July 24, 2014 | 1029 users online

Powder - MAC - Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

rated 3.7(3677 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 3/3/2008 4:05:00 PM More reviews by ienroll

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed with this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2008 11:08:00 AM More reviews by snow_white_suicide

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Like many MAC foundations on me, this product looks amazing when applied and the colour match is almost perfect (nc15) but sadly like many here, i have found it produces oil, which makes my skin look patchy. The packaging is just a classic compact with a separate layer for the sponge, which i like. Although i am always careful with my cosmetics, the cover in front of the clasp at the front broke early on. Thought it might be worth a mention. I guess its another one for the pile!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2008 1:48:00 PM More reviews by flittered

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great stuff!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/1/2008 10:30:00 PM More reviews by lbfsf

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

PROS: 1) very convenient to carry around, 2) high medium to low full coverage which I need, 3) quick and easy to use, 4) excellent color range to choose from.

CONS: 1) quality is not good... it does change to an orangish color in just a couple of hours on my very oily face (I used NC25), 2) it breaks down completely in 3 hours and the muddy substance just floats on my skin surface! xxxxxxxxxx

But, I have been using MAC Studio Fix for the last 8 years! I've just recently switched to Aveda Inner Light Dual Foundation. I managed to stick with MAC Studio Fix for so long despite its CONS because I found a way to make it "work". I simply wiped off all that orangish mess on my face at lunch time, cleaned my face with water or a damp towel, and re-applied the powder foundation again. (Since ease of use is excellent, so re-applying the powder foundation is quick and easy.) I did the same process again as soon as I got off work. On very oily skin, StudioFix powder really does not work. It looks refined and polished and matte when freshly applied, but only for at most 2 hours in moderate SoCal dry weather. Comparatively, Aveda Inner Light Dual which I am now using is much better in terms of quality and staying color and power! (Please see my review on Aveda.) For normal skin type gals, the freshly applied polished and matte look would surely last longer than just 2 hours. I would suggest you try StudioFix only if your skin type is normal. Thanks for reading :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/27/2008 8:57:00 PM More reviews by pink889

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have to say I was incredibly disappointed. This didn't match my skintone at all after the woman at the store matched me (NW20). It turns my face orange! And unless you super - exfoliate your face, it accents all the dry skin and makes your skin drier, but at the same time, the oily parts on my face still seem to be able to be oily.

Not good at all. However, on the other hand, Mac's Blot powder is absolutely great and I love it SOOOO much!

But dont buy this product unless it really matches your skin tone otherwise it is completely not worth it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2008 2:26:00 PM More reviews by mollywilkins

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have to say that this is the BEST product ever! I have been a loyal fan to Studio Fix (C3) for almost 8 years now. I have Oily/Combination skin and I have to say this does control oil better than other powders or liquid foundations. BUT...I have been using Biore skin balancing cleanser and moisturizer and also SMASHBOX photofinish foundation primer in LIGHT...If you have oily skin like me and are a greasy mess by noon, you MUST try the Photofinsih primer under your MAC Studio Fix! It works miracels! My face has never looked better, and now I usually only have to blot once a day, which is FANTASTIC! What I've found out is that I like the coverage better when I apply it with a sponge vs a foundation brush. Also, if you are in between colors sometimes, like me (living in FL I tend to get more sun throughout the year!), you can use the lighter color as the foundation and dust, with a powder brush, the darker color. I do this with C3 and C4 and it works great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/27/2008 1:22:00 AM More reviews by marshagrace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

studio fix is great. i mean it does wonders when it comes to a face powder. i dont use very much of it, but it still does th job. i would give it a 5, but it causes a little bit of oiliness. not much, nothing a simple blot sheet wont fix.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2008 12:10:00 AM More reviews by pvchica

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I use Studio Fix everyday. I bought it after reading some positive reviews and figured I had to try it one time or another. Although my skin isn't very prone to breaking out, it can get shiny or oily and this DEFINITELY helps with that. The packaging is classic. I use the sponges (yes I buy new ones lol) for the best coverage, brushes just gave me more powdery finish. Test this out in the store, see if it works for your skin type, I can definitely see where it could conflict with someone's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2008 9:40:00 PM More reviews by pinkne0nstars

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i started using this product after bare minerals broke my face out terribly. this powder gives great coverage and now that i started using it my face has cleared up a lot! it's very natural looking, not fake or orangey (if you get the right color). its a little pricey but not bad for the quality. it lasts a pretty long time. i think it wouldn't be good for dry skin though. i have very oily skin so its fine for me. its my new favorite foundation because it doesnt break my face out at all :]

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2008 2:29:00 AM More reviews by carmenlarue

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is a great product. I have been using MAC Studio Fix for quite sometime about a year and this is such a great find. Sometimes I stray but I always come back for this product because the color choices are great and they match my skintone perfectly. I am a Asian with golden olive skin and I use NC40 which is the exact color of my skin. The coverage is a full coverage powder foundation and if you pick the right color it looks very natural. Never broke me out and it is a easy to use cosmetic just put it on and go. Great product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No