January 28, 2015 | 1985 users online

Powder - MAC - Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

rated 3.7(3739 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/20/2008 1:26:00 AM More reviews by kmorrison21

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I think it works differently for different skin tones. I'm 26 and have always had acne prone skin. I can't use the powder as a foundation, but its great as a powder, it blends very easily and isn't cakey or flaky. One thing I noticed too is that it doesn't rub off on everything like some do. Its a little pricey, but the one I have now I've used every day and got it in September, and it's barely showing the metal part.. Lasts forever. Best when blended with a brush, instead of the sponge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/20/2008 12:58:00 AM More reviews by LaaLaa109

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was my first powder foundation that I've tried after years of only using liquid foundation and at first found it to be quite refreshing and great. I have oily skin with lots of imperfections so I needed something that would fit the bill for both conditions. Although this is a powder foundation, it gave surprisingly good coverage. Great at times even. I loved the fact that I could get a great finish without hassling with liquid foundations. After a while of using this though, I did find three things that were deal breakers for me. One was how this accentuated any dry spots on my face even after proper use of moisturizers. Two, my face always looked dull and ashy when I wore this foundation and the addition of shimmery bronzer/blush just made it look worse in my opinion. Finally, this changed colors on me after wearing this for a few hours, especially around my jaw line. I believe this would be good on gals with extremely oily skin without dry spots but beware of the fact that this could change colors.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/19/2008 4:07:00 PM More reviews by babyfishnat

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Without a doubt this is still the best foundation yet. The finish is a great matte flawless look and covers my acne marks , and pores like a dream. i will stop drifting from this one now. i used it before and tried many others in between and i'm sold to this after visiting MAC again. Affordable and works. Does not break me out , acne prone skin, NC15. I remove this with loreal's makeup remover for the face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/19/2008 8:51:00 AM More reviews by SL103

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

** updated review**
I read reveiws na MUA and found the Revlon Colorstay foundation for oily skin, and as it was cheap I decided to give it a try. I have now been hooked on the Revlon foundation as it has staying power even for my very oily skin, it's easy to apply, and great full coverage, I stopped using the MAC studio fix and have been using revlon for 2 months, ,my pimples have been reduced by a LOT, therefore I think the MAC was making me break out with cycstic pimples.

After what seems like looking round the world for a foudation with powder for VERY oily skin, this seems to be the best so far. I have tried many many other foundations powder, and never really thought of buying MAC until about a year ago, as MAC seem to be cheaper than other brands. I am now using my 3rd studio fix compact, the thing is with very oily skin I have given up expecting any product to stay on my skin for more than 8 hours and this seems to be the best so far.

Advantgages:

The fact that this is a foundation with powder means that I can just carry one compact around with me during the day and reapply if necessary.

Coverage is medium, which for me is ideal as it hides my flaws but also doesn't make me look like I have a layer of thick one coat paint on.

Value for money is excellent, in addition the service you get from MAC make up artists is the best I've experienced. As I a very picky about the colour to match my natural skin colour, I go to 3 different MAC counters and all have tried different shades on me, good thing is they all gave me the same colour.

Disadvantages:
It is a bit dry when first applied however if you have oily skin then this would be ideal as later on the day it feels better (later on meaning approximately 1.5 hours later).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/19/2008 7:44:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I was really disappointed with this product. For a powder, the coverage is fantastic. It looks great on my friends which is why I bought it, but it's, well, icky. It made my skin looks chalky and dry even though it made my skin feel oily to the touch and it felt heavy. It also clogged my pores so I had to wash it off within 4 hours of putting it on because I was starting to break out. And last but not least when I sweat it makes my skin sting. I don't have sensitive skin so I don't know why this happened, but it did. I definitely would not recommend this if you have acne prone or dry/combination skin. I'll stick to Simply Powder . *11/2009* I decided to give this powder a try.. again.. Still not happy with it. It still dries me out, breaks me out, and looks chalky. Booo. I want so badly to like this but I just can't. *sigh* $26.00 wasted again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2008 6:41:00 PM More reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I need more coverage than this can provide without getting chalky and cakey. Gotta love the color selection though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/18/2008 6:28:00 PM More reviews by LittleBanana

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to use SF years ago, and over time I noticed it started to dry me out around the nose and also the chin. I tried to use different moisturizers with it and even Fix Plus spray and still it dried me out. However, it does work really well with oily skin, and looks lovely with the fix plus spray. Can look a bit cakey if you put too much on. It goes on so much better with a brush though, instead of the sponge. If I could wear it, I would buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/18/2008 12:51:00 PM More reviews by getchasum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love Studio fix! I find you can't use it for heavy coverage though, because then it looks caked on. It looks amazing over other foundations or for light coverage though! The only problem I've found is that halfway through the day my face tends to look greasy, and I don't have greasy/oily skin by any means. Good overall product though! Would definitely by it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/17/2008 3:02:00 AM More reviews by missbaileey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

It's a staple!
I wear it all the time and never have a problem with it. To the person below be that said it looked cakey..are you applying with a powder brush or those sponges? Cause the sponges are rubbish and unhygenic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/15/2008 4:30:00 PM More reviews by babybeautymaven

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Yuck this crappy powder looked caked on. no matter how light handed i applied it. Nice color selection. Not great for combo skin. Mac foundations suck!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No