September 1, 2014 | 1043 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2592 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/26/2008 7:38:00 AM More reviews by kits87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Well I thought it was time to splash out on a proper foundation so I headed to the MAC counter, my favourite brand. I hadn't been much of a foundation user up until I started a 9-5 job and I wanted something to wear everyday, that gave proper coverage. So the MAC girl advised that Studio Fix Fluid was the best for my combination skin, rather than the Select Tint tinted moisturizer that I had been using on occasion.

I was very impressed with the staying power of this foundation - I apply it in the morning, set it with a bit of cheap Rimmel powder and most of it's still there at 11 pm at night.

The coverage is great, it's enough to cover imperfections but not heavy or cakey.

At first I thought the colour looked strangely orange in the bottle (I'm an NW20) but after going easy on the amount I used, blending properly and applying powder, the colour seems OK. Just be careful not to tango yourself by using loads, you don't need a lot of this to get good results.

It's hard to tell how much is left in the bottle, and it'd be nice if the bottle came with a pump, but that's a very minor point seeing as you can buy one from MAC anyway. It is expensive, about €30 but I think it's worth it, this is a good quality product. And the bottle lasts ages.

I'd definitely repurchase this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2008 1:10:00 PM More reviews by AFgirlie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG Foundation! I wear NW45 and it matches me perfectly. I do have acne prone skin with a few acne scars. It definitely evens my skin tone and makes my skin look flawless since you can build the coverage. All I do is moisturize, use a foundation to brush to apply foundation, and apply the blotting pressed powder. It definitely has staying power too. I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/24/2008 6:11:00 PM More reviews by sll74

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

i gave this a 3 because IF it doesn't break you out it's a great color match. unfortunately i wasn't so lucky. the mac artist convinced me to try this liquid in nc50 in place of nw43 and i must say it was a better color match due to the yellow undertones BUT it caused my such horrible breakouts. the powder foundation was fine but the liquid is my enemy. i had it for more than a month so i couldn't take it back. i wasn't sure it was the culprit at first but the acne got so bad i had to go without foundation for a few days just to let my skin heal and during that time my skin got a lot better (i.e. no new breakouts). i wore it again and more breakouts. so if you know liquid foundations are okay for you go for it wears nice and looks great on but if you aren't sure get a sample or at least take it back within the timeframe allow. a waste of money for me. once i get my skin back good again i'm going to do concealer and the mineralize powder that combo looks good and doesn't break me out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/23/2008 8:44:00 AM More reviews by kate32

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This foundation is by far my new favourite! At first I was slighty afraid that, as I am extremley pale, that i would be able to find a match but NC15 is spot on! It stays on and has really good coverage, so a little goes a long way. I knocked one it down lipstick just because it costs so damn much, but it is worth it in the end :)

[EDIT] yes the colour is spot on and yes it does stay on but it seems really drying in places that i didnt even think my skin was dry :/ so after about an hour it looks wayy less flawless and highlights my pores. So i've had a bit of a change of heart, although i will use it till its gone as it is far the best foundation i've used to date. but still ... i wish there was something with similar coverage that didnt dry out, *sigh* :) [/EDIT]

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/22/2008 10:08:00 PM More reviews by mhm_megan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

at first, this was the best foundation i had ever used. it matched my skin (or so i thought) and it was just great.

after a couple of months though, my skin started breaking out horribly. i went two days without this foundation and my skin was almost clear. when i used it for ONE day, my skin broke out near my chin. i finally realized the color was not my skin tone. it made my skin oily, and it would come off! i wouldn't recommend this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/21/2008 10:48:00 PM More reviews by csquared

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i liked how it covered my acne and acne scars but, after a couple of days of using this product it made my skin breakout. :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/21/2008 8:14:00 PM More reviews by socalqt951

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

A BiiG WOW ON THiiS PRODUCT!
iiM ONLY 14 AND WOW.
iiM iiN LOVE! THiiS PRODUCT
TOTALLY WORKS.. ii LOVE DOiiNG LiiTTLE
EXPERiiMENTS ON BEAUTY PRODUCTS
SO ii WENT A WHOLE DAY ON NOT USiiNG
THiiS FOUNDATiiON AND ii FELT LiiKE
CRAP! THE ONLY THINGS I HAD ON WERE
A TINTED MOISTURIZER, CONCEALER, AND
SOME PRESSED POWDER, THIS FOUNDATION
TRULY DOES IT!! BUT I SLIGHTLY BROKE OUT,
BUT I DONT THINK IT WAS THIS
PRODUCT, TOO MUCH CHOCOLATE.. =]
HEHEHEHEHE && DONT WORRY GIRLS.
I TAKE REAALY GOOD CARE OF MY SKIN.
WASH IT TWICE A DAY.. MORNING AND RIGHT
AFTER SCHOOL.. DONT WANT TO LOOK
LIKE THOSE ORANGE COUNTY HOUSE WIVES
WITH ORANGE SKIN HEHEHE.
NOO OFFENSE TO ANYONE.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/19/2008 5:17:00 PM More reviews by AAXXX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love this foundation it look natural if you use it with the 187 brush provides a flawless looking finish without looking fake or cake then i finish with mac blot pressed powder but over time my oily skin come up and one single touch can make the foundation come off your face but is still good

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/18/2008 11:47:00 PM More reviews by dance4ever

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

NW15, and it's the lightest color they have! It's perfect! As a pasty white girl, I have had trouble finding a good foundation that matches my skin tone, but MACs NW15 is perfect for me! Their liquid foundation is definitely the best I have ever tried, and is very versatile when it comes to application method and amount. I personally use a #187 brush for sheer coverage! It is awesome!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/18/2008 9:11:00 AM More reviews by DIVA_HW

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For some stupid reason, I have been intimidated by the MAC counter in the past. What a BIG mistake!!! I finally took a chance and went on a shopping spree at the MAC counter - and boy am I glad I did! I have been on the never ending eternal search for the perfect foundation for YEARS. I have tried tons of high end and drugstore foundations to no avail... I have now found my HG foundation!!! The MUA matched my skin to NC35 - a perfect match (although I'm sure I will need to adjust in the summer.) Although the MUA made my skin look flawless, but the true test would be when I got the product home and applied myself. When the MUA told me that I didn't need concealer, I could just build the coverage where needed, I was very doubtful that would work for me. Well, I was wrong! Studio Fix hid my dark circles, veins and blemishes to perfection - no concealer needed. There was no caking, no settling into fine lines, no mask look... just FLAWLESS, perfect skin that looked like I was airbrushed and wasn't wearing any makeup. I was stunned! My boyfriend even commented how amazing my skin looked. A little Blot Powder and Viola - a longwearing, beautiful finish. I should also mention that I started with Smashbox Photo Finish Color Correcting Primer and applied with a foundation brush. I'm crossing my fingers that I do not experience the breakouts many reviewers here have mentioned. I will definitely update in a few weeks to let you know!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No