October 25, 2014 | 953 users online

Liquid - MAC - Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

rated 3.5(2607 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/18/2008 5:25:00 PM More reviews by nicoleh619

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in NC50, Overall I'm happy with the performance of this foundation. I dont like a heavy made up look at all so I agree with others who said this is a very thick opaque foundation however, I use my Fix+ or moisturizer to achieve a light (sheer) application. I only use one pump for my entire face. It doesnt come with the pump but for an additional $5 you can purchase it at a MAC store. That's why I rated this product as super expensive. IMO they could at least throw in a pump for free. I keep the original cap it came with for traveling. It makes it easy but come on a free pump isnt going to hurt MAC's business. I do get oily mid day and I touch up with MAC blot in deep dark but thats my skin type regardless in my tzone Im very oily. Anyway I find that this foundation lasts all day, it's a nice satin finish, and I use my 187 brush and get a lovely application. I believe that brush makes all the difference in the world but that's another review. :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/14/2008 8:46:00 PM More reviews by vanessaky

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OMG! I thought I was the only one... I went to the MAC store and asked for the Studio Finish foundation, since I was already using the Powder I thought it would be good, and she "matched" my skin tone. It looked good at the store, but when I tried it at home I WAS ORANGE! Also, I broke out on my forehead and between the eyebrows area. I returned it, and still have not found my HG foundation for my oily, acne-prone, yellow toned skin.. :(

I will definitely NOT buy this again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2008 5:24:00 PM More reviews by hotAsFiya

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. It's got so many positive things going for itself but then there are a few drawbacks for someone with my skintone.
I'm an NC45 and this shade, like many other reviewers with the same skintone mentioned, is way too yellow. I makes you look super golden! If you go one shade up, it's too dark, one shade down too light/pinkish, and the NWs just dont work on my NC45 skintone since they turn out too peachy. The other drawback is that it's very very drying so if your skin is flaky, it'll accentuate that a lot.
If you find a suitable shade, then you are lucky because you will find that this foundation is great! It wears like iron - it's long lasting and gives a flawless finish. You only need the tiniest amount to cover because this foundation is very pigmented and thick. I've tried sheering it out with moisturizer and still had trouble doing that!
I keep this foundation around and use it from time to time. My go-to foundation is usually the select spf or studio fix, both of which provide coverage that's more on the sheer/med. side.
Will not repurchase since I'm still on the fence about this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2008 3:11:00 PM More reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wish there was a "maybe" option for repurchase! It seems unfair to say no, but I would not say yes either at this point. The truth is I just don't know. Part of my problem with this foundation is that the MAC SA sold me a shade too light. Aren't they supposed to be good at matching people? Not where I live anyway! I didn't even know they were supposed to give out samples until after I had bought this. The silly cow matched me as NC20, which is okay for my face but because my neck (and from there on down) is noticeably darker, I need a darker shade. I told her that, and she still managed to convince me the NC20 was correct. Anyway. The finish of this product is a bit more "make-up"-like than what I'm used to. It's not a match for my GA LSF in terms of natural finish. However, mixing with a small amount of moisturiser or (in my case) tinted moisturiser, the finish is much improved. I can blend this with my Paula's Choice TM in a slightly darker shade and get a good match. When thinned out, blending with fingers is easy enough. Otherwise I'd probably use a brush. PROs: decent coverage, lasts very well (I wear this when I need my makeup to last throughout the day. I brush some Clarins compact foundation on top and, during the day, blot with a little loose powder from a mini jar. The finish stays nice with no caking.) CONs: I don't know... a bit thick perhaps, but then I'm used to using just TM most days. Honestly, it's a good product but I guess I'm just pissed off at the SA who sold me the wrong shade. *** UPDATE *** Through the winter I became paler, and realised that the shades in this foundation are just too peachy for me. I need something more yellow/neutral. Not sure if it's just the SFF or other MAC foundations as well. Anyway, I've since moved on to Lancome.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2008 3:19:00 AM More reviews by melanie1215

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After working for the company for a few years, along with several others....and in the industry, and reading some reviews thought that I would leave a few general comments that will help aide some of the feedback. In no way shape or form am I spokesperson for any of the companies products that I review....

