July 30, 2014 | 1582 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Hard Candy - Sheer Envy Primer

rated 3.7(358 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/18/2011 4:31:00 PM More reviews by lls4f

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! It does feel a bit oily/slippery, but if you let it soak in for a couple of minutes, it feels almost powdery but still very very smooth. I use a liquid foundation over it which I blend with my fingers and it just GLIDES on. It's just startling the difference. My makeup looks airbrushed when I use this primer. It beats out every high end primer I've tried. You get so much in that tube, and you don't need a lot per application. I use less than a dime size blob every morning before I put on my makeup. It's definitely increased the staying power of my foundation. I find my combo skin looks much less oily/dry through the day with this. The oily parts look matte and the dry parts look healthy. Really great product for the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/18/2011 9:12:00 AM More reviews by Mintypink

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've never owned Smashbox photofinish primer, which is considered one of the best primers out there but I have swatched it on my hand at the mall many times and this primer feels EXACTLY like Smashbox. I was turned onto this by Emily Eddington of Beauty Broadcast on Youtube and she's so right--it's a great dupe. It makes foundation (I use tinted moisturizer) application a dream.
1. It really works just like Smashbox
2. It's so much cheaper than Smashbox
3. Packaging is cute
4. You don't need much

Highly, highly recommend this primer!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2011 6:06:00 PM More reviews by mialovecupcake

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This primer worked nicely. I liked the feeling it left on my face. Sometimes I even wore it without makeup because it makes me face feel smooth and silky. It was pretty inexpensive for the amount of product. After a while it got kind of clumpy, which I just fixed by shaking up the bottle. Near the end of it, though, it did not seem to be working as well as when I first got it. I would definitely repurchase after trying out different primers because it is a very good price and good quality.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2011 9:31:00 AM More reviews by Ahlexa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this primer. I only use a small dot on each side of my face and it covers both sides completely. I never thought this would work, but I really does. I apply my moisturizer, sunscreen and then the primer. When I apply my foundation and buff it in, it honestly once it sets looks airbrushed and has a bit of a glow to it. I never though this would make a difference but it really does. I will definitely buy this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2011 8:38:00 PM More reviews by cachmehere

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is the best primer I've ever used. I have tried tons and this tops them all in price and quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/10/2011 5:19:00 PM More reviews by katr112

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I used this and fell in love the first time. It works great; makes my makeup go on SO smoothly and nicely. Plus I have dry skin and this works amazing. BUT it broke me out like carazzyy, the next day I had zits all over my face :( too bad

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2011 12:27:00 PM More reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really really love this primer! Its my first ever primer, I basically bought it on a whim and Im glad I did. I use this after I moisturize my face, this primer dries into like a silky velvety feel and makes your face feel really smooth and soft. I don't really wear foundation but it works really well when I use mineral powder foundation as well as my liquid foundation. It doesn't break me out at all either which is awesome for acne prone skin!

Love!
$8.00 Walmart

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2011 9:36:00 AM More reviews by slimchicklovesMAC

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

I tried this product after reading comments about it on MUA. I purchased from Wal-Mart for $7.00. I thought $7 was a little high, for DS but got it anyway. When I got home, I compared it in size to the small squeeze tube of Smashbox primer that cost $10 at Sephora. Sheer Envy is roughly $8 for 1.7 oz and Smashbox Primer to go is $16 for 0.5oz. So, felt this was a great value at $.21 per oz vs. $32 an ounce for Smashbox.

I have used Smashbox and like it very much, but IMHO Sheer Envy if far better. Both kept me from the oilies throughout the day, but Sheer Envy did a better job and keep me sheen free longer. I have 13 hours days, I need my m/u to do overtime!!!

Sheer Envy makes my face look smoother and almost poreless. My foundation looks flawless when I use this. It make my foundation look like MSBB (my skin but better). I apply after moisturizer and allow it to set while I apply my e/s. It comes in a squeeze tube and comes out looking a little like soft wax. Upon application is "melts" and feels kinda wet or greasy. This was a drawback for me. This first time I applied, I was like, Uh oh!!! big mistake! But, it dried (set) quickly and performed well. Some have said that this left them oily. I wonder if they gave the primer a minute or two to set, before applying foundation. Anyway, If you are in the market for a good primer, go to your nearest Wal Mart, b/c Hard Candy isn't sold anywhere else. They also sell on walmart.com. I will definitely repurchase and will buy one to keep in my travel kit.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/7/2011 5:34:00 AM More reviews by throughbeingcool

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I think this product is wonderful for it's price. I like it more than Smashbox Photofinish. I think it works well for dry skin. It primes skin quite well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2011 11:36:00 PM More reviews by miamisparkle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was debating between buying the sephora brand primer and one of the Smashbox primers after trying samples of both. I bought a hard candy gift set recently with a mini primer and was amazed at how well it worked! I went back and bought a full size tonight. I'm saving so much money and I get more product, i'm so happy I found this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No