April 21, 2014 | 955 users online

Eyeliner - New York Color - Liquid Eyeliner

rated 3.3(347 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 8/18/2009 12:38:00 AM More reviews by shaesquared

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner really is half decent! I have the shimmery black version of this, and I like the colour. The brush is alright, but it does get streaky. I definitely have a problem with this product flaking, which is the main reason why I wouldn't buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2009 5:02:00 AM More reviews by Ayustar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this because it was $2.49 and I wasn't expecting anything out of it. I really needed liquid liner and I was broke. There were two of them, a regular black one and a shimmery black one. I eventually got the shimmery one, in addtion to the regular black one.

I am wearing it right now! Right now I can afford a better liner but really, this stuff is FANTASTIC. I am surprised. Both of them are awesome. I do put a layer of black eyeshadow on top to give it some more punch and so that the eye shadow I am wearing doesn't migrate. I don't mind taking an extra step to make sure it looks good, I enjoy putting makeup on and really, it's not a hassle.

So yes, I would buy them again.Though, I am looking for an eyeliner that is very dark and sorta shiny. I want to look into the brand called Blinc to see if they have good liner. I haven't seen any reviews on here for it though.

Anyways, it applies nicely, the brush is pretty decent, the color payoff is really good. I usually have to put two coats on, which is pretty typical of liquid liner *at least for me.* The price is awesome!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/30/2009 10:44:00 PM More reviews by LadyG13

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this flakes off after 10 minutes-i hate it. i expected a lot more out of this because i generally love NYC. BUT i saw another user just used pencil first and then the liner, so i will do the same until i run out of this....crap!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/28/2009 5:00:00 PM More reviews by mspung

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Jet Black.


I got it super cheap as a sort of practice tool to perfect my liquid eyeliner skill. I do not think this is a great product at all but i would repurchase because its dirt cheap (keep it around as an emergency when my reg. eyeliner isn't avail.)


Color: The Jet black comes out like streaky jet black but sets to a dull black

Application: Long skinny bristles. comes out streaky, not at all a smooth line. I like to line my lids w/ a thick line and had to go over my original line 2x to get it black

Result: fine at first, then flakes

Some Advice: ...if you want it to stay longer i find that lining your eye w/ a good black pencil helps the liquid stay longer/less flake but its kind of a pain

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/24/2009 3:20:00 PM More reviews by Hoebilly

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite eyeliner, I have not had another eyeliner besides a brow pencil in my makeup bag for years. I find it very surprising to read that other people have problems with this product flaking, because in the many years I have used it I have never had an issue with flaking. The only circumstance I can think of for cracking, is applying more mascara or curling my lashes after the liner has dried, and I just paint over the crack and im good all day. I use the 'Jet Black' color, and love how dark and jet black it actually is, it makes my eyes pop. And I find the brush a godsend, I actually have a much harder time using the felt tipped liners, I am able to draw on a cateye line perfectly, everyday. I think I could even do it blindfolded, ahaha. I would reccomend this product to anybody, and at under $3 CDN a tube, I will continue to buy and use this product until it (knock on wood) becomes discontinued.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2009 1:53:00 PM More reviews by allyshrn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

this is my favvvvvvv eyeliner! its the darkest black, and easy to apply and its cheap. i never use ne other eyeliner now, its the best! i have no idea how ne one could say nething bad about this cuz i have been using this for years and have never had a problem!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/15/2009 6:15:00 PM More reviews by diordoll

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HORRIBLE! when you apply it it looks amazing for about 10 minutes. It flakes off in no time, leaves fall out, and looks disgusting! DO NOT BUY THIS!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/6/2009 11:20:00 PM More reviews by blessed11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I looove the tiny brush, the dark color, and the CHEAP price!
...but it does flake if you try to put eyeshadow over it or try to smudge it.
So I have mixed feelings :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/28/2009 5:03:00 PM More reviews by mellowkitty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a cheap liquid liner, for daily wear (I use the more expensive stuff for special nights and more professional application).
I read "thin applicator" and jumped on the chance to buy it. However when I got home I was dissapointed to see it was a brush. Felt pen tips are WAY easier to handle.

I got it in Jetblack and the product itself was pretty ok. No complaints really, but the application took me much longer then usual to get it right.
I suggest having a q-tip handy to fix up mistakes during applying it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/26/2009 1:16:00 AM More reviews by cutiejunkie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

this is by far the best drugstore eyeliner i've tried. I use to use the Wet 'N Wild one and that one really clumps and flakes. so i decided to go to Rite-Aid today and came across this one. I was desparate for a liquid liner and i don't like spending alot on liquid eyeliners because I use it everyday. and it runs out pretty fast for me. so i decided to buy this one, since it's only two dollars.

Product Review:
It goes on really pigmented. I got this in "Jet Black" and it does come out a really pigmented black. no flaking, no smudging, and i did a swatch on my hand, i had to rub it extremely hard, and it doesn't smudge, it just comes off slowly.

I really like this and will keep repurchasing. it has impressed me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No