Looks great on flawless to moderate skins. Does help control oilyness. Nice for those who like a very matte coverage. If you can find a color match great. But I am sure there are a few of you who cant!! I am a make up artist and worked for them forever and I know I cant. I have tried everything....mixed and match several shades and nothing has worked... I think that the shading is off with this line of foundations. I am generally a NC 45 in mac foundations really a 44 but I like a nice tanned look. Anywho, nc 45 in this foundation is too yellow and looks like I have a mask on....NC50 is too dark and makes me look extra chocolate like...lol...and after it dried down it also made me look gray...I have even tried an NW which was too red for my skintone. Because I do have access to the product in mutiple shades I did play around and mixed a few together and came up with a nice shade but who wants to do that all day...not me...lol
final verdict, nice on those who can find their shade

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/13/2008 10:40:00 PM More reviews by KAEKAExBABYy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

my favorite foundation up to now but it has been caking up on me since winter started. it does cover really well (i have acne scarring on my cheeks), and i even use this under my eyes when i'm out of concealer. i just pat it on with my finger and build it up. might switch back to clinique or try mineralize satinfinish since this has not been working too well for me lately, but i think it will work great again in summer (which was when i purchased it last year).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2008 8:26:00 AM More reviews by Chrissy59

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ok, heres the thing.....I am a complete makeup junkie, I have tried everything out there, and foundation and lipgloss are my downfall. 30odd glosses last count and a dozen or so foundations with lots of pots of samples. .. However, I really love this foundation. My skin is slightly on the dry side, especially in winter. I think the trick with Studio Fix is you need to apply it with a foundation brush, I use Mac stippling brush, then really spend time buffing it in for a flawless look. I then apply Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium to set and then spritz with Mac Charged Water Skin Hydrating Mist. It will last forever.
The only very slight downside, for me anyway, is that I need a slightly lighter colour that my match NC30. I am going out today for a sample of maybe NC20 or 25 and see if I can mix for a perfect colour.
If you want a light almost transparent foundation, this is not for you. But I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/12/2008 7:53:00 PM More reviews by cat1203

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So far the best I've used. Better than Christian Dior which I thought was pretty good also. Great coverage without making you look fake. I'll keep looking for even better ones... if they're out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/12/2008 10:39:00 AM More reviews by strapon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a week and a half so far, and every day I've put it on I've absolutely loved it. My only complaint (and the reason for taking off one lippie) is for the lack of a color match for my skintone - I have a pale neutral/cool complexion and NW15 is a tad too dark for me, but is overall the best match. Despite it being too dark, as long as I don't apply it heavily it matches my skin perfectly - thankfully, the most I need is a medium coverage foundation so this is absolutely perfect! It makes my skin look so smooth, even and flawless - something that mineral makeup could never do. My skin has actually been clearly since I've started using this product (but I doubt it's thanks to this product, more likely other new products I've been using like toner), the only breakout I've had since is my one hormonal cyst I get a month on my chin - I have been irritated by a foundation in the past - so my point is, just because one foundation made you break out doesn't mean they all will! It's definitely worth a try, you use so little product that this foundation will last you a good while.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2008 9:25:00 PM More reviews by livadia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

After going through much powder foundations in the past year, I have come to the conclusion that it really is more economical to try a liquid. Since my old fall-back is Studio Fix (powder), I sauntered to MAC to ask for a liquid version. It goes on smooth for something with such great coverage, so blending is easy. Though it covers blemishes well, I won't say it is too heavy for the rest of the face. And though it has a matte finish, it still allows some healthy glow to show through. Get this if you want an affordable everyday foundation that looks professional and easy to use. Watch the shades though- if you are used to sheer foundations, you will find that with a foundation like this that offers medium to full coverage, you need to get as close a match as possible. The NWs are, IMHO, too orange-y. I usually use NC25 SF (powder) and NC20 in pressed powder. But though even though my SF Fluid is NC25 too, it looks slightly darker than the powder version.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No