October 24, 2014 | 1730 users online

Liquid - Clinique - Supermoisture Makeup



image 0image 1

rated 3.4(225 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 53% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/16/2007 1:51:00 PM More reviews by suggrr

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

While I hesitate to write a review just based on one use from a sample from a magazine (InStyle I believe), I feel compelled to write a review for Clinique's Supermoisture Makeup. I actually think this foundation feels great on my skin, nicely lightweight and non-drying. I also think the coverage is pretty good, somewhere between sheer and medium. My sample was definitely more towards medium, as this provided more coverage than my usual tinted moisturizer. I used a foundation brush and found Supermoisture to be very easy to spread and blend.


Unfortunately, I'm just three hours into wearing this foundation and I'm already looking oily and big pore-d. I would have loved to look dewy, but since my skin is oily to begin with I'm not surprised that this moisturizing foundation couldn't keep me more matte. I even put powder on before heading out the door, but that couldn't stop the shine. I can't knock the foundation for not keeping me very matte, though. It's clearly geared more towards dry-skinned folks, not oily-skinned folks. I'd think that this foundation wouldn't have enough moisture for those who tend to have extremely dry skin. I had some slightly dry patches by my mouth and Supermoisture went on smoothly after I exfoliated that area. I was rather impressed by that, since my usual arsenal of concealers and foundation tend to accentuate any dry skin and make it look worse.


Unfortunately I do have to knock off some points for the microshimmer in this foundation. It's clearly not from my powder, because I noticed the shimmer (I thought it was glitter at first!) before I put powder on. I can still see it a few hours later, especially under my eyes. While I guess having some shimmer under my eyes isn't so bad... but having it on my nose and forehead is pretty bad. I agree with LadyBug_here- shimmer all over the face is not a good daytime look, at least not for me. I'd rather have a choice as to whether I want to wear shimmer every day, and where on my face I want to wear it, instead of using a foundation that has shimmer in it.


I would recommend this to people who don't mind daily shimmer and are slightly dry to dry-skinned and not acne-prone. Three lippies for those people, but more like 2.5 or 2 lippies (mainly based on coverage and how it feels on the face) for us oily-skinned folks. Definitely try this before you buy, because the shimmer is not for everyone and I hope Clinique decides to remove it from the foundation's formula.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/11/2007 7:37:00 PM More reviews by coscouns

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

A SA gave me samples in Ivory and Linen. I have combo skin- large pores with dry surface and oily under- bumpy rosacea surface. This foundation texture looked smooth on my skin and did leave my skin feeling even better after I washed it off. I got compliments from people at church on how I looked. I am NC/NW25 and the Ivory worked well. The linen is a little lighter and pinker, and also worked if I liked a cooler, lighter look on my skin. The only downside? The foundation bothered my blasted ocular rosacea eyes- so I would purchase if it didn't bother my eyes, but have to say, no I wouldn't buy again because of that.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/7/2007 8:28:00 PM More reviews by vcanady

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

UGH...I tried the sample of this product in Allure and I was completely unimpressed. I have combination skin, oily on my t-zone, yet i get dry patches on my cheeks.This stuff has an almost watery, sticky texture and it covers nothing. It left my skin feeling wet almost. Not good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/7/2007 12:34:00 PM More reviews by anabanana86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was so excited about this product. I have dry, very sensitive skin, so when I saw the ad/sample in Allure, I thought, finally! Something just right for my skin! It does have an incredible texture and goes on really smoothly - my skin feels great with this stuff on. Unfortunately, it doesn't LOOK good. Supermoisture has essentially no coverage - less than many tinted moistureizers I've used - it didn't cover the redness in my cheeks, the large pores in my t-zone, or the blemish I had on my chin. It's absolutely PACKED with microshimmer. And while I can't really rate how the coverage holds up throughout the day, because I didn't see any coverage from it, the shimmer lasted through a sweaty, 95-degree afternoon at a football game.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2007 6:57:00 AM More reviews by dgjmommy1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation/moisturizer. Goes on smoothly- not great for coverage but does not look caked on. I love the Dewy look that I get from this and it lasts most of the day. You can get a free sample at any clinique counter. Great product

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2007 8:36:00 PM More reviews by Madera

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Love that sample. It works especially after using micro retin a, because it moisturized my parched skin. I still prefer Mineral Fusion makeup, and in the winter antiaging Repairwear by Clinique

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/30/2007 2:37:00 PM More reviews by LadyBug_here

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Skintype: DSPW
My skin is very dry, specially now in the autumn. Reading the rave reveiws here in MUA I decided to try this tinted moisturizer-like foundation.



PRO: Nice consitency and free from any fragrance and silicone. I suffered from no breakouts nor irritations (although I only tried the sample once).

CON: Clinique is still very backward and carries only 5 shades whereas none have yellow undertone. The foundation is stuffed with sparkles. For anyone who's looking for a daytime look this is not it.

I will not be purchasing this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/29/2007 9:47:00 PM More reviews by odomcats

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I tried the sample from Allure magazine & really liked this makeup. It felt light yet evened out my complexion nicely-and I even have rosacea. I will buy this soon. It is $22,50 a tube-not a bad price at all. It really is akin to a tinted moisturerizer. I like how soft my skin felt even after I washed the foundation off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/29/2007 3:50:00 PM More reviews by kylesmom27

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was so excited to try this so I bought some yesterday. I used it today and yuck. It settled in my pores and I'm like greasy shiny. Not good. I do love that it's in a tube but that's the only plus for me. :(


**UPDATE** I've decided to rebuy this b/c my skin has been so dry lately. The MA applied Linen allover and set it with powder. No flakey dry spots which is a huge plus. Now if the ingredients won't bother me, we'll see.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/28/2007 11:22:00 PM More reviews by sfhillerin

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Oh my gosh... wow. Just... wow. My face was DRIPPING oil before I even got to work. It was DISGUSTING. And I am not even an oily skinned person, though I do have shininess that strikes with the wrong product. And man, was this definitely the wrong product. This is definitely not for anyone who even thinks for a second that they might have an oil problem. But if you have REALLY dry skin... maybe it'll work?

Is this review helpful? Yes No