October 25, 2014 | 1663 users online

Cleansers - Philosophy - Purity Made Simple (Real Purity Cleanser)

rated 3.7(2434 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2005 2:59:00 PM More reviews by The_Maverick25

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was very pleasantly surprised with this cleanser. Besides Cetaphil, it's the first thing I have found that doesn't irritate or break out my sensitive combo skin. This leaves my skin soft and smooth and I haven't experienced any redness or irritation from it. Some days I don't even feel like I have to apply moisturizer after cleansing, which is amazing in the dry winter! I didn't have any high hopes for this because most cleansers don't do anything for me, but I'm actually repurchasing this one!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/17/2005 3:37:00 AM More reviews by alliecollins

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i love this. it makes me feel clean and it does tighten up my skin which is something that i don't mind at all. i use this twice a day and don't ever see myself using anything else. it even smells fresh and clean.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2005 10:40:00 AM More reviews by jennifer36

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Removes makeup like a dream. Face feels CLEAN! Makes my skin feel slightly tight only downside. I still have repurchased many times just for the makeup remover factor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2005 1:20:00 AM More reviews by frenchconnection

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think this is a great cleanser and will definitely repurchase. It cleans my combo skin wonderfully and doesn't leave it tight or with a filmy residue. I think it will make a great year round cleanser. The scent is not the greatest, but it's not overpowering. It's sort of an herbal or medicinal smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/15/2005 2:06:00 AM More reviews by foxxxy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I really like this cleanser. It washes off 99% of my makeup, including mascara, all at once. I use this whenever I am too lazy too use a makeup remover AND a facial cleanser, and it works very well. However, I wish it is truly fragrance free, but this light (lemony?) scent will do for now. It doesn't break me out. It may be just slightly drying for my combination skin, but nothing a little moisturizer won't fix. It is a little more expensive than what I would usually pay for a cleanser, but I will repurchase until I find something cheaper.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/13/2005 3:56:00 PM More reviews by SaucyMinx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product was a nightmare for me! I got some samples from another MUA member and used it one evening. An hour later my face felt tight so I washed it and used my regular cetaphil. The next morning I had red, rashy, bumpy breakouts all along my hairline and under my ears and chin. It was awful! I've never had such a strong reaction. I'm never trying Philosophy again - not taking any chances that I'll break out again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2005 6:25:00 PM More reviews by kinipela

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not totally floored by it and it smells interesting and I probably won't buy it again as I really love the Caudalie foaming cleanser or the PC cleanser for dry skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/10/2005 6:07:00 PM More reviews by luckie17

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i used a sample of this stuff, and, no offense to the people who love this stuff, it really sucked. I have combination skin that gets dry easily everywhere except the top of my nose, where it gets oily. This is NOT a cleanser for everyone. I used this a few nights and it left AN OIL SLICK on my face! My nose was oilier than before I used this. My skin felt gross and unclean and not right. This stuff also has a funky herb-y smell I really didn't like. The bottle is cute and the price could be worse, but this just isn't worth anything to me. I wouldn't even pay drugstore prices for this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/9/2005 9:56:00 PM More reviews by Lyxbeiby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I had really high hopes for this product which also was my first from Philosophy. I've heard a lot about it and many seems to have gotten great results using it.

I have a pretty oily T-zone and some blemishes when it's "that time of month".

This product didn't feel like it cleaned deep enough. It took away my make-up without much problem. But it felt like it didn't do anything else. I can't say I notice any difference at all in my skin. My pores are the same and I break-out just as often. I did however like the fact that it didn't dry out my skin. I won't purchase again for now, maybe I'll try it with a toner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/9/2005 8:50:00 AM More reviews by hcf17

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

If you want your skin to burn like hell and be totally red and scaly afterward, then this is the product for you! It is probably one of the worst, most over-rated cleansers that I have ever used. It smells too strong, like amonia or something foul. Stay away from it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No