MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

3.7

3781 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: talc, silica, isostearyl palmitate, methicone, phenoxyethanol May Contain: titanium dioxide CI77891, iron oxides CI77491 CI77492 CI77499, chromium oxide green CI77288, ultramarines CI77007 CI 77013


on 5/24/2008 2:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Not that bad, my first foundation. I applied it with a wet sponge most times. Only beef I have with it is that it appeared blotchy on my skin as the day went on. Might try the fluid version soon (running out of my Clinique).



on 5/21/2008 10:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this powder for about a year now and is VERY soft and doesn't make me breakout and has AWSOME coverage! HOWEVER it makes me look CAKEY! EEEKKK I will not buy this again!


on 5/20/2008 4:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a very uneven complexion, some red patches left over from when I had acne and some brown spots. I don't leave the house without foundation.
I had tried pretty much every single brand you can find at my local CVS with no luck till I went to the MAC counter. I bought the liquid and the powder studiofix in NC35.

I'm SOOO HAPPY.I've tried using both, as recommended by the SA, but I looked like I had a mask on, so now I only use the powder. I have to apply a good mosturizer every time before I put this on or my skin feels really dry. I do have to reapply at around lunch time though, but that doesn't bother me.
It gives me flawless skin and no breakouts. Totally worth the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2008 2:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is heavy heavy heavy! I would call this more of a foundation than a powder...definately would not suggest using it over foundation because it looks cakey..if you are going to wear this, wear this only..overall i think it is a nice, satiny & matte. Personally I like liquid foundation so I won't use this, but my friend uses it as her foundation and her face looks beautifulally flawless with it on. Also, I thought I would leave a tip on here: DO NOT keep the sponge on top of the powder, put it in the bottom. After awhile mine began to darken and look as if water had gotten in it. the rep at the MAC counter told me that if you leave the sponge on top of the powder, the powder will absorb the oil from the sponge that came from your face which will make you breakout because you're just transferring oil back & forth!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I went to an outlet store last week and it had an entire MAC counter with every product dramatically cheaper than what you would find in a MAC store.
The powder I used before StudioFix did the trick, so as much as I wanted to try StudioFix, the 25-dollar pricetag wasn't worth it when I had something I loved just as much.
But the outlet had my color, and I got it for only 17 dollars. I LOVE IT ! I know I won't back back to the outlet again (it was three states away) but trying out the product reconfirmed my notions to buy it, and now it's all I will use.


on 5/19/2008 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great stuff -- I hate the mask feeling of liquid foundation and I don't want to look like those girls I see that you can see stuff caked on their faces. This stuff gives good coverage that you can build from light to heavy coverage. I use a big powder brush so it looks more natural. Love it! And they have many more colours to choose from to match your skin colour. Don't use the sponge-- use a big brush!


on 5/19/2008 7:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A friend of mine recommended this product to me after muy many attempts to find a powder that would not only be the right shade for my skin, but also give me enough coverage. I have to say, I really LOVE the coverage of this powder. Yes, it can become cakey if you put too much on or do not blend it in properly. I use this with the Studio Fix Liquid Foundation as well. I went to the Mac Counter and they matched my skin perfectly. I can't say how many times I have bought different products that never gave me the right coverage. This is flawless. Everyone's skin is different, but for me, this stuff is great. I will definitely buy this again. Oh, and by the way, you definitely need to use a good brush with this powder. Great stuff!!!!


on 5/19/2008 1:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great coverage, but it made my skin look so cakey.
I'd use it if i had it, but wont buy this again.


on 5/18/2008 9:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed that this product didn't work out for me since I know many people who swear by it and their skin looks absolutely amazing.
My biggest problem with it is the consistency. No matter how hard I tried it would always look way too cakey and powdery on my skin. I also found it hard to apply and even harder to blend. The one good thing I can say about it though is that the coverage is pretty decent.
Perhaps this foundation is way better for people who are very oily and not combo like me.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this stuff!i had a compact in my makeup bag 4 weeks before i even tried it...i was scared of the breakouts everyone talks about but thankfully it hasn't happened!i apply on well moisturised skin with a big dense powder brush in a circular motion!i like a FULL coverage and i get it with only a tiny bit of product...and it only takes about 2-3 minutes!now i know that this won't b 4 everyone...its very dry so only for the oilier skins that like a nice matt finish,and it is high cover so if u like a 'fresh and natural' finish, look elsewhere!but personally i like total matt perfection that last all day so untill they invent a full face transplant i'll be sticking with studiofix!

Update...a few months have past and still lovin my sf...and obviously no break outs!i've religiously used a brush to apply as per advice on here but the other day i was in a mega hurry n couldn't find my beloved powder brush so thought i'd risk the sponge just once(despite the fear of the 'cakey mess' horror stories) and it turns out i quite like it this way too...a much faster track to my desired coverage the a quick once over with a fluffy powder brush and i really can't see the difference from buffing it on...apart from the fact that it takes half the time and i don't have powder flying all over the place!been using it this way for a few weeks now(washing the sponge every few days) and i'm pretty sure i'll stick to it! I'm sure most people prefer brush but my advice is give the sponge a chance...it might surprise u!xxx

update2...while this still holds a place in my heart i have had to put it to the bottom of my bag for a while, it was always a bit yellow looking on my summer skin but now the winter has come and i'm back to being a med/fair ool tone it just looks ridiculous! wen back to mac to sort the problem and guess wot...every shade looked too yellow!oh well, i've found a new love in diorskin forever and they make a good pinky tone so i'm happy either way!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top