is a beautiful red. Instantly dresses up any outfit you wear. I will absolutely purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2012 12:31:00 PM More reviews by StinaBG

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This was absolute LOVE at first application.
I was a bit hesitant to buy this at first because people said it felt drying on their lips,
and was a bit hard to apply,
but I haven't had that problem at all. I just put a thin cover of chapstick on my lips and then blot them with a towel first, and the application goes smoothly with a WONDERFUL matte effect. Yes, I'm a sucker for matte lipsticks, because I hate the feeling of sticky things on my lips, and this lipstick is about as matte as it gets.
But the real wonder of this lipstick is how well it wears. I was actually shocked when I grabbed a glass of water and there was no - I repeat NO lipstick mark on the glass after I'd taken a zip!
It wears like a champ, has the perfect red color and matte texture, so I am LOVING IT.
New hg for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2012 9:31:00 AM More reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Note: If you are feeling anything less than fabulous, DO NOT
wear this lipstick!!! This lipstick is for when you are looking to be noticed because it will make both men and women stare at you! Ruby Woo, in my opinion, is THE best red lipstick out there! Beautiful blue based matte red. It's an unusually dry lippie so please exfoliate lips before wearing. I love to wear RW with my hair pulled backed, cheeks highligted, and neural eyes with an extra coat of mascara :-)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/11/2012 12:34:00 AM More reviews by prettysaysay

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Soooo Ruby Woo is my new BFF. Like seriously. Pretty much sh*ts on all other red matte lipsticks I've tried & I'm as happy as I could be. This is the only true matte MAC has aside from Moxie which they did away with (really y'all??). Russian Red is fantastic but I reallyyyy like the pinup-girl-of-the-50's look I get with this. Make sure to put a good primer or balm down before applying or this will dry your lips up & get stuck in all the creases. Have fun!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2012 3:24:00 PM More reviews by normaestrada19

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ruby Woo I looooooove YOU! What can I say that hasn't been said before????!? It's a beautiful shade that transports you to another era, when glamour was key to everyday dressing. I purchased this in Vegas and had to wear it right away. I got stopped so many times and was asked what lipstick I was wearing (I also got stopped when wearing Rebel, another MAC favorite), you'd think I was on their payroll. On me the color is a beautiful red/coral on me, not to orangy. This is defitnetly more on the orange based reds than a blue based. The formula is a bit drying, but I wear it with the MAC lip prep + prime and it feels just fine on my lips. The staying power is amazing on this lipstick as well. Again, Ruby Woo I love you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/5/2012 10:43:00 AM More reviews by shelivsinrainbows

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I cannot deny that I love the colour of this lipstick. Iím a huge red lipstick lover (especially mattes) and thought that id found my perfect red however for me the formulation lets it down. I understood when I brought Ruby Woo that it was a Retro Matte; however I couldnít believe just how dry it actually is. I did actually wonder whether I had a bad tube but after testing I found out all are the same. I find the colour very hard to actually evenly get a coat of this on my lips even after trying with brushes, the tube and even my fingers. I seem to find that as I apply the colour either streaks, rubs away or creates a chalky uneven faded red looking finish. I do wear this lipstick it just takes ages to apply to the point it looks nice. All in all I would not repurchase. Love the colour not the formula!

Is this review helpful? Yes